We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard
Ranked #47 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good option not great”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We went to the World Golf Hall of Fame (WGHOF) for a charity event and chose to stay here as the options at WFHOF were a complete disaster. This place was totally average. The rooms were so so, updated somewhat recently. The hotel needs some updating on its exterior. Of course if you are there for golf who cares about the rooms. The bar has pool table, darts and shuffleboard meaning it's great for guys weekend but wouldn't recommend for a weekend with the wife.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwig14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
***NOTE*** This review is NOT for TownePlace Suites by Marriott Jacksonville Butler Boulevard, but appears to be for World Golf Renaissance Hotel and Resort. PLEASE REMOVE THIS REQUEST FROM TOWNEPLACE SUITES BY MARRIOTT JACKSONVILLE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    60
    29
    20
    10
See reviews for
75
38
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel in at the end of April, I chose this hotel because it was close to my job and had kitchens in the rooms. I also always try to stay with marriott. I don't understand how this hotel could be so new yet in such terrible shape. My sofa was gross, looked like dirty men had been laying all over it. The cleanliness of the room was not up to par. I had no iron, not enough towels, oven was not clean etc.The front desk agent that checked me in was very nice as well as the breakfast lady and my housekeeper, but when I talked to a manager she was not so nice I even witnessed her talking to the breakfast attendant in an unprofessional manner. She didn't resolve any of my issues, just walked around them. Its sad because this hotel is in a great location and has nice rooms, they just need polishing and some new staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Colleen, thank you for taking the time to notify me of your experience at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Jacksonville Butler Blvd. The hotel is six years old, and is scheduled for improvements later this year (2014).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The nicest staff I have come across in years, clean room, GREAT value for the space you get. However, the wifi at this hotel is awful. I asked if it was any better than the Fairfield across the street to which the manager said yes they have revamped the system. He was wrong. It was awful.

Room Tip: Do Not go on business.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnO_Buss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
John, sorry for the inconvenience of the internet service you experienced at TownePlace Suites by Marriott. Please note that we have recently upgraded our Internet service to 1.5MBPS, and we are now offering a higher speed internet service option of 4MBPS, for a slight upcharge of $4.95/day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Was in town due to death in family and have always stayed at Marriott properties, chose TownePlace Suites because it has separate bedrooms. Arrived at hotel around 3pm and immediately upon walking into lobby noticed the stained carpet, this prompted me to ask front desk person if I could see room before checking in. She was very courteous and took me to room, I should have walked away then but needed to get to my family so I ignored the filthy couch in living area and the shoddy paint job thru out the room.
We returned very late to our room and entered thru a side entrance, that's when I saw how dirty the stairwells and hallways were, built up dust was everywhere.
In our bathroom, there was mildew in the shower and hair on the tub. While using the sink that night the water was very slow to drain, which the next morning while showering the tub was doing the same thing.
We had to hurry out because the service was very early that morning and I didn't have time to let the front desk clerk know of our dissatisfaction. Actually, because of my having to bury a family member, I didn't have the strength to deal with it at that time.
So overall, the staff was very friendly but cleanliness is a must and this property lacks it.
It is in dire need of either a remodel or a thorough steam cleaning of the furnishings and carpets.
I did call back that afternoon to speak with a manager but they were gone for the day, so I left a voicemail and will await to see if I get a call back.
I gave it two stars because of the staff, but I will never come back to this property. In the future I'd rather pay for two rooms to get the privacy needed than to compromise cleanliness.

Room Tip: Chose another property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Poohsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Since your visit in April, we have hired a new Executive Housekeeper, and turned over most of our Housekeeping staff. We have come a long way, in a short time, and cleaned the hotel up. We still have a few projects we are working on, but maintaining the cleanliness as expected. Please come visit us again when your travels bring you back to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Jacksonville has been our stopping point the last 4 years on our way to sanibel, Clearwater and Orlando and we have always stayed at the Wingate just across the parking lot from this property. Chose TP suites this year do to rate and availability and was pleasantly surprised. Upon calling the hotel to make the reservation I spoke with Lee and she was very informative and helpful. Arrived at the hotel around 2pm and greeted warmly by Lee again! Check in was a breeze. The hotel is was very clean and well kept. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable! Fridge, microwave and top burner were great. We had a king studio room with pull out sofa. The room it self is very "compact" but efficient. With the pull out sofa out I had to climb over the bottom of the bed to get to bathroom or kitchen area. My boys said the pullout was fine. Breakfast is your basic complimentary with bagels, toast English muffins, make your own waffle, cereal and hard boiled eggs. Nothing fancy, but a little something to get you going. I also had interaction with Valerie and she was great as well! Very helpful, upbeat, positive and accommodating! So, this property served us well! We did not need much for the one night. We wanted clean safe and friendly and that is what we received. Though the room was small, not a big deal for us for one night. If we were staying longer we would have requested the one bedroom instead. Good customer service goes a LONG way, and they have that part covered. Again thanks to Lee and Valerie for being so great! We will definitely check you out again next year.

OAN- property is in walking distance for Cracker Barrel and Applebee's. Short drive to other shops, restaurants and Jacksoville beaches. Just off the interstate and for us it was easy to find, but we are familiar with the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank msshak76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback! Please come back and see us when your travels bring you back to Jacksonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluefield, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

A quick overnight stay, but the hotel was great. Very clean, updated and comfortable. The bed and pillows were great. The young man at the front desk was very nice as was the lady the next morning. The breakfast buffet was very good, the select was very nice. We will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROADRUNNERBluefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your compliments, and high rating! Please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

All the way back of Lenoir Ave.... There it is.. Beachy feel, clean, friendly and affordable. Nice location and a staff (Bella and John) that makes you wanna stay longer. Don't hesitate for a second to stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaser z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for the kind words, and marks! Please come see us again. Bella and I are both still here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Jacksonville Butler Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#45 of 133 in Jacksonville
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Butler Blvd
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Lenoir Avenue East
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#94 of 133 in Jacksonville
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard

Property: TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard
Address: 4801 Lenoir Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32216-6015
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated TownePlace Suites by Marriott Jacksonville Butler Blvd is the new design for the TownePlace Suites. At the TownePlace Suites, you will be able to settle in, keep your routine, and stay connected to the local area because our goal is to make life away from home easy, so that you can continue Real Living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Jacksonville Butler Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites By Marriott Jacksonville Butler Boulevard Hotel Jacksonville
Towneplace Suites Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing