We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance, excellent server, good food and value”

The Prickly Pear Cantina
Ranked #57 of 143 Restaurants in Danville
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Camino Tassajara and Blackhawk Road
Coronado, California
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance, excellent server, good food and value”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We came here because the Little Pear restaurant was busy and it was a very hot day (106 degrees). It's inside a fancy mall so park by the Anthropology store and walk into the mall. This place was an oasis. The room is well decorated and welcoming. The windows had a close up view of the beautiful water fall feature inside the Blackhawk mall. Our server was friendly, helpful and responsive. The food was very good. The chips were fresh and warm. We had a taco salad, a spicy taco salad and tamales. The salads are HUGE. I enjoyed mine so much I packed it home and ate it again for dinner. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nadomom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    27
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good food...huge entrees!”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Went here for a bachelorette dinner with some friends. It's a little bit hard to find the restaurant as the entrance is inside the Blackhawk Plaza shopping area - don't give up.

Among the 8 of us, we ordered a variety of entrees and everyone was very satisfied with the food. One word of warning...the entrees are huge! The standard burrito must be at least 2 pounds...so plan accordingly.

One of my friends is on a gluten free diet. They didn't have very many GF options, but were willing/able to make her a salad which she said was quite good.

All in all, not the best Mexican I've had, but I'd go here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wildiris117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD, LOUSY SERVICE”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

6 of us went Saturday at 5 PM for an early Mother's Day celebration. We were immediately shown to our table, our orders taken and delivered, and that was it for the waitress, Danielle. I guess she thought she was done!
We had to flag down a waiter to ask if she would return to our table to refill our drinks...twice! She never returned voluntarily to ask if everything was OK. She almost acted annoyed that we needed her.
The food was excellent...several got taco salads with shredded beef, no fat. One got the chili colorado-excellent. One got fajitas...one got chicken tortilla soup and shrimp cocktail.
The pitcher of margaritas was also excellent, but the one original margarita ordered later was very sour...good, but not sweet.
We would return and hope to get a different waitress.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tahoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Touch of Mexican and a touch of style”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Takes a combination of both to alter the traditional Mexican dishes very nice not overdone. Love the view of the pond, waterfalls and ducks. Very relaxing by the way if in the mood give it a try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We Love It Here”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We love it here. Great food, excellent service. However it is very noisy in the dinning room. Not so bad on the patio or in the bar.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prickly Pear Cantina also viewed

 

Been to The Prickly Pear Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing