We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Famous for What?”
Review of Pete's Famous Cafe Grill - CLOSED

Pete's Famous Cafe Grill
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Red Hook, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Famous for What?”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband had a bun with a smear of hamburger - he left it on the plate as it was totally not edible.
I had a burned waffle and when I asked what kind of meat the side of sausage was the server said "meat". Dirty water glasses and cold coffee.

NEVER EVER AGAIN

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rae d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    6
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Picture Rocks, Pa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What is Pete "famous" for?”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stopped at Pete's because the other diner was full to overflowing . . we were seated by a lady who was very hurried even though the diner was QUIET . . . the menu is extensive but overpriced, and our first served (who "dropped" us, for some reason) was having a hard time with "coffee and water" for our drinks. Our second server was very cordial and friendly. It took them about 20 minutes to realize that they were out of spinach salad, but once we got all that straightened out, my wife ended up with cold french fries, corn, and chicken cordon bleu, which really wasn't too bad. I had "Pasta daVinci," which was really good .. and a sizeable portion, too. Even though we left full, we were amazed that this quiet little place could have such long delays . . . and were wondering why exactly Pete's was "famous" anyway . . . . .

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoundTopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wappingers falls
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“discusting burger”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stopped at Petes famous today for lunch with my son and wife. We all ordered the pub burger. The bread tasted like it was frozen and then put in microwave. The burger tasted like mush. The server didn't seem to care or even come to the table to see how things were or asked if we need refils on our drinks. I would not recomend this place. If I go to Hyde Park again I'll eat at the Dinner next door.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, PA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyed dining here”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Had breakfast and dinner at Pete's and found the food to be very good. The service was very good as if they appreciated the customers. Portions were large. Food was flavorful. The spinach salad was excellent. Extensive menu to choose from for both breakfast and dinner. Would definitely recommend this restaurant. Did not find it to be anything like a cafeteria as stated by other reviewers. Prices were very reasonable and overall it was good value for your money.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Longstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
308 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Decent service, cafeteria type food.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Had been wanting to try this place for a little while.... the outside is a little deceiving of the inside decor. Once I entered, although it is not a cafeteria style setting, that was the overall feel I got.... and the food was ok, also reminded me of a cafeteria.... glad I went, but I won't be returning.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pete's Famous Cafe Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing