We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like a dream”
Review of Cimarron Rose B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grants
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cimarron Rose B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Grants B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 4 May 2014

When you open the door and see everything you could possibly need/want in your suite, you know you're on vacation. From the fresh flowers arranged sweetly in a vase to the generous slices of chocolate cake under a glass dome, it just gets better and better. We planned to stay one night and immediately requested two more. What's not to LOVE about this place? Nurtured but never bothered, we discovered ourselves feeling at home immediately. Clean, authentic, charming, surrounded by nature... I could go on and on, but do yourself a favor and stay at least 2 nights to fully relax into the vibe that is New Mexico hospitality the way you hoped it would be, the way it used to be. It still is at Cimarron Rose.

Room Tip: We looked at each of the three suites, all have everything you could need. We had plenty of room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had grand plans to visit a lot of sights in the area, and needed a place to stay that was convenient and preferably not a hotel/chain in Grants, which was 30 miles away and nowhere near as convenient. We lucked out with our reservation here. Each suite is basically a small house with all of its own separate amenities (kitchen, bath, bed, back porch, parking, etc.) While we usually enjoy a little social time at B&Bs, that sometimes doesn't work out well with rude guests or if you're just not in the mood. Here you are treated to as much privacy or social time as you'd like in the wonderful native plant garden and private back porches. Truly great to have both options. We slept wonderfully in the Cimarron suite. We had a great little fire in the wood stove, and were treated to a wonderful surprise dessert. We even had a bath with provided bath salts! The only thing I would mention to folks is that the Cimarron suite only has a hand-held shower head and a claw foot tub, which is fine but a little on the small side for someone of my size (6'2"). If you need more room for a shower, consider one of the other suites.

Another wonderful side note - the suites also have kitchens so you can prepare your own food (stoves, fridge, microwave, toaster oven, sink, etc.) and they also stock the pantry with a small selection of foods you can purchase, which is exceptionally convenient considering things are somewhat far away and once you're here, you want to stay and enjoy it. Also be sure to check out the gift shop and native american art and gifts that they sell.

Sherri was wonderfully informative about all the activities in the area (and there are a LOT, including the Oso Ridge fire lookout (be sure to ask about her work before the B&B!), Ice Cave & Bandera Crater, El Morro National Monument, and El Malpais National Monument. We didn't even have time for some of the other attractions we wanted to see, like the Chain of Craters Wilderness Study Area or some of the other mountains in the vicinity. Be sure to get gas in Grants as the nearest station is 15 miles west of the B&B, and they are closed Sundays.

More great wonders - the birds and butterflies and wildlife are frequent visitors. So great to have coffee out back and watch the birds and animals come visit the birdbath and feeders. And I didn't even get to how great our coffee (organic) and hot-delivered breakfast was. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you're tall, you might want a suite other than the Cimarron with a couple of low ceilings and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Love this place! Traveling from Albuquerque to Gallup and looking for a non-chain motel place to stay in the I-40 land of chain motels. Not that there's anything wrong with them! But we were looking for something off the beaten path. And off it is! A magical place, comfortably appointed and the perfect place to stay. So good that we plan to come back and spend more than two nights, using it for a base to hike and explore this wildly beautiful country! A wonderful find!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anjrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in the Bandera Suite and were pleasantly surprised at the large size of the suite. There was plenty of space for our family. The breakfast was great. Wilderness was nearby & it is really neat that the property is operated in a green fashion. We hope to come back sometime for a longer stay, there are so many more hiking trails to explore.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We spent two nights in the Zuni cabin and had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. We explored the nearby areas of El Malpais and El Morro knowing that we had a very comfortable place to return to each night. Sheri's breakfasts were delicious - although the kitchen was so well equipped we could have prepared breakfast easily ourselves. There was wifi to stay in touch with the outside world. The cabin is decorated with many interesting items and the surrounding yard and garden were wonderful to explore as well as just sit and soak up the sun. You can meet Cimarron himself in the fenced paddock! A woodstove added to the warmth of the already adequate heating system. I wish it had been a little warmer so we could have sat outside and enjoyed the back patio at night! We would definitely stay at Cimarron Rose again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alberta_the_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We chose Cimarron based on other reviews and our desire to avoid the tangled web of motels in Gallup where we were committed to some work projects. I really wish we had more time to explore the lovely property, put our feet up in the garden, and grab a meal from the cafe down the road. However, we enjoyed our stay immensely. We brought some groceries in Grants as we headed west, and Sheri supplied great instructions on how to use the classic gas and wood burning stoves. Because of an early departure time, she left us beautiful quiche, homemade bread, and fresh fruit and juice the night before. This B&B deserves more time to kick back and chill out!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were looking for a place with character to base our local exploring from. This was perfect. Secluded. Even the smaller rental had plenty of space for my husband and I. Large, fully equipped kitchen; the most comfortable pillows we'd had for a while on the road. Had the weather been a bit better we would have spent time in our own patio area. And her sense of decorating really made the rooms a fun place to be. The bit of cabin included a fancy shower system in the claw-footed tub and cooking on a true antique gas stove which worked fine.

We didn't chose the breakfast option but there was still fresh coffee, half and half, muffins and butter in the fridge as well as a tasty dessert treat provided each night.

We had the run of the full art gallery and had cd collection with a player. Were grateful the wi fi worked great (even tho AT&T doesn't have cell coverage in that area.) We didn't get to meet Tom which was too bad as he seems a really interesting person.

Sheri is a thoughtful, attentive host....a very caring person.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tomrkennedy, Owner at Cimarron Rose B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Laura and Tom,

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts ~ experiences during your stay with us. There is nothing better than a good night's sleep and I'm so happy to have been able to provide this for you! Perhaps next visit, I can share with you some of our healthful, individually designed breakfasts. Thanks again for the deep conversations and the healing nature of our laughter!

Heartfelt blessings to you each and every day,

Sheri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grants hotels
19.3 mi away
Sands Motel
Sands Motel
#1 of 11 in Grants
108 reviews
19.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grants-Milan
19.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Grants
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Days Inn Grants
Days Inn Grants
#6 of 11 in Grants
247 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#2 of 11 in Grants
158 reviews
19.3 mi away
Travelodge Grants
Travelodge Grants
#4 of 11 in Grants
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cimarron Rose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cimarron Rose B&B

Address: Highway 53, Route 53, Grants, NM 87020
Region: United States > New Mexico > Grants
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grants
Price Range: £94 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home away from home…where every possible need of our traveling guests is anticipated.Indulge in our sumptuous desserts delivered to your suite every afternoon. Enjoy our biscotti with as much fresh brewed coffee with half & half and raw sugar, Mexican hot chocolate, or tea as you’d like at anytime of day or night with a thoughtful selection of CD music and candle light in your fully equipped kitchen suite.Nurture your spirit in the rustic elegance of our refreshingly different “green” inn on 43 acres of Ponderosa Pines along the Continental Divide of the Zuni Mountains. Built of historic timbers, our three spacious, private, full kitchen suites are tastefully appointed with original art, fireplaces, grills and patios viewing certified wildlife gardens with over 100 bird and 35 butterfly species. Savor delicious delivered breakfasts and genuine hospitality. Browse our Inn’s Tierra Madre Arts, a Fair Trade gallery on Highway 53’s Ancient Way Arts Trail featuring Zuni, Hopi, Ramah Navajo and other quality local arts. Enjoy hiking the beautiful trails of nearby El Morro National Monument and Bandera Crater with impressive ice cave or mountain bike through the volcanic wonders of El Malpais National Monument or take a nostalgic bike ride or hike along the rugged historic Zuni Mountain Railroad beds within Cibola National Forest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing