We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice addition to Danville's restaurant”
Review of Mexcal - CLOSED

Mexcal
Restaurant details
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice addition to Danville's restaurant”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a late lunch here and enjoyed the meal and service, as it was not crowded we were served by the manager. While the menu may appear a bit limited, they have some interesting dishes and we thought the food and seasoning was very good. It was a perfect afternoon to dine outside on the patio.

We hope to return soon and try dinner at sometime in the future.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1952Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California, United States
1 review
“Nice evening in Danville”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went here with friends, our first visit their second. Excellent service, great food and a nice atmosphere. We sat and talked for a long time and was not hurried to leave. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor service, Overpriced food.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My two daughters and I ate here for the first time a few weeks ago at around 6:30pm. It was meant to be a treat but we were so disappointed.

The service was sooooooo slow. We were seated quickly but it was about 15 minutes before we got a glass of water and another 15 before we ordered. We did eventually get complimentary chips and salsa which were the nicest part of our meal.

I ordered the Mole Maria which I didn't like. It was like reheated chicken thighs and legs with a tonne of sauce poured over it. The veg on the side were nice but no tortillas as listed on the menu. Very overpriced for what I got.

My two daughters ordered burritos. One specifically ordered guacamole instead of cheese but still got the cheese anyway. They both didn't finish what they got as they didn't like it (this is highly unusual for either/both of them).

We will definitely not go back. Not worth it at all

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miriam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“New Place - Slow Service”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The food was very good. Our primary waiter, who also greeted and sat us down, was very slow and forgot items we'd ordered - twice. He came back to ask what we'd ordered. He was very slow to take our orders, slow to bring our drinks and we barely had them before the food arrived. On the other hand, the rest of the staff was on the ball and they brought us chips and salsa three times. Free. They refilled ice teas. Free.

Once we ordered the food it came pretty quickly and looked beautiful. The corn tortillas for our enchiladas and cochinita pibil were freshly made. The servings were ample and authentic. They advertise that they offer sustainable products which was very appealing, and it was quite tasty. We sat outside on the patio which was lovely - save for the screaming kids who dropped half their food on the ground and one who stood up in her high chair, repeatedly (why not buckle the kid in?). And fortunately, the mother removed the loudest screamer until she calmed down. Once they got their food, the screaming ceased, thank goodness.

I took 1/2 my cochinita pibil to go - maybe I ate too many chips. They were out of large to go containers - but the one they gave me was compostable, microwave safe - not plastic.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cynla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Truly delicious Mexi! ”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Love love love this place! We were devastated when La Ultima closed and MexCal is now our family go-to when we need our Mexican fix.
The chips and salsa were fresh and delicious. Guac was also tasty and a good portion. We ordered chicken fajitas, chicken mole enchiladas, shrimp enchiladas and shrimp quesadillas -- all cooked to perfection and came out piping hot. Each plate came with fresh grilled veggies, black beans and white rice.
This place is such a wonderful addition to downtown Danville and it's great to know they serve all-natural/hormone free meat.

Helpful?
Thank Vlruano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing