We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything the Chain Hotels Have”
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Certificate of Excellence
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
198 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Everything the Chain Hotels Have”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We usually stick with the chain hotels, but in this area we were looking for a comfortable, clean room for a reasonable rate. The Roosevelt Inn was everything we wanted. The large rooms are updated with comfortable beds, and the hotel has just enough charm to be fun. The owners were a great help in locating a place to eat and made us feel right at home. Everything was very clean, and we had a refrigerator in our room too. A continental breakfast was provided with plenty of variety and choices. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandma80401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The Roosevelt Inn strives to offer a simple comfort at a reasonable rate. We hope to see you again when you are in the area. Happy and safe travels, Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    142
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
89
159
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family of four stayed three nights at the Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park, having opted out of the national chain or boutique hotels in nearby towns. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. We were greeted with our keys upon arrival and easily made our way to the two bedroom family suite. Later that evening, we got a call from the innkeeper to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. You don't get that kind of personal service from a large hotel.

The room is clean, comfortable, and well appointed. Having a second bedroom and separate sink was especially appreciated by both parents and children. We were directly above the snack shop, but were not bothered by early risers, or by those in neighboring rooms.

The inn is centrally located to many Hudson Valley towns and attractions, and it's an easy drive to all. The town of Hyde Park, like the inn, is itself is neat and petite, clean, and quiet. The inn is right on Route 9, but it was no busier than a normal small town street. There are many restaurants nearby in Hyde Park, Rhinebeck, and Poughkeepsie, with the greatest variety in Rhinebeck. A Laundromat and grocery store are about a five minute drive away.

In this day and age, it's nice to find something so simple and classic! If we were to return to the Hudson Valley, we'd have no qualms whatsoever about staying again at the Roosevelt Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and took a chance on an independent establishment. Our family has operated the inn for 40 plus years and we try to provide a pleasant experience. We're impressed that you discovered the lay of the land fairly quickly--Hyde Park is indeed central to many tourist sites in the Mid-Hudson Valley and makes a nice home base for day trips to surrounding areas. Thanks again for the review and happy travels! -Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed two nights at the Roosevelt Inn while touring the Hyde Park area. It's a simple, clean two-story roadside motel that offers very reasonable rates. Extremely well located. The innkeeper is outgoing and helpful. There's a coffee shop with complimentary breakfast foods and snacks, which is a bonus. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but when you're touring you spend very little time at the motel. It's a bargain and we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We agree that simple pleasures should be just that. When motels starting popping up around the country in the 50's, their appeal was as an alternative to the large hotel-- less expensive, yet still clean, safe and pleasant for the whole family. We aim for that ideal. Come back and see us again when you're in the area. Best regards, Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a lovely motel! Super clean, comfortable with a good continental breakfast. Responsive and friendly management. Walking distance to the Vanderbuilt mansion, shops, and quick drive to FDR and ER homes. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarandyMarandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for the kind review. Hyde Park IS a great central location for exploring much of the Hudson Valley. In town we have four historic sites-- FDR's Home & Library, Val-Kill, Vanderbilt Mansion and the Mills Mansion as well as the historic Hyde Park Train Station. We are a quick ride from the colleges all around us-- CIA, Marist, Vassar, Bard and Dutchess. Plus there is the Walkway Over the Hudson and Empire Cruises just down the road. Wilderstein Estate, Montgomery Place and Hudson River Cruises just north of us and of course the Dutchess County Fairgrounds are only 15 minutes. If you haven't had time to explore all, you're always welcome back for a second and third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We took a chance and stopped even though the sign said "no vacancy". We were lucky that they had a room available. It was immaculate and recently remodeled. The room was spacious (#2) and the bed was very comfortable. We definitely will go back again when we are in the area!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thanks for stopping in! Each year we try to take on a 'remodel' project whether it be furniture, new flat screen TVs, landscaping or simply painting. It is rewarding when guests notice the little upgrades here and there. Hope to see you next time in Hyde Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Gracia, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed in june 2013 ,visiting my daughter in Culinary Institute of America.It was nice and clean,price according to service The room was next to the cafeteria, two queens bed so my two daughters had to sleep together. It is nice for a couple of days, The cafeteria is excellent,has everything you need.The hotel has a parking place just in front of your rooms. It is near the attractions of the place such as CIA, Drive in Cinema, VAnderbilt M,etc.ansion, the House of Eleanor Roosvelt .
Estuvimos en julio del 2013 cuando visitamos a nuestra hija en Clinary Institute of America.Lindo y limpio, el precio de acuerdo al servicio.Nuestra habitacion estaba enplanta baja al lado d la cafeteria ,dos camas queen siza asi que nuestras hijas tuvieron que dorm ir juntas.Bueno para un par de dias.La cafeteria muy bien puesta.El estacionamiento frente a las habitaciones.Cerca tienes .anderbilt Mansion,la Casa historica de la esposa d eRoosvelt

Room Tip: only for a couple of days ,book on advanced on CIA graduation days , para un par de dias esta bien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uraymayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your visit. We strive to make our guests comfortable and we are glad you enjoyed our amenities. Hope to see you again if you are back in this area! Ciao, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cudahy, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If you remember traveling in the 1950's with your folks, this place will bring back the memories! It is a wonderful mom and pop motel. It is very clean and quiet, even though it is on the highway Old Rte 9.. We were greeted by the innkeepers puppy and a friendly helpful lady. Our room, #1, was very spacious, clean and comfortable and had a refrigerator. A hair dryer was available from the office upon request. They serve breakfast - cereal, doughnuts, bagels, coffee, tea, milk and juice. The hotel is located close to FRD's home and presidential library, as well as the Vanderbilt Mansion. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling in the area!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LLJM2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-RIOHP, Manager at Roosevelt Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and visiting our little motel and town. Hope to see you again soon! Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
107 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 4360 Albany Post Road, Rt. 9, Hyde Park, NY 12538-3609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roosevelt Inn of Hyde Park is a uniquely charming family-owned motel-style inn with 25 rooms and a coffee shop.The proprietors, originally from Germany and Finland, established the inn and have infused it with an air of old-world hospitality that continues today.Roosevelt Inn offers two styles of accommodations (100% non-smoking, no pets) - deluxe rooms and rustic rooms. Deluxe rooms include Thomasville furniture, a flat screen TV, mini fridge and individual A/C unit. Our rustic rooms offer a quaint experience with knotty-pine interior, traditional furniture, brightly colored subway tile in the bathrooms and a flat screen TV. All accommodations include Wi-Fi, a continental breakfast and access to our coffee shop with complimentary tea, coffee, hot chocolate and popcorn available 24 hours a day.The inn is located in the historic town of Hyde Park, New York. Hyde Park is the birthplace of Franklin Delano Roosevelt and offers many points of interest, such as FDR Home and Library, Vanderbilt Mansion, Culinary Institute of America, Staatsburgh State Historic Site, Town of Rhinebeck, Dutchess Fairgrounds and Marist, Bard and Vassar Colleges.Hyde Park sits alongside the Hudson River and Route 9 and is approximately 2 hours north of New York City and 1.5 hours south of Albany. It is a perfect stopping point for travelers exploring the beautiful Hudson River Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing