We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovley stay.”
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Simple, clean, quiet, friendly. Very well priced. Convenient to all the Hyde Park attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NewLondonCTAdrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

285 - 291 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

My family and I were only staying overnight to drop our son off at The Culinary Institute of America. We were tired of staying at the chain hotels and happened to see the Roosevelt Inn on Tripadvisor. The reviews were all right on the money! We couldn't have been more happier with our choice. It is a quaint inn -- a bit of a throwback to the 50s and 60s. The "Coffee Shop" was a big hit with my husband and sons (and me as well). We enjoyed some free microwave popcorn at night and loved that touch. The free wi fi worked better than in some chain hotels. The room was clean and very bright and airy. Great location on Route 9. We will definitely be staying here again. And if you do stay there, do say hello to Minna, the owner's corgi. She is adorable!

Room Tip: There are rooms on the second floor. Not sure if there is an elevator. So make sure to ask if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tchrmom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My spouse and I spent two nights here recently -- couldn't have made a better choice! A spacious room (#19 - 2 double beds), impeccably clean with generous closet and dresser drawer storage. Carpet, bedding, furniture all appeared fairly new and perfectly comfortable and spotless. Roof over outer balcony space allowed outdoor sitting even in a drizzle, and offered a lovely view of large, well cared for maples and flowering plants. You can tell this is privately owned by caring, careful people and not a one-size-fits-all chain. And the room rate was very, very reasonable. A real find!

Room Tip: upper level offers better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wombat27_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Four of us traveled to Hyde Park to visit the FDR home and museum and the Culinary Institute of America and stayed two nights at the Roosevelt Inn. I wish we could have found a "mom and pop" type motel like this in every town and city my wife and I have visited over the years. It was clean, quiet, comfortable, well-maintained, a friendly staff (Karen and Raili) AND we could park right in front of our door. Instead of the ubiquitous breakfast room off the lobby of a chain motel, the Roosevelt Inn had its own little "Coffee Shop" in the corner of the L-shaped motel. Unattended but well-supplied and used the "honor" system. Reasonably priced for the area. I highly recommend this motel.

Room Tip: No elevator, so I suggest asking for a first-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evergreen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Clean, safe and well-maintained. Near FDR home and Vanderbilt Estate. Limited choices in Hyde Park and this is the best option

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnDG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We spent two nights in the Roosevelt motel while we visited FDR's home and museum, Vanderbilt Mansion, and West Point just 30 miles down the road. This place is a pleasure--neat and clean, reasonably priced and right in the middle of everything. Don't miss the continental breakfast in the little "soda shop" right in the middle of the motel. What a great touch!! This is a restful place to hang your hat for a couple of nights. Great owners, too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DanandSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Have stayed at the Roosevelt Inn several times and plan to stay again. Very good value. Clean and comfortable if old fashioned. Owners friendly and helpful. Don't skip the continental breakfast. It is a good place to meet new friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#4 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
438 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
182 reviews
5.8 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Address: 4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-3609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range: £72 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing