We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again”
Review of Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Grants
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I have to say I was a little nervous at first. Pulled into the parking lot, handful of cars, and each room had a couple of chairs outside their door. I work with law enforcement and chairs outside doors are not usually a good sign. Looked somewhat shady, but for $52 total with tax.. Worth it.. Beds clean.. Small fridge.. Microwave.. Bathroom older with dirty looking caulking, but not a big deal to us.. No strange people lurking anywhere so that's a plus.. The room actually smelled better than the Wyndham in Tulsa which smelled like wet musty carpet

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank anjeep90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Had a nice stay in this motel when travelling route 66. However when we left we left a tablet behind. After calling to get it forwarded to us and giving the details twice, the item was received addressed to the wrong person and smashed to pieces as the owner had failed to simply put it in a protected bag (common sense). After finally getting hold of them for a refund on the postage, we were rudely spoken to and hung up on on many occasions. Very sad to say that the manners and common sense of the owner ruined my stay here and I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bleak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

On a 12 night road trip, the Sands was the cheapest and far from the worst motel we stayed in. We heard that Elvis stayed there and were excited to see the documents, but unfortunately they were hung in one of the rooms that someone was already staying it. It would've been nice to see, but it was still a nice charming and historic motel to stay in. The room was clean and had a huge TV and some magazines. Trains do pass through the town, but it's hardly noticeable. We were hard pressed to find somewhere to eat since it was Memorial Day in this sleepy little town, but we had a nice fast-food meal at Blake's, a New Mexico chain.
If you're traveling on Route 66, definitely book a night at this motel. But try to get Elvis' room (123) so you can see what we missed!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanSG91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I booked a room at this motel after reading a good review for an inexpensive room and I admit the name made me think of The Sands Motel in Las Vegas. It is not a modern motel but I'm fine with that. The room I had was quite large, the heater worked well. It had a small fridge and microwave, which is always nice. It was also quiet even though the trains pass through but they don't blow whistles so it was barely noticeable. The room was clean enough but could have used a deeper cleaning (dirt along the woodwork near the light switch, layer of dust on the light shade) and the staff I dealt with were friendly. Total price was just under $40. I would stay here again. But if you want something more updated you won't like this motel but if retro is your thing, choose this one.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We hit Grants at dusk and went for this old Sands motel leftover from the 1950's where the $42/night price was right. The toilet is cranky and the rug has lots of stains but the bath is clean and there are new turquoise and red bedspreads.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ppoupore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Former neon-lit motel on old Route 66. Today, poorly cared for piece of history on the Mother Road. Hotel desk clerk's English was very hard to understand. Didn't have any record of my reservation (not that one was needed). Fought with room door lock for several moments before gaining entry. No smoking room had a heavy sprayed-over smell. An assortment of magazines was available... including some porn (I tossed it without reading or looking inside at the pictures). Bathroom appeared clean at first glance, but closer inspection showed stuff I won't gross you out with here... and the tub was filthy. I skipped the shower. Bed was clean and comfortable enough, so I didn't fuss, but I was up and out quickly the next morning. If you like trains, it's a block from the BNSF tracks through town. I found this to be a highlight!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

If you're looking for a nice, contemporary motel, this is not for you. If you want a nostalgic, Route 66 hotel at a value price, then I recommend the Sands Motel. Mind you, the room is small and simple, and could use some updating, but it was clean. It's also a little further from the train tracks than most of the hotels in Grants, where the trains seem to run through every 15 minutes. It's located around 1.5 miles from the interstate and not really close to anything, but there is a nice Mexican restaurant less than a block away. All rooms are ground level with entrance from the parking lot. My favorite thing was taking pictures of their sign, which is very retro. The breakfast was cereal and donuts that you picked up in the small lobby and took back to your room. I probably wouldn't stay there again, but it was fun to say we did it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the office if you want better wifi reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckgrafix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grants
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Grants
Days Inn Grants
#6 of 11 in Grants
247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grants-Milan
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Grants
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Sky City Casino Hotel and RV Park
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 11 in Grants
158 reviews
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Grants
Travelodge Grants
#4 of 11 in Grants
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Motel

Address: 112 McArthur St, Grants, NM 87020-2409
Region: United States > New Mexico > Grants
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Grants
Price Range: £27 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Grants

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing