We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic meal!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Caterina de' Medici

Ristorante Caterina de' Medici
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Caterina de' Medici is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 46 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Truly authentic regional Italian cuisine takes center stage at Ristorante Caterina de' Medici, a sophisticated dining room overlooking a stunning herb and rose garden, and the Hudson River. Or enjoy wood oven pizza and other simple rustic dishes in the more casual Al Forno Trattoria. Dining at this grand Tuscan-style villa is a culinary escape to another world without ever having to leave the beautiful Hudson Valley.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Our first time at this restaurant at The Culinary Institute. We had tried before but to no avail. We were so excited to get our lunch reservation and we were not disappointed. The inside decor was light and had a Tuscany feel to it. The students were great as always. The food was not what I expected from an Italian restaurant but we loved every single dish from appetizers to dessert. We called ahead and they had gluten free bread sticks for my husband (they were delicious) and GF choices for his meal. Presentation was beautiful and we had a beautiful lunch meal. Look forward to going back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimikids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    47
    42
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bring in the clowns: Confusion Cafe.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Food was delicious, though a bit pretentious. Service was laughable. We arrived at our 6pm dinner reservation exactly on time and finally escaped the restaurant after 830pm, exhausted from three courses and a cappuccino. We (My wife & I) understood this was a teaching environment. We were patient and tolerant but the confusion and ineptitude was really too much.
1. There were way too many waitstaff working. This was the largest contributing factor to the constant confusion.
2. It seemed as though staff were working prior to having had any basic skills taught to them, i.e., when a waiter poured water into our glasses of Pellegrino sparkling water he apologized profusely for his error then walked away without fixing the problem. Waiters did not know what ingredients were in dishes. There were many more examples, too tedious to mention.
3. This experience was not inexpensive. The night before we had a superb dinner that cost only $5.00 more than this one.
Bottom line: It was an expensive, frustrating dinner. They should practice on each other; we'll go to a real restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Getoutofthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Restaurants at the CIA are almost always consistently excellent. They are also quite a bargain compared to most fine dining restaurants in major cities for similar quality meals. The cured meats were superb and I really enjoyed the rabbit as my main course. One must also always consider that these restaurants are working classrooms for aspiring chefs!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
277 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had lunch at Ristorante Caterina de’ Medici this week as part of a two day dining tour at the CIA. We try to get here at least once a year, and this exquisite Italian restaurant is always on our list.

We began with the Prosciutto Di Parma con Mozzarella appetizer. This classic antipasti was perfectly executed and was delicious. We also had the asparagus frittata with goat cheese. This was also excellent.

For our first course we had the Fettuccine con Asparagi and the Risotto with spring Vegetables. Both were well prepared and beautifully plated. They were very tasty.

For our main course we had the grilled salmon with snap peas, crispy polenta and sprouts and the market fish with asparagus and mushrooms.

The salmon was excellent, cooked and seasoned properly. The market fish was the Branzino which is a sustainable fish similar to a striped bass. It was pan sautéed with a very crispy skin. It was absolutely one of the best tasting dishes we have had in a long time.

For desert we had the sorbet selection which was excellent. The other dessert was a rhubarb cobbler. The rhubarb was tempered with apricot jam, and topped with a biscuit and a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

The entire staff was excellent and very professional even though they are students.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
511 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is one of the best meals we have had eating out! Our food was prepared fresh from scratch, from the bread, to the salads, to the pasta. They were all out of this world. My roasted veal was prepared beautifully and had a wonderful sauce.

In addition to the well prepared food, we had an outstanding waitress. She was very knowledgeable and well prepared to give us a great dining experience. She was also very personable and even took us on a brief tour of the kitchen.

Dessert was outstanding and also made fresh in house. In addition, the wine list was extensive and fairly reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Caterina de' Medici also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Caterina de' Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing