We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely magical stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Hyde Park
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“lovely magical stay”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

what a lovely time. I had a playing job in port ewen,ny so i stayed at the quality inn. the location was wonderful-got to do alot of nature walking! the room was clean and the tub was fine and the hot water worked well. the air conditioning and tv worked fine and the people that ran the place were very nice. the breakfast had anice assortment of eggs,sausage,bagels,yogurt,juice coffee. the only negatives-were the room was small and the mattress was a bit hard. some of the carpeting and furniture could use alittle updating.

Room Tip: i liked the ground floor-very convenient to the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesipolansky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are so glad to hear that you had a great time while staying with us! It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed our staff. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    131
    83
    26
    20
See reviews for
103
110
29
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

If you are looking for a cheap, clean place to spend the night, this is the motel for you. What it has in its favor is the location: very near Roosevelt's home, the CIA and Vanderbilt mansion. We found our king bed room to be well lit and adequate for bedtime reading. The room was quiet on all three nights we were there. We had a microwave, coffee pot and fridge as well as a flat screen tv. The breakfast is normal motel fare--nothing special, but enough to be filling and get you on your way. But, seriously, bring your own pillow. The pillows offered are the size of throw pillows for your sofa. They did not do the job a pillow should do on a king sized bed. There's a sign in the room that says, "If you're not satisfied with our accommodations or service, please let the front desk know without delay so we can make it right." I chatted with the clerk at the front desk about getting standard sized pillows and she said that was all they had. Seriously, who up the corporate chain make that choice......The small pillows and the uncomfortable bed made for a less than desirable sleep.

Room Tip: All rooms face the parking lot which appears adequately lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzq720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay. We are so glad to hear that our location was convenient for your visit to all of the local attractions and that you enjoyed all the amenities in your room. All of our rooms with king beds do have a microwave and refrigerator for our guests convenience. We apologize that the pillows at the hotel were not large enough for your comfort. We do hope to see you again on your next trip to Hyde Park!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed two nights and returned for one more night on our way back home. Rooms were nice but the service was poor. We asked for different pillows (might be the smallest pillows we have every seen), none were available. We went to get a bottle of water out of the vending machine and after we put our money in the machine it changed from the water being available to empty, as were most of the other beverages. The person at the front desk knew the machine was almost empty but did nothing and after a few minutes of thinking what to do finally gave us the money we lost to the machine. We also had problems our first night there, we could hear the people above us moving around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamRonT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are sorry to hear that our vending machine was not fully stocked during your stay. We are in the process of replacing all of the pillows in the hotel as our guests have requested. We hope that you stay with us again for your next trip to Hyde Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Stayed one night about a week ago while visiting the local historical sites. The location is across the street from the FDR Presidential Library. This is mostly a negative review unfortunately. One thing that becomes obvious is the structure. You hear a lot of noises. If there is a room above yours, you will hear every step of the folks in the room above quite loudly. The floors are apparently paper thin. The noise from the neighbors on the same floor comes in pretty strong too. The double doors between connecting rooms do practically nothing to secure noise - I heard conversations and baby crying as though the adjacent doors were a little open. Fortunately, everyone went to sleep at a reasonable hour and I did get a decent night's sleep. The room was very clean, and bed, bath, etc, ok. Service and breakfast ok.

The other problem was the air conditioning. The room had the typical wall/floor heat/cool unit manually controlled which are somewhat noisy. It cooled ok, but there was something really screwy with humidity control. All a/c's not only cool, but also dehumidify. However, this one felt more like it added moisture rather than removing it. The result was a very icky, clammy feel throughout the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CONNvacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for letting us know your opinion of your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that you thought your room was clean and our service and breakfast good as well. We are sorry that you experienced noise from the surrounding rooms but are so glad to hear that you did get a good nights sleep. We hope that you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Very decent price for a clean no frills hotel. The beds are rather small but for one night it was fine. Within walking distance to the Brewery restaurant and across the street from FDR's home which is lovely to walk the grounds. Other places in the area where way more expensive. This was a great choice for a night or two. Very friendly staff and the breakfast buffet was really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are so glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us! As mentioned we try to offer a great value to our guests and our staff works hard to provide our guests with great service. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merchantville, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The staff was very friendly and place seemed clean. Decent buffet for breakfast- small area to eat but we took it back to our room.We were there for a Country Living Fair so it was quite packed.
Restaurants close by but the Italian one was just ok- Dairy Queen was good though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donstag13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for the review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay while in town for events at the nearby Dutchess County Fairgrounds. We do have several restaurants within walking distance including the Dairy Queen mentioned! We hope to see you again for your next visit to Hyde Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This hotel is directly across the street from FDR Presidential Library & Museum and FDR's home, Springwood. Walking distance to eateries. It is definitely a no frills place but a nice place to stay when visiting the different sights that make up the history of the Hudson River Valley.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jewel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RupsonHospitality, Manager at Quality Inn Hyde Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear that our location was perfect for your visit to the nearby historic attractions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
1.1 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
340 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
3.0 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
422 reviews
5.8 mi away
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
Days Inn Poughkeepsie
#7 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
578 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Hyde Park

Property: Quality Inn Hyde Park
Address: 4142 Albany Post Rd, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Hyde Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hyde Park Hotel Hyde Park
Hyde Park Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing