We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Two nights at this well-run inn, with an enthusiastic new owner, restored our faith in B & Bs. The house exudes a comfortable charm, and is meticulously maintained without being intimidatingly fussy. We liked that our room ("Mombasa") departed from Victorian decor to a sophisticated taupe scheme. The owner puts a lot of care into detail with such things as nightlights, toothbrush holder, hot & cold drinks & cookies, bowls of candy, outside garden retreat, newspaper, beautiful shower soap. The morning self-serve is well designed with fruit in one place and coffee in another. Breakfast at the main table features fruit and an entree which are a little creative but not quite our taste, but the morning discussion was engaging and helpful to plan our days. The location is perfect for touring.

Room Tip: Rooms along Route 9 can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Your review made us sooo happy. It is such a great feeling and provides such a sense of pride that you had such a nice stay with us. The fact that we "restored your faith in B&Bs" makes us so proud. Yes - I am enthusiastic and enjoy serving our guests so much. It was so wonderful that you noticed all the little things (the details) that we put so much effort into - it really is appreciated. You were both a joy to have and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed in The Vanderbilt suite (small compared to our friends who stayed in the other suite) the room was clean, queen bed was comfortable. HOWEVER we were so COLD during the night fortunately the closet had siix quilts and about six blankets. That should have been our first clue! but at 1AM we started adding quilts and with three large quilts we could hardly move. We slept little and were told by the very pleasant helper that the suite cooling system is linked with two other rooms if they are comfortable the Vanderbilt customers are Cold. The owners were on vacation so when we returned home we called expecting an apology and a wee remuneration. They didn't seem to care. For the price we expected comfort not just convenience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

We are extremely sorry that your room was too cold and when our Innsitter told us about it, we discussed it with our AC guys because we have never had this problem before. It just seems that that one night the system was possibly turned down too low. The room has not had that problem any other night and has not had that problem since then. I am sorry we were not at the Inn for your stay, but the Inn was in the extremely capable hands of an Innsitter who has worked for the Journey Inn for many years and would have easily rectified the situation if you had simply let her know. As for the characterization of our call – I am quite surprised that you suggest that we did not care – I DID apologize over and over, and honestly did not realize that you were looking for remuneration – as you kept mentioning how nice the stay was and that you didn’t want to bother the Innkeeper that night. I just thought you wanted to make sure that the owner knew of the situation and to make sure our Innkeeper had told us – which is what you said on the call. I wish you had just been more honest with us about why you called – we would have happily provided a discount if you had stated that more clearly. Saying we did not care is not an accurate reflection of the conversation. We care deeply about the comfort of our guests – and we particularly care about the temperature level in our rooms as we always ask our guests when they arrive if the room is comfortable for them and that we will adjust if asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife, sister and I spent 2 days at the Journey Inn. The breakfasts were delicious, the rooms spotless, comfortable and quiet and the hosts were extremely pleasant. The inn is very conveniently located for touring. It is literally across the road from the Vanderbilt Mansion and just a couple miles from Hyde Park. I would strongly encourage you to stay at the inn.

Room Tip: If you have trouble on the stairs, there are one or two rooms on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsteelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We so enjoyed talking to you, Patricia, and Joan. Great talking about growing up in NYC and how things have changed over the years. I seem to recall that this was a birthday gift and I am so happy that you all enjoyed the trip so much. It makes us feel so good when we have happy guests. Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed at this bed and breakfast with new ownership. The new owner, Valerie, was very accommodating. Stayed in the Outback Room which is a great room, comfortable bed and luxurious bedding. This B & B is very clean and so convenient to the Vanderbilt Mansion (across the street), Culinary Institute and Roosevelt estates. The breakfast (both days) was delicious and the nice, long dining table was conducive to enjoyable morning banter with other guests from all around the United States. Have stayed here (Tuscany Room - another very nice room - shower, no tub) previously under former owners and found Valerie to be exceptional and willing to answer questions and help in any way. Refreshments (drinks & cookies) available and plates of chocolates a plus!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeachNZ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

As new owners we really appreciate when past guests offer their positive feedback! Thank you so much for coming back and allowing us to show you and your friend Mary that we offer the same great experience you've had before at the Journey Inn. We've kept the things that make the Inn so special - like our family-style breakfasts - and added some things that have become very popular - such as our plates of chocolates! I have to live with a few candy wrappers around, but they do seem to make folks happy. All the best to you - and thank you for taking the time to offer such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Not too far outside the city. Right across the street from the Vanderbilt Mansion. Great location - close to Poughkeepsie, wineries and surrounding areas. Great rooms, lovely innkeepers (Val and Eric are so nice!) and good food...Roasted peaches and mascarpone...Need I say more..?!

Highly recommend this place!

Oh and ladies, Val has these great towels for wiping off your makeup. Really nice touch.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Outback room
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Iman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

It was so great meeting you and Aidan - and thanks for bringing a little bit of Brooklyn back to us! Eric and I can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a nice review. Yes, the location is great - and I am so happy you liked our breakfasts (I've said it many times, but we take great pride in our breakfasts) Hope to see you both again - I am sure your brother would love many visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

From the moment my husband and I drove up we felt like we were visiting friends at their lovely home rather than a typical B & B. Valerie the energetic new owner greeted us and showed most of the rooms, are all different and charming. The suite down at the end of the hall is unbelievably large and gorgeous. We however chose the Kyoto room with the hall bath since our visit would be short. We found the Inn to be impeccably clean. The bed was really comfortable and the room decor attractive and up to date. The bath is oversized (50’s pink) with a wonderful shower and the robe they provided was perfect. I am allergic to feathers so I was even given a different pillow. The dining room is a beautiful room with one huge table surrounded by windows surrounded by lots of greenery and open to the sitting room with a fireplace – all very homey! Breakfast was more than ample with many interesting people conversing from all over the world. Actually you can skip lunch, it was so delicious and filling (and gluten free for the guest who had dietary restrictions.) If you want a really tasty dinner right nearby we would highly recommend the 2 Taste Food & Wine Bar where I had the pork dish and it was scrumptious. (Eric had several recommendations and this was one.)

I would highly recommend this inn to anyone traveling in the Hudson Valley region. You will be very comfortable and treated very well by Eric and Val and Val's parents. You will want to return over & over again!

Room Tip: Budget minded should choose the Kyoto room. The suite at the end of the hall was very impressive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

It was so nice having you and Patrick with us - and thank you for taking the time to post this terrific review. We really do appreciate the support and your comments about the Kyoto room. I agree that it is the best deal in the house - nice size room with a large private bath in the hall. I am always so pleased to see the positive comments about our family-style breakfasts. I agree that our guests are so interesting and the breakfast conversations are always so animated. It is very useful as our guests do share their dinner experience the night before and advice on their favorite sights. I am not surprised that many guests change their plans after the breakfast conversations. And thanks for mentioning the "change of pillow" as we do work hard to accommodate our guests requests as much as possible, especially allergy issues and dietary restrictions. Do hope to have you guys back soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

If you are visiting the beautiful and historic Hyde Park area, staying at the Journey Inn is a must! The inn is located on a convenient main road. Although, as soon as you pull into the driveway, you feel as if you are in a quiet, wooded and rural area. The grounds are lovely and the inn peaceful. Once inside, the inn is welcoming, clean and tastefully decorated. The rooms are pristine. In addition, the owners are knowledgeable about the area attractions and restaurants, making your visit easy to organize and stress-free. Last of all, the breakfast was amazing!!! I visited for two nights and had two breakfasts that were as delicious as they were unique and healthy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. I am so happy that you and "the girls" had time to spend together at our Inn. I am so glad that you were able to enjoy a stress-free weekend - and all the great things the area has to offer. Our location is just perfect for seeing the sights and because we were once part of the Vanderbilt estate - our large, old trees do offer that wooded feeling. Can't wait to have you all back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
359 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
7.6 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
6.2 mi away
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
Poughkeepsie Grand Hotel
#5 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
280 reviews
4.9 mi away
Stonegate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1 Sherwood Pl, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range: £129 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across from The Vanderbilt Mansion, a short drive to the Roosevelt Home & Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-kill and The Culinary Institute of America. Kayak the Hudson River and explore our miles of walking and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journey Inn Bed And Breakfast
Journey Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing