We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A must see” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Malpais National Monument

El Malpais National Monument
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Grants
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National monument with spectacular scenery.
Sedgefield
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

What an amazing site. Charles Lummis (1892) said: "It is the most precious cliff, historically,possessed by any nation on earth.. " This says it better than what I can. To see inscriptions on this sandstone cliff dating back more than 400 years whilst this massive cliff towers above you is awe inspiring. It is free to enjoy. A definite must see...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    60
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cool desert drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We didn't do any caving in El Malpais, but we did drive the dirt road that traverses the park from Highway 117 to Highway 53. Totally enjoyed the drive. It was very manageable for a stock high clearance vehicle, although I imagine it can be a problem when wet. We went through a herd of cows that must have thought we were the feed truck. They chased us down making a huge ruckus of noise. Hilarious. Nice desert and volcanic landscape.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore,CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Incredible Ancient Lava Flows”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

The ancient lava flows, contrasting with characteristic southwest sandstone mesas make for an interesting combination. We enjoyed walking along the Sandstone Bluffs while looking out at the vast fields of ancient lava flows and picnicking to the call of fledgling peregrine falcons after a visit to La Ventana Arch. A drive down Chain of Crater's road took us to an area of lava tubes which we had to bypass as we were not suitable equipped (but we will be next time). A wild and unusual landscape.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trippingtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallup, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“enjoyed visiting el maples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

the facility is a friendly place to stop while on route 53 scenic drive off I-40 West. nature and good walking trails

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank veezoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I've been through here a few times on my motorcycle and it just gets better each time. The last time was July 2013 and the thunder storms were awesome.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to El Malpais National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing