We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Clean Route 66 Motel”
Review of Southwest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southwest Motel
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We found this place on Tripadvisor. It's not on the internet and it's difficult to phone through, so we just turned up. The man on reception was very helpful, and the price was really cheap. We had room 114, just by the neon sign and looking out over the railway and hills.

The sheets were very clean and the room too, it had had been recently repainted. It is an older style motel, typical of those on the original Route 66. It has HBO, fridge and microwave.
It's further from the trainline than other motels so was quieter, but to be honest wherever you stay in Grants, you are going to hear the train horn.

We stayed two nights and the only downside was on the second day the water went off for a few hours in the afternoon, which was inconvenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

This is a great little motel at a great price. While looking for an authentic Route 66 motel to spend the night at, we saw the Southwest. There are lots of other vintage motels in Grants, but this one appeared to be by far the best. We were greeted by the owner, I assume. He was very nice and the price was great. It was $53.05 with tax for three people! We were given room 111 which was directly beneath the neon sign! The room was spacious and clean. We had a microwave and fridge which was nice. It was all really clean and comfortable. The WI-FI was decent. All of us got a good rest. My favorite part of our stay was when the sun was going down and the neon was coming on. The neon sign on the motel is fantastic! Then, there is a sign out by the road with flashing lights. This all makes for some great photo opportunities! Overall it was a very clean, safe, and friendly place to stay. When you're in Grants, stay at the Southwest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hoosiertravelersnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed here while traveling Route 66. This property was very clean and a comfortable stay. The owner was very nice, and even welcomed us by turning on the lights and TV on in the room for us. A great price as well. I liked the layout of the room. It looked kind of small, but was well laid out.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is a typical old style motel on 66. The rooms were clean and there was a microwave and fridge. Plenty of space and teh normal small US bathroom. The owner was friendly and teh wifi was ok.
For the price $49 you can't beat it.
would you stay again yes if I was in Grants.

Room Tip: All the rooms lookede the same so don't worry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grants
0.0 mi away
Sands Motel
Sands Motel
#1 of 11 in Grants
108 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Grants
150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grants-Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Grants
Days Inn Grants
#6 of 11 in Grants
248 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sky City Casino Hotel and RV Park
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 11 in Grants
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southwest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southwest Motel

Address: 1000 E Santa Fe Ave, Grants, NM 87020-2433
Region: United States > New Mexico > Grants
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Grants
Price Range: £44 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are many resturants located in walking distance from the motel along with various sites including golf course, Muesum, ice caves, chaco canyon, casino and a volcano located on the historical route 66. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southwest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing