We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surprise”

Coppola's Hyde Park
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Hyde Park
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were recently dropping our daughter off at college and we were searching for a restaurant in the Hyde Park area. There are quite a few in the Poughkeepsie area but not so much in Hyde Park. Not wanting the typical bar food we settled on Coppola's. We came in close to their closing time but they were very gracious and never rushed us even though we were the last ones there. Our daughter attends the Culinary Institute and we are accustomed to better dining experiences. The entrees we ordered were all very good - to exceptional. The wait staff was informed, and courteous, and the pricing was a value for what was received. We loved our meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    37
    22
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mahopac, ny
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“decent Italian food at reasonable cost”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

a long time staple of the Poughkeepsie area, Coppola's delivers good Italian food in a suburban-ersatz atmosphere typical of most restaurants of this type. Does not disappoint for a reasonable evening out but neither does it elevate Italian quisine beyond good. In other words, you get what you pay for

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnsMahopac_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Meadow, New York
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Reliable goodness you can count on”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The menu may be somewhat typical but it is extensive. Everything we tried was prepared perfectly and every dish we saw come to nearby tables looked appealing and perfect. The portions were good sized, the prices were fair, the flavors and presentation excellent, the service just right, the staff was anxious to please, and it was a totally satisfying meal. The owners are always on premises and jump right in to help clear tables, pour water, and make sure everything always runs smoothly. This restaurant operates with a joy of providing really good food, in a really good atmosphere, with genuine interest in what the customer wants, and it shines through in every small touch. The oil on the table is genuine olive oil - not a mix as is found too often. The bread is warm, fresh, and plentiful and they bring more if you want it Even the side salad was a good amount while too many are skimpy if it is an extra in addition to the entree and pasta or vegetable. Even though there was a large private party in another room, we never heard the noise, felt rushed, or in any way were impacted by it. The owner spoke with us to be sure we were having a good experience and we were made to feel as if each and every customer mattered.

I enjoy a restaurant I can count on. I prefer to read a menu and find many dishes that look appealing to me rather than those with more esoteric choices where maybe one dish looks as if I might like it. I don't like surprise ingredients and strange combinations even though others do. If I lived closer to this honest restaurant it would become a real favorite for me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larktrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good. Special occasions.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We ate here as a family while traveling. It was more thatn we wanted to spend at the time, but that was b/c we weren't out for a special occasion at the time. The food was quite nice. Our waiter seemed new/flustered, so things weren't that smooth; but he was very kind. Meals took a long time to come out. On the $$$ side - more for a special occasion or romantic dinner out. Their website does not do the formality of the place justice. Well heeled crowd.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank yesimallpacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Italian Meal I've had in a long time.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Was staying at the Quality Inn across the Street and decided to try this place. What a treat. Staff was great. Food was excellent and by the crowd there I can tell it is a local favorite. Their sauce was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coppola's Hyde Park also viewed

 

Been to Coppola's Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing