We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable & clean for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable & clean for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent 2 nights here and it was great for what we wanted. Nice sized, clean, comfortable room with a mini fridge. Breakfast is included but not for any folks avoiding carbs. Cereal, bagels, donuts a little fruit. Was fine with me, but I know some who need an egg or yogurt.

Room Tip: Must see the FDR home & museum and Val-Kil and, for a complete change, the Vanderbilt Mansion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicagoKim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    137
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
89
155
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Just came back from my visit to Hyde Park and all of the historical sites. I stayed at the Roosevelt Inn overnight so I could enjoy more things the next day. The hotel is close to everything, and there are some nice restaurants near by.
The hotel itself is truly wonderful. The room was so very clean and everything was comfortable (I wanted to steal the arm chair that was in my room!). It was also very quiet, which is a must for me.
If you happened to be driving by, you might not give this hotel a second notice, but you will be sorry you did. I would stay here again if I am ever back in the area.

Room Tip: They have rustic and deluxe rooms, the one I stayed in was deluxe. It had a bathtub, and you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

My Mom and I stayed here for a night since we're visiting the area and the FDR home. I had booked this after reading Trip Advisor and was delighted when we arrived that it was more quaint than I had expected. The property has a country feel to it and is nicely landscaped. Very peaceful. Location is walking distance to art coop, shops and a fabulous wine bar/restaurant. The owner was very cordial and helpful during check in. Rooms are comfortable, very clean with Eco-friendly toiletries. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights of our vacation and very much enjoyed it. From the moment we checked in we were made to feel very welcome. I asked for restaurant recommendations and was given several good choices. I can highly recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is no elevator, so if you have difficulty with stairs, ask for a first floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is really a motel, not specifically an "inn." Having said that, it is very clean and neat with a comfortable bed. Not fancy, just basic. Our room on the second floor was very spacious. There is no elevator so do not take a second floor room if you have trouble with stairs. We needed to change our arrival by one day and the staff was very accommodating. They offer free Wi-Fi and continental breakfast in the morning in their coffee shop. This is a great spot to stay if you are visiting the FDR Museum, Vanderbuilt home and Val-Kil, Eleanor Roosevelt's home (all are only a mile or so away). The Culinary Institute is a few miles down the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank songbirdnaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very helpful management...clean and well maintained room. Inn located minutes from Roosevelt and Vanderbilt Estates. Don't miss the Culinary Inst of America, great bakery and restaurants. We did eat at the Diner on Rt 9(south of inn) and food was very good too.Again, excellent place to stay...estate tours excellent too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewHopetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Heading home after 10-day road trip, my husband & I decided to go to CIA for dinner and tour the newly renovated FDR Museum & Library. While this inn is not within walking distance of either, it is on the same road and convenient to both. We found the room clean and comfortable. My only wish would have been for king sized bed on ground level. Beds were comfortable however. Breakfast came with the room. It was offered in a separate room that looked like it had once functioned as a luncheonette. Plenty of tables & chairs, copies of newspapers available and a very well-appointed self-serve counter with multiple choices for breakfast. (Cold cereals, fresh fruit, bagels, toast, coffee, tea, hot chocolate are what I immediately recollect) innkeeper pleasant and helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendersender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
6.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
9.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-3609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing