We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the middle of the Zuni reservation”
Review of Cimarron Rose B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grants
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cimarron Rose B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Grants B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis in the middle of the Zuni reservation”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

What an amazing place!!! The suite was spacious, comfortable and very tastefully decorated. Although there was no TV, the suit was well stocked with books and movies. Sheri is a great cook; the breakfast were a wonderful start to the day. The yard was an oasis for migrating birds; we had never seen so many varieties of hummingbirds ever. When they weren't busy getting the hummingbirds to perch on their fingers, our kids were out talking to the horses and goats. Our only regret was that the stay was too short. We are already planning our trip back.

Room Tip: All 3 suites are well designed. The Banderas suite was very comfortable for a family of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelled845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

A unique experience! Everything was lovely. Nothing like a chain hotel. Sherrie could not have been a more gracious hostess. We found the place exactly what we had hoped for. And El Morro down the road was truly special.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovesocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My wife and I stopped here in mid June for one night while on a motorcycle trip. A previous review cautioned us about lack of places for dinner in area, so we picked up a carry out pizza and salad in Grants and some wine from Albuquerque. This proved very satisfactory. The place is remote, sitting on 40 acres, nestled in Ponderosa pine, and bordered on three sides by undeveloped 'wilderness' and a small ranch across the highway. Our suite - the Bandera - was large, clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast consisted of a delicious, fully loaded omelet, fresh fruit plate and croissants. The profusion of colorful birds visiting the many feeders was a treat, after dark, the bizillion stars were almost within our reach, and the tranquility of the area was soothing from the moment we pulled into the driveway. There were no other guests the night we were there, and the owner lives several miles away, so we had the place to ourselves.
We were initially anxious about the price, as it pushed the boundary of our budget. But after our stay, we decided it was among the best values we've ever received in our many travels.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cimarron Rose. Sheri was a pleasure, and our suite had a full kitchen, lots of space and a fabulous patio that we wanted to take home with us. Stayed until checkout time because we didn't want to leave the wonderful patio earlier than necessary. I strongly recommend this B&B and would stay there again, happily.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Cimarron Rose is not at Grants, but 30 miles away on the Continental Divide, on scenic highway 53 between El MaisPais and El Murro National Monuments. We booked into this "Zuni Mountain B & B" for 3 nights in May 2012 and stayed for 5, in the Zuni Mountain Suite, with two bedrooms, lounge, kitchen-diner, and lovely big bathroom, plus patios opening off almost every room - you could catch the sun, or the shade, at any time of day, with spectacular sunsets. Cimarron took comfort, equipment, and attention to detail to the highest level.

This is a place to stop, relax, and chill out. The kitchen was fully stocked so, with some shopping in Gallup we could have meals in the evenings, while Sheri brought more than a lovely breakfast each morning, but a warm welcome and perfect laid-back hospitality. Her fresh asparagus and cheese omelettes one morning were simply superb, accompanied by lovely bread, natural yoghurt and fresh fruit, a great start to the day.

Cimarron is a "green" eco-friendly place to stay with Cimarron, the horse, plus the goats and the lovely gardens, emphasising you are out-of-town and away from the City, in peace and quiet, the wind whispering through the trees, the day beds the perfect place to stop and read. Sheri runs a gallery on the property with wonderful examples of Indian art for sale.

Sometimes a real holiday means you need to escape from hotels too, and for us Cimarron delivered a great special experience, enhanced by the welcome from Sheri.

Room Tip: Each room is characterful. We liked the extra space in the Zuni Mountain Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We (mom, dad and 11 year old son) spent 2 nights at this wonderful b&b during a Spring Break trip to northern NM. The inn is warm, welcoming and comfortable. (Not to mention immaculate!) We stayed in the Bandera Suite which had a queen bed and a twin bed and a fully stocked kitchen. The breakfast was delicious and hearty. Blue corn pancakes one morning and a delicious frittata the next. The innkeeper, Sheri, is delightful and generous with her knowledge of the area, it's history and the geography of northern NM. The property can be explored and my son loved helping Sheri feed the resident goats and watching her feed her horse, Cimmaron, for whom the inn is named. The inn is ideally situated for exploring El Malpais and El Morro. After a day of exploring, it was wonderful to be able to return to the inn and spend a quiet evening outside star gazing by the fire. If you don't mind cooking while on vacation, get basic provisions in Grants (about 25 miles down the mountain) before you arrive and plan to make a simple dinner and enjoy a quiet evening on the mountain. We did not and each night we had to drive back and forth to Grants where dining options are limited. The next time we stay here (and there will be a next time!) we will eat in. The inn also has a small gift shop of locally handmade crafts and jewelry. Sheri is familiar with the artists and their traditions. Bring cash, as you will find a wonderful souvenir to take home and remind you of your stay at this b&b.

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm and different bedding arrangements. Each has it's own private patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PineBarrensMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My family and I stayed here in order to visit El Morro, El Malpais, Ice Cave, and then onto Chaco Canyon. Cimarron Rose was the perfect location for accessing all these places. The room we had (Cimmaron) was spacious and cozy; the kitchen was nicely stocked and nicely appointed. The bathroom had a tub but lacked a proper stand up shower (the innkeeper is working on that). Sherri, the innkeeper was very helpful, accessible and generous with her time and advice. The blue corn pancakes were a big hit with my kids. We would come back; and if you want to see all these fabulous sites, Cimarron Rose is absolutely your best option.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants hotels
15.7 mi away
Sands Motel
Sands Motel
#1 of 11 in Grants
104 reviews
15.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grants-Milan
15.6 mi away
Days Inn Grants
Days Inn Grants
#6 of 11 in Grants
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Grants
148 reviews
15.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 11 in Grants
151 reviews
15.5 mi away
Travelodge Grants
Travelodge Grants
#4 of 11 in Grants
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cimarron Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cimarron Rose B&B

Property: Cimarron Rose B&B
Address: Highway 53, Route 53, Grants, NM 87020
Region: United States > New Mexico > Grants
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grants
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home…where every possible need of our traveling guests is anticipated.Indulge in our sumptuous desserts delivered to your suite every afternoon. Enjoy our biscotti with as much fresh brewed coffee with half & half and raw sugar, Mexican hot chocolate, or tea as you’d like at anytime of day or night with a thoughtful selection of CD music and candle light in your fully equipped kitchen suite.Nurture your spirit in the rustic elegance of our refreshingly different “green” inn on 43 acres of Ponderosa Pines along the Continental Divide of the Zuni Mountains. Built of historic timbers, our three spacious, private, full kitchen suites are tastefully appointed with original art, fireplaces, grills and patios viewing certified wildlife gardens with over 100 bird and 35 butterfly species. Savor delicious delivered breakfasts and genuine hospitality. Browse our Inn’s Tierra Madre Arts, a Fair Trade gallery on Highway 53’s Ancient Way Arts Trail featuring Zuni, Hopi, Ramah Navajo and other quality local arts. Enjoy hiking the beautiful trails of nearby El Morro National Monument and Bandera Crater with impressive ice cave or mountain bike through the volcanic wonders of El Malpais National Monument or take a nostalgic bike ride or hike along the rugged historic Zuni Mountain Railroad beds within Cibola National Forest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing