We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sooo good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joseph's Steakhouse

Joseph's Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Joseph's Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Creek Road
Transit: Dutchess
Description: Joseph's Steakhouse is minutes from Culinary, Marist and Vassar College. Located next to Val-Kill. Eleanor Roosevelt's National Site in Historic Hyde Park and minutes from FDR Library. Joseph Steakhouse was once part of Val-Kill and was called Val-Kill Station. Val-Kill Station from 1933 to 1949 servered as a Tea Room restaurant serving a Tea Luncheon to Royal families & travlers visting the Roosevelts. Besides our great steaks and seafood, Joseph Steakhouse still continues the tea luncheon tradition by reservation only in the tea room. Available daily for Groups of 25 or more. Private room for catering.
Staatsburg, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sooo good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

My husband and I have been to Joseph's several times. Each time we were there, its been incredible. The best prime rib I've ever had. The steamed clams were also the best. Services was exceptional. The owner Joseph always makes us feel like he's welcoming us into his home. We love it!! Thanks for putting this great steakhouse in our neighborhood.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We have 110 five star reviews but when we get a nice review from someone local it is even more special Joseph's thank you sooo much also. come back soon and Happy Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    51
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty awful.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Shocked that this is #1. We have been several times, as a couple and with friends. Food is mediocre and steaks are never the temperature requested. Very expensive for what you get. Service is a bit overly friendly for my taste, but at least they are enthusiastic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
I am shocked at pretty awful also. We did not become #1 by not severing a great steak. To me I would like ever customer leaving here feeling they had a the best steak ever. If you been here several times before, it must of been pretty good that you came back. I would guess our Chefs cooked around ten thousand steak this year. Our broiler cooks at around 1700 degrees and it's a art cooking 20 steaks at once. But once in a while we get one not cooked to the customer liking. Believe me I am not that happy enthusiastic guy when my customers are not happy. Try us again and make sure you ask for Joseph, I will make sure you have the best steak ever.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have put of going to Joseph's ever since it opened, I am not one to go out for steak, booorrring! When we do it's usually off to NYC to one of the venerable steakhouse's. Last week my wife and I decided we would give it a try, and we are so glad we did. I didn't expect this in my home town, but they really deliver. The greeting was professional and welcoming. We opted to wait for a table in the main dining room, they were full on a Wednesday night, and we didn't have a reservation. We sat at the bar where we were promptly served. We both enjoyed our appetizers, my mussels were especially good, plump, sweet, fresh and properly cooked. We both ordered the prime rib after we overheard other diners saying how good it was. The eavesdropping worked out, the prime rib was out of this world, I mean this was without a doubt the best beef I've ever had with the exception of Wagyu and Kobe. The dessert was pretty good, a homemade ice cream, delicious,but the brownie seemed to be a box mix. Being a former chef I have to give it 5 stars just on the slow roasted prime rib...just delightful way out. The service was prompt and gracious. Joseph, we look forward to joining you soon. Maybe you could have your chef work on a homemade brownie!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chefspalate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Nice review and make sure you try one of our Dry Aged Steak next time. Chef makes the apple crisp & cranberry bread pudding. As for the brownies Chef did not make them my wife did. After 30 years of marriage she may of had me fooled that they were homemade. We might just have to upgrade at brownie but I can not upgrade the wife.
Thank you,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Strip Steak Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I ate at Joseph's recently and we were so glad we did. What a wonderful little gem. From start to finish we had an incredible meal. While trying to decide what to eat, the friendly owner Joseph came over and suggested the strip steak. Since we also love a good prime rib, we decided to get one of each and share. OMG-the strip was amazing and done to perfection. The prime rib was cooked rare as requested and so tender and tasty. Who needs Manhatten steakhouses? We will be back. (Sinatra music a nice touch)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for the review and becoming a new local customers to enjoy Joseph's. I agree, you did make two good choices. I rate our slow cooked Certified Angus Prime Rib the best I ever had. Be sure to try our outstanding Sunday Brunch. Hope to see you soon. Thank you Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch as it should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Tired of waiting in long Sunday brunch lines only to find the food has been picked over, is cold, isn't fresh?

Treat yourself to Sunday Brunch the way it was meant to be...

{We started with a Harney and Son tea flavor called "Paris". Divinely served in our own personal teapot by ForLife, it was a wonderful way to warm up after being outside on a chilly Fall morning.}

For a very reasonable price we received our choice of beverage (we had mimosas, which our waiter later refreshed!), a dish of fresh fruit (sliced strawberries, grape halves, cantaloupe pieces, and freshly sliced bananas on top), followed by a choice of entree...there are several delectable items, such as salmon, but we passed them up because after all, this is JOSEPH'S Steakhouse! Our waiter and the house manager, Michael, recommended the hangar steak, medium rare and the poached eggs, a perfect textural combination. The steak was delicious, perfectly done, and sliced for ease. The hollandaise sauce was served on the side, warm, and was a perfect complement to the poached eggs (and the steak!).

Apple crisp was the dessert which is part of the price of the meal. You can choose one of three ice creams to top it... we had the cherry merlot. WONDERFUL. Simply delicious served on top of the warm perfectly crafted crisp.

The young 20 something chef really outdid himself. And Michael, our waitstaff, really outdid himself in hospitality, giving us a tour and a bit of history of their establishment. It was a very memorable brunch. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LeslieQ914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph's S, Owner at Joseph's Steakhouse, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
What a nice way to describe our three course Sunday Brunch. With Filet Mignon Benedict, Homemade Corned Beef Hash and French Toast stuffed with Mascarpone & Strawberries, I can't wait for Sunday to come. Thank you ... Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joseph's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Joseph's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing