We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Location for Visiting Battlefield” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Location for Visiting Battlefield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

As a frequent visitor to Gettysburg, I have found that there is no better hotel location for touring the battlefield than the Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Lodge. Situated right on the fringe of Cemetery Ridge, you are just steps away from the scene of the Pickett-Pettigrew Charge and the National Cemetery, as well as Meade's Headquarters, East Cemetery Hill, and the Evergreen Cemetery, where President Abraham Lincoln actually delivered the most famous speech in American history -- the Gettysburg Address.

In addition, you are located right near a shuttle stop where regularly scheduled buses will take you to the Battlefield Visitor Center where you can get oriented about the battle, see artifacts from the battle, join a group tour or arrange a private tour with a Licensed Battlefield Guide, see the schedule of Ranger Lectures, or pick up an audio-tour and map of the battlefield, not to mention the excellent bookstore and gift shop.

Situated right on the Emmitsburg Road, you are just a short walk from many shops, restaurants, and other historic sites from the time of the battle, as well as the gathering point for the very popular lamplight "Ghost Tours" which take place at night and are led by guides in period costumes. It is all right there within easy walking distance.

The hotel itself is very comfortable, with both an indoor and seasonal outdoor pool, complimentary hot breakfast in a period-house onsite, and the truly unique Reliance Mine Saloon that is in an actual mine running under Cemetery Ridge. It is a popular spot for Gettysburg historians, writers, and guides to gather, so the conversation is always lively and interesting.

Everything you could possibly want from a visit to the Gettysburg Battlefield is within easy walking distance of this terrific hotel, no need for your car. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Exterior entrance rooms on the South side enjoy a great view of the battlefield and patio chairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Wow, thank you for the kind review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    423
    109
    31
    26
See reviews for
489
446
58
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

My recent stay at the Quality Inn at Gettysburg, Pa was a great tribute to a fantastic franchise establishment. Being once a Manager for said property and other institution from their other affiliate has been a great experience and a comfortable night of rest. The staff, from various department, was fantastic, helpful when needed and the morning breakfast that start your day was tremendous. I will be looking forward to once again book my next trip for perfection and quality.

Thank You
Leroy Says

Room Tip: Corner Suites and 2nd floor is much quiet and view of surrounding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leroy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thanks for the 5 Circle review! We love hearing such kind words from our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for an overnight stay for our daughter's gymnastic meet. I was surprised with how nice this place was. The beds were really comfortable and the room as really clean. The motel was about 4 miles from the venue so it was a great location. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I was not sure what to expect with "motor lodge" in the name, but we were pleasantly surprised. Our room entry was from the hallway and we had a small balcony (equipped with two chairs--wish the weather had been nice enough to sit out there). The room was quite spacious and comfortable. There was a huge, jetted tub...have never seen that in a Choice hotel. The only disappointment (for my husband) was that the "hot breakfast buffet" did not include a waffle maker. The breakfast area is in a "cottage" on the grounds and was roomy. And we had excellent, fast internet--our recent experiences with internet at Choice hotels has been less than satisfactory. Would stay here again in a heartbeat and would highly recommend it to a friend!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you so much for the review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Another trip back to Gettysburg and to the Quality Inn Motor Lodge. We stayed 7 days this year. I am happy to report the standards of this hotel are in tact and still fantastic since last year. The staff is wonderful. If you need anything during your stay, they are more than happy to accommodate. Cleaning staff do a GREAT job, and the place is always very clean. The beds are very soft and comfy. Fridge and microwave in every room. The price is very reasonable for the quality of the place. Indoor pool and spa are always clean and were just the ticket after a long car ride. Free breakfast is very good. We make a special room request every year for my mom, and they always come through. I can't wait for next year! Thank you everyone at QIML for a most pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Suites are available and are in the pool house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Wow, what a nice review!! Thank you so much, and we look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed at this Motor Lodge in August 2013 and when we go back to Gettysburg we plan on staying there again. Exceptionally clean, friendly, courteous, helpful and comfortable. There was a light breakfast available every morning in "the house" which had a variety of selections both hot and cold. The room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The "hosts" were very friendly and accommodating. Enjoyed the pool and area after long days of walking. Most everything is in walking distance which we enjoyed not having to take the car and find someplace to park. Our stay was totally enjoyable and relaxing.

Room Tip: Most rooms have outside access with chairs to sit in in the evening to relax outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grammi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for the nice review! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was our second time staying here. You can't beat the location! Walking distance to a lot of attractions. The underground bar is unique and the breakfast is adequate. The only complaint I have was the extra charge to have "upgraded " room, which meant microwave and fridge and first floor, this should be included, but I was aware of charge when I booked.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pattyb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeam1, Manager at Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thanks for the review! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.3 mi away
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
1863 Inn of Gettysburg
#10 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield

Property: Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Address: 380 Steinwehr Ave., Gettysburg, PA 17325-2927
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#12 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park your car and walk to the battlefield, museums, attractions, shops, ghost stories and over a dozen restaurants! All of our 109 rooms are non-smoking and offer a microwave and refrigerator. Swim year round in our seasonal outdoor pool or indoor pool/hot tub. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet in our Victorian Breakfast Cottage (built in 1880). Our on-site cocktail lounge, the Reliance Mine Saloon, offers an unique experience to cap off your day of touring in Gettysburg. For larger families or adults traveling together, try our rooms with three double beds. Free WIFI. Family owned and operated by the Witt family since 1956. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Gettysburg Motor Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing