We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic New Visitor's Center:”

Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument
Certificate of Excellence
Indian Hills, Colorado
Level Contributor
213 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Visitor's Center:”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Feds really outdid themselves on this one. The old center was crowded and cluttered. The new center is airy, well lighted, clean, organized, and does wonders for the displays. There is even a presentation theater that shows a fascinating DVD of the area.
Much beautiful hiking in the monument. The trails are very easy.
The rangers are friendly; and have a good sense of humor. They make for a very pleasant visit.
You gotta see the "reserved for" parking places at the new visitor's center. 2 of them say "reserved for fuel efficient, clean vehicles". Does this include my whopping 1992 Buick Lesabre? It gets 30+ MPG on the highway, and is so clean that it is "emissions exempt" by law?
Well worth the short trip off US 24 to see this. I highly recommend this, even for families with small children. Everyone I meet enjoys the fossil beds.
Be sure to see the Sunday Beer Store in Florissant near the turn to the Monument. The sign is a real hoot; and Sunday Beer is allowed in the Monument area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank qnodmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    100
    39
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
189 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good choice for fossils and light hiking”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The monument's top feature is their assortment of fossilized tree trunks. Some have been excavated for better visibility, while others barely peek out above ground. The visitor's center has the fossils of leaves and insects. There are a number of walking trails, none strenuous. The views of the surrounding mountains are lovely.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sondra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Florissant fossil beds is a pretty neat place to visit.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

We had a good time visiting the Florissant fossil beds national monument.I thought there would be more to it, but it was still worth the visit. Lots of prehistoric history. The visitors center has a 20 minute movie about how the fossil beds were formed, and there are fossils on display of the insect and plant life they've found there. The petrified forest loop trail takes you on a journey though time to when giant redwood trees called the valley home. Now only there giant stumps are left, petrified hard as rocks. Very cool.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rbertph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Country”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This park is terrific. If you like fossils you'll love this park. Many trails, a terrific visitors center, knowledgeable park rangers and some of the most interesting fossil trees outside the petrified forest. The kids will also love it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ParrotLaureateJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, NH
Level Contributor
191 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The grounds are beautiful. The "trails" are well worn paths through fields with views of mountains in the distance. Gorgeous. Having never seen petrified redwoods before, we were very excited about the amount of redwood stumps we were able to see, amongst the views in the beautiful valley. Even though they are just stumps, we were still able to get an idea of just how large they were. That was pretty neat. We were very impressed with the signage around the park, as it provided great information in brief, user friendly signs. We only spent an hour or so here, as we had many other things we were trying to squeeze into our last day in the area, and it was getting quite hot, but we could have spent much longer. The heat is one thing to be aware of. The trail with the petrified redwoods is out in the open, so in the summer, it's definitely a good idea to get there early in the day. It got hot!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wildcatsfan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument also viewed

 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing