We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step Back in Time”
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A family gathering in Hyde Park brought us to the Roosevelt Inn at Thanksgiving. The setting is clearly an old "motor court". We were thankful that we did not choose the "rustic" rooms which have pine paneling, a small size and seemed quite dark. Our room had two double beds, sinks in the bathroom and in the efficiency area and adequate storage for clothing. Plus there was a small refrigerator. The real down side was the heating/cooling unit through the outside wall. With below freezing temps outside, we had to alternate between the roar of the fan which accompanied overwhelming heat even at the lowest setting and no heat at all. Not pleasant!
The staff was quite pleasant and accommodating, the rooms were clean, the TV was quite up to date. For two nights, it served the purpose!

Room Tip: The larger, "newer" rooms face the road. Those on the first floor have two double beds wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 861Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, Owner at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thanks for spending the Thanksgiving holiday with us. We like to term ourselves 'vintage' versus 'old.' All of our deluxe rooms have new Thomasville furniture, mattresses, USB ports, a plethora of electric outlets, and new light fixtures. Unfortunately, the climate units have to be a certain strength to pump enough heat or air conditioning to please 'most' guests. Unfortunately, that means some hum to operate full strength. As for the Rustic rooms, they are our economy option and the pricing structure and amenities reflect that. Although, they certainly have fans amongst our clientele not all guests prefer the same room type which is why we offer deluxe or rustic. We hope that we see you again next time you're in the area visiting family.

All the best,
Karen R. - Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    142
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
89
159
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This is a fine place to stay a night or few. Our room was large, properly furnished and very clean with a quite comfortable bed. The bathroom was very clean and functional. The heat had been turned on in advance of our arrival and the room was toasty. We were running late and neglected to turn down the heat before we left for the evening and the room was warmer than we wanted when we returned and took a while to cool off. That, however, was our mistake. The person checking us in was polite and efficient and the location is excellent for Hyde Park attractions. Overall, with the motel's reasonable prices, an excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinny46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen R, Owner at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, Vinny. It sounds like you really enjoyed the attractions around Hyde Park, too, which is great. The next time you make it out to our area, we'd love to have you back in.

Until next time,
Karen R. - Co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Front desk was very accommodating for our early check in. Room is very nice - king size bed, newer tv, and very clean. Will be taking advantage of the complimentary breakfast tomorrow morning - anyone staying in Hyde Park I would highly recommend this to anyone!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Britt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This old style motel in Hyde Park was a terrific surprise - rooms were spotless - service was friendly - quaint breakfast area looks like a 50s diner. In excellent location to visit the historic homes in the area and close to great restaurants in Rhinebeck and the CIA in Hyde Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex154995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spotlessly clean, charming, cozy, comfortable and excellent value. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Close to Rhinebeck but without the high prices. Lovely owners who take pride and good care if this little gem. Stayed in the rustic room, much more charm than the renovated ones. We'll be back for the third time soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GloberunnerNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
228 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here for three night while in Hyde Park. Rooms are extremely clean and well appointed. Beds are comfortable and we heard no noises during the night. The coffee shop for breakfast is cute. Breakfast offerings are not extensive, but what they have is good. Bagels and donuts are fresh and come from Dunkin' Donuts. English muffins are Thomas whole grain. They have gluten free oatmeal with flax, cold cereals, good coffee, tea, and orange juice. There is microwave popcorn for snacks. Use your room key to enter at anytime day or night. The motel is convenient to all of the local attractions. If you want a pool and exercise room, you will have to go somewhere else.

Room Tip: We were in a deluxe room which is larger than many motels have. It also has a sink in the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Just returned from a great stay. A wonderful, small hotel. The room was quiet and very clean; even the top of the wardrobe had been recently dusted. The free evening popcorn and breakfast were a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dennis_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
108 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-3609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing