We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a super find for a visit to hyde parks many wonderful sights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Hyde Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toms River Nj
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a super find for a visit to hyde parks many wonderful sights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

we discovered the Juorney inn on trip advisor and what luck we had to come across such a terrific place. Valerie the inn keeper is the jewel in the crown of this super place.
the accomodations were beautiful, clean well kept and we enjoyed just relaxing in the common areas. we took the english country suite that was our favorite, large a cozy the others rooms we did not get to see but must have been equally grand.
Valarie and her great assistant produced a breakfast of pleasure to see and taste. we sat around her large dinning table and loved the food and especially our fellow quests.
a true inn experience the inn seekers will visit often we will be back because hyde park has so much to do and see. wnderful visit in every way dont miss it....

Room Tip: the english country suite was perfect costwise higher then the others but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loumoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We are so happy that you discovered us - and that you want to come back to see all that Hyde Park has to offer. There is so much to do here that I am always telling folks to give themselves a few days. Thank you for taking the time to offer such a nice review. We work hard to make your stay wonderful and welcoming, especially our breakfasts where you can mingle with the guests and share your travel tips! My Dad and Mom are my great breakfast assistants and we are so happy to have them - this is a family affair and we all love serving. Thank you, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    30
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
144
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mantua, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Journey Inn in Hyde Park--absolute perfection! Val and her Dad were the most wonderful hosts...warm,funny and very helpful about everything.My husband and I spent about an hour one afternoon just talking "shop" with Val...my husband is in sales and she was in marketing....lots to discuss!
We stayed in two different rooms and both are equally lovely.Good breakfasts each a.m and little touches like water,ice tea and soda available all day.Val is born to do this,and it shows!
As my husband told her,she has set the bar very high....we will definitely be back,and stay even longer.A first-class experience!!

Room Tip: Kyoto room has a bathroom in the hall,but worth the little bit you have to walk...bathroom is huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackiR1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
It is so easy to be a great host when you have guest like you and Charles. We really enjoyed having you at the Inn - it was fun talking "shop", especially since I don't have to do it anymore! Charles clearly loves his work and so do I - now that I am an Innkeeper. My Dad is honored that you mentioned him - it is a labor of love for him too. We really look forward to having you back soon - first class guests deserve a first class experience - thank you!! for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The reviews that I read before making reservations at Journey Inn are the reason why I chose the inn. Between the time that I made my reservations and stayed at the inn, it changed owners. The new owner, Valerie, loves her work. The joy of serving people radiates from her face and is shown by the care that she gives to the details of running the inn. Breakfasts were delightful! Everyday is something different and tasty. Valerie's knowledge of the locality is also quite helpful.
I went with a group of cousins. We enjoyed the spacious sitting areas which allowed us to relax together at the end of the day. It felt like we were being entertained in a comfortable home.
I hope to return! My only fear is that this inn is going to be so popular that booking a room will be near impossible.
Thank you, Valerie, Eric and parents -especially DAD, the butler extraordinaire!
**This inn is located right across the street from the Vanderbilt Mansion. The grounds offer quite an extensive walking trail!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthR655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
What a wonderful review to wake up to this morning! Such a fun group you all were - and it made for a very interesting weekend with a house full of women. ;-) It is easy to love your job when you meet such interesting and nice people such as you Ruth and the "group of cousins"! Nothing pleases us more than seeing our guests having so much fun not only seeing the sites, but relaxing under our pavilion on a beautiful afternoon. I loved hearing your laughter and seeing how much fun you all had together. I really can't wait to have you all again - next Spring perhaps?! Thank you for taking the time to post this review - all of us really appreciate the effort - and my Dad is particularly pleased.-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

What a delightful getaway! The inn is situated in the perfect spot to take day trips to a variety of interesting venues. We spent 6 nights here and loved it. Val is the consummate innkeeper. Her attention to detail and genuine concern for the comfort of her guests made our stay a true retreat. Breakfast was delicious each morning and we loved the eclectic group of guests who gathered around the table. This is definitely a spot we'll return to just to relax and enjoy the hospitality.

Sandi and Elena

Room Tip: Vanderbilt Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Loved having you and Elena at the Inn. It is so nice when we have guests for several days - we really get to know you and we LOVE the menu planning for the long stay! You cannot be in this business if you do not truly want your guests to be happy and relaxed - so it is so gratifying when we achieve our goals. We are so lucky to have such great and interesting guests - as it does make the breakfast table a joy for all. You both added so much to the quality of the stay for all our guests. Thank you! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

A gracious innkeeper, lovely room, and excellent breakfast with lovely shared spaces made this a wonderful place to stay to visit Hyde Park and all the local attractions. We loved staying here. And Rhinebeck offered very good restaurants. The Vanderbilt grounds just across the street were perfect for walks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you! And you and Dorothy were such gracious guests - we loved having you at the Inn. So happy you both enjoyed our breakfasts (something that is very important to us - we love feeding people) and were able to take advantage of our great location across from the Vanderbilt. We encourage our guests to take their morning/afternoon stroll on those amazing grounds with such beautiful views.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here last weekend with my best friend for a girls' getaway. After searching online, this place kept coming up as the best B&B in the area- and it was! It had a great location (close to CIA, FDR museum, Rhinebeck and across the street from the Vanderbilt mansion), spotless rooms and excellent food. We loved waking up in the AM and going for a run by the Hudson river on the Vanderbilt mansion grounds and then returning for a delicious breakfast of homemade apple french toast.
The owner and her family are SO welcoming. They also were spot-on with their recommendations for local restaurants and activities. Some B&Bs can be a bit cheesy, but this place is classy and comfortable. We absolutely loved it and would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neha2313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We are deeply humbled by your review. It was a wonderful pleasure having you and Lauren here - and that you chose us to have your best friend getaway. We love hearing that we are classy & comfortable - very much what we are going for, and so nice to know we are succeeding. We were so impressed that you grabbed a run before breakfast at the Vanderbilt - we are so lucky to have that amazing property right across the street - but not everyone is an ambitious as you guys. Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know how much you loved your stay - we truly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This B&B is beautiful in every way! The service is excellent, the breakfast interesting and the suroundings delightful. The little touch of having bowls of candies around the house is a great idea! Twenty four hour tea and coffee and easy access to an excellent local diner are bonus touches!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bordereiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JourneyInn, Owner at Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you!!! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us - we love being called "beautiful" - such a wonderful thing to hear. We do work so hard to provide the best service and to surround our guests with homey. warm, comforting decor and gardens - so it is so nice to be noticed and rewarded by your lovely review. It means so much to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hyde Park
0.4 mi away
Roosevelt Inn
Roosevelt Inn
#1 of 4 in Hyde Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Inn & Suites At the Falls
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Sherwood Pl, Hyde Park, NY 12538-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Hyde Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hyde Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are across from The Vanderbilt Mansion, a short drive to the Roosevelt Home & Library, Eleanor Roosevelt's Val-kill and The Culinary Institute of America. Kayak the Hudson River and explore our miles of walking and hiking trails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Journey Inn Bed And Breakfast
Journey Hotel Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing