We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic and Ideal”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hyde Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
oxford ms
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic and Ideal”
Reviewed 7 November 2006

Inn the Woods is a delightful bed and breakfast ..... well deserving of my personal 5-Star rating.

It gets its first star for accomodations. The Tree Top Suite is especially stylish, roomy and comfortable.

Inn the Woods gets a second star for its food. The breakfasts are innovative and delicious. A perfect way to start the day.

A third star goes to the Inn for its hospitality. Gracious warmth and friendliness welcome you and make you feel at home.

Star number four is for cleanliness. The room and bath shined and sparkled. The proprietors' TLC is obvious.

The Inn earns its fifth and final star for location. Set in the woods, guests enjoy natural privacy and serenity. Yet the Inn's location is situated perfectly for easy access to the area's numerous attractions.

Simply stated, Inn the Woods is a wonderful B&B in which to stay.

  • Liked — The room, food, hospitaltiy, cleanliness and location.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Just stay there!
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank johnmosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
50
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2006

Reading the previous reviews, I don’t think ’Inn The Woods’ needs any more praise, but it definitely deserves it! My wife and I stayed here for two nights in August and had a wonderful time. We picked it because of the proximity to FDR's house and the CIA. Hyde Park was a really nice little town, and I think it might even be possible to use it as a base for tourists wanting to visit NYC if they prefer a train journey to a hotel in the city each day. The Inn was in a peaceful, wooded area, and the room and bathroom were certainly comfortable and welcoming, if not spectacular. We stayed in eight B&Bs while in the USA, and this was definitely one of my favourites - because of the innkeepers. We didn’t see much of Harrison as he was working, but Valerie was a fantastic hostess . She was really friendly and helpful, offering us home-made lemonade when we returned from a hot day’s sightseeing. When we said we were going to the Drive-In, she even insisted on us taking one of her blankets to snuggle under! The quality of the food was also excellent. Breakfast was a real treat each morning, particularly the carrot muffins. If you’re visiting the area I’d definitely recommend staying here. We didn’t want to leave, and my wife is thinking of going to live there!

  • Liked — The fantastic hostess
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — book early to avoid disappointment
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davesoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

Upon entering the driveway of this B & B, located in a beaucolic setting just off the major thoroughfare, our hosts, Valarie and Harrison, were outside to greet us and help us with our luggage.

The rooms we occupied are most appropriately named the Tree Top and Cliffside: They were spotlessly clean and up-to-date with all the creature comforts you could expect from a B & B. Most noteworthy were the views, which were incredible: The Tree Top occupies the entire second floor and could comfortably sleep 4, with its 2 double beds and then a futon/sofa nearby, and has its own bathroom and kitchenette; The Cliffside is a generously-sized room on the far corner of the first floor, offering a king-size bed and its own full bathroom.

The recommendations Valarie gave us were right on the mark: The hosts keep a "bible" of menus from local restaurants; the tour itinerary Valarie suggested was accurate regarding times, conditions, time allocation, etc. The Inn's location is perfectly situated between the Vanderbilt mansion and the FDR Presidential Library and home. Just another 5 minutes from the FDR grounds is the Culinary Institute of America, another popular destination.

The breakfast was all home-cooked, filling and delicious. The hosts make certain to accommodate offerings according to food allergies, preferences and such. Also, they tailor the breakfast to the time you desire.

So, the bottom line is that we would and will return here and highly recommend it to those discriminating travelers who appreciate great hospitality.

Helpful?
5 Thank EpperJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 June 2006

Rarely has a welcome been as total and as complete as the one that Valarie and Harrison Losey gave us from the minute we arrived at Inn The Woods. The handeling of our bags to all the little extras that mean so much:extra towels in the room, fine soaps and shower products and the fresh flowers from valeries garden. The red carpet treatment did not end there, gourmet brakfasts with homemade jams, jellies, buttermilk waffels and even homemade breakfast sausage.

The inn was a perfect place to return to after a long day of seeing Hyde Park and all its attractions with perfect directions given by Valarie made for an all around great experiance

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 June 2006

My friend and I stayed in the treetop suite for a weekend. Valarie and Harrison were wonderful hosts and share great ideas for things to do nearby. Harrison cooks a wonderful breakfast. Valarie makes sure you have everything you could possibly want. This was our first bed and breakfast experience and will not be our last.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2006

Wow what a wonderful place to stay. My week at Inn the Woods was the most relaxing. A super place to stay. Valerie and Harrisson are excellant inn keepers and their place is super place to stay while taking classes at the CIA. the breakfast is fantastic - homemade baked goods and home made cheese and yougurt. The best. Great place to stay I will be back again. Only place to stay in Hyde Park in my book. beutiful scenery and off the beaten path. I love the stream, the food and their pets. Chef Michele

Helpful?
4 Thank AtlantaGaMichele3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 May 2006

I stayed a weekend at Inn the Woods. The location, while minutes from the Vanderbilt Mansion, is situated in a beautiful wooded area that makes you feel like you're miles from anywhere. The grounds are beautiful, there's a hot tub, and the breakfasts are amazing!
Hosts Harry and Valerie were most hospitable and accomodating. I would stay again.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.3 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
340 reviews
6.1 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#6 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
264 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
422 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast

Property: Inn the Woods Bed and Breakfast
Address: 32 Howard Boulevard Extension, Hyde Park, NY 12538
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restfulness awaits you at "Inn the Woods" Bed and Breakfast, in Hyde Park, NY. TreeTop Suite with private entrance and balcony. Artisan breakfast offerings. Centrally located for Antiques, Walkway-Over-the-Hudson, The Culinary Institute of America, Franklin D. Roosevelt's Home, Museum & Presidential Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-Kill Home, Vanderbilt Mansion and the "Great Estates" Region. Discover trails, pick-your-own orchards, Drive-In movies, wineries, gardens, Golf, Hudson River cruising and the Dutchess County Fair. A convenient location while visiting the areas Colleges of Bard, C.I.A., Marist and Vassar. Come explore the beautiful Hudson Valley! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing