We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and Limited Menu”

Esin Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Esin Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 142 Restaurants in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Sycamore Rd
Description: Esin has been a neighborhood jewel since opening in 1998. The name Esin is not only the name of one of the owners but also means “inspiration”. The food is the passion of Chef & Owners Curtis and Esin deCarion. They strive to create cuisine that is fresh, seasonal, and prepared with great care. The fare is American with bits of Mediterranean influences. The wine list has been recognized by Wine Spectator & Wine Enthusiast magazines. Esin Restaurant & Bar relocated in July of 2008 to the Newest upscale lifestyle center The Rose Garden in Danville. The freshly designed dining room offers warm and comforting tones. Be sure to save room for one of Esin’s fresh made desserts that have become so well known.
Alamo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service and Limited Menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Service is always excellent as is the desserts. The menu though is limited and needs to be a little more diverse. Hanger Steak very good. My friend at lunch always get the Hamburger - a real step up from McDonald's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    87
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Service was ecellent and the food was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Every Sunday my sweetie and I go out to eat. This week we went to not-faraway (for us) Cafe Esin. We went there for Easter dinner (which was okay).

Bret, the waitperson, was great. Unfortunately, the eggplant sandwich that I ordered failed to appeal to my taste buds, though my sweetie said that the steak frites with french fries and salad he ordered was okay. Both Brett and the manager offered me another choice.

For dessert we split a piece of lemon meringue tart with gingerbread crust. Sweet Bret brought the dessert already split and on two plates. My sweetie ate most of his half while I refused to eat the chemical-tasting dessert. Bret did offer to bring me another choice and I refused (because I did order it). We paid and left. We most likely will not return (unless I forget). I do not recommend that you go to this restaurant unless you're up for it. It could be different for you.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank declectic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Review based on four visits”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Was invited to cafe Esin last night by friends. Although I had been previously disappointed in this place, we agreed. The food was consistently boring. The word boring is actually a complement. For appetizer, we got a pizza, totally out of scale. It was so called flat bread with figs. But there were no fresh figs to be seen, it was actually jam like spread with some aromatic lettuce leaves. To spare my friends financial injury on top of bad food, I ordered the cheapest item, chicken in puff pastry ($19.95). It came with a pearl couscous with a watery and what seemed like uncooked or perhaps from a tin red tomato sauce with taste lacking in all delicacy. The puff pastry was half cooked and cut in half so the chicken was dry. Of course, I did not finish.For dessert, after a good deal of pushing by the waitress, we got the brownie. Lousy again. Horrendously sugary with vanilla ice cream. Just awful. Smores would have tasted less sweet.
I always check restaurants on trip adviser before going out in other cities, so I am very disappointed with this boring, average restaurant rate so high. Each and every time I have gone there (4), the food has been tasteless, poorly cooked and overpriced.

It is basically a neighborhood restaurant with pretense of fine dining.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Excellent choice in the San Ramon area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Food, ambiance and service were all excellent.very attentive wait staff. Great fresh fish with a nice Wllamette Valley Pinot Noir!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gbtopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had dinner at Esin to celebrate my son's graduation. My son & his gf have been to Esin numerous times before & really like eating here. It's a beautiful restaurant...not too fancy but very nice classy. Prices are reasonable & food & service was great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Esin Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing