We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, decent hotel, rooms need updating ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week while at a work convention.

Big hotel. Nice meeting rooms.

Great location if you like to walk or run while you're traveling. Plenty of good restaurants nearby to walk to.

Service was good. Very friendly staff.

Didn't give it a top rating because the rooms felt dated. Not bad. Just not fresh.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Blueteej1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Blueteej1997,

Thank you for your positive review of Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,284 - 2,290 of 2,888 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

Here for a work conference so didn't get a choice of hotel. Great views and clean rooms. Bathrooms could use some updating and our faucet leaked Not much to do downtown however so taking a cab was pricey to see things. I did use the trolley at the Jacksonville Landing (which was disappointing) to Five points but it only runs 10:30-2:30. Staff was very nice and helpful but if we were to return for fun we choose something closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Choose water view room. Worth the extra $30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaMike87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear TaMike87,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront during your conference. We appreciate your feedback. If you are ever back in Jacksonville, we hope you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I booked one night about one month in advance. Within a week of my arrival I received an email inviting me to check in online. I thought wow, just like the airlines. I assumed it would get me in an express situation where I walk in and get my room key. So I did it indicating (because they asked) that I'd be there about 5pm.

I arrived at 7pm (tired after a 4 hour drive) and the front desk clerk (who was very nice) said she had to call housekeeping to see if my room was ready. No answer. She called within a few minutes and someone told her they'd go check to see if my room was ready. I was somewhat surprised and thought that was unusual. About 10 minutes later she apologized and said she'd call again and apparently was told they hadn't checked yet or basically, that the room wasn't ready. Meanwhile, another guy walks in after me and they check him in and give him his room key and he goes up.
I asked for a supervisor and she came but explained that because my conference was a special block of rooms they had to be sure it was ready. That made no sense to me. Everyone there (who was checking in) was attending a conference. Finally about 20 minutes after I arrived, the supervisor said "we'll just find you another room with a single king bed; it was because you requested a king bed."

I was happy she found another room, but what was the point of my online check in? I was incredulous. I asked for late check out which they gladly affirmed. But then my door was knocked on at 8:35 a.m. by housekeeping. I didn't answer the door. They came back at about 10:15 and I yelled to them that I had late checkout. They said "oh, ok."

I stay overnight about 50 days per year so I'm not a heavy weight biz traveler, but I've never run across this. Hey, they did give me a coupon for complimentary wifi. I don't need to stay here again. I'm rating them Average, but that's bad for what this calibre of hotel should be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CrosaRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear CrosaRoadWarrior,

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you received at check-in and checkout. We appreciate your comments. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

In terms of value, I can not comment, but I can write about the service, quality and cleanliness of the hotel. I am not sure of other 'similar-price' offerings in the area to compare 'value'.

The hotel has wonderful location, walking distance from many 'main' attractions in Jacksonville. Most of the rooms face the river, some the city of course. Front desk agent Amanda, was wonderful and made our stay. We had requested some rooms, and she let us know they were unfortunately occupied.. but our Platinum status was able to provide an upgrade to ocean view room. Rooms ending in even #'s are riverfront.

There is a nice rooftop pool and good size fitness center. Everything as expected, nice place, great location, awesome service. The price of water bottles ($4) was very high, as well as the breakfast is not included; regardless of any IHG status. Downstairs, drinks at the bar are generally $5.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in even #'s are riverfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cagalindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Cagalindo,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. I am pleased our hotel exceeded your expectations, especially with our amazing views and associates. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Got in really late the night before it started. I got to my floor and it smelled faintly of smoke. My room didn't smell so bad but the bed sheets had an odor to them. The room was not dirty but there was just a lingering smell to everything. If it wasn't so late and I wasn't so exhausted, I would have tried to get my room switched but don't feel like they should be mingling the smoking/non-smoking rooms anyway. The area surrounding the hotel doesn't seem very good. I would not feel comfortable walking around at night on my own. I was not in my room from 8am until 4pm and housekeeping hadn't come by. Overall, pretty disappointed. I expected more from a Hyatt.

Room Tip: If you want a non-smoking room, also request to be on a non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Jessica P,

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your stay. We take great pride in providing authentic hospitality and it sounds like we did not succeed. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My stay here was ok, but unremarkable and unmemorable (in fact it was just last week, but already I'm forgetting what it was like) I was there for work, so it was pretty much what I would expect:comfortable, clean, quiet enough. Things that did surprise me though:wifi was not free, and there was no mini-bar or fridge. One complaint: if you book a room, be sure to ask them for one with a view of the river, or at least one with a decent-sized window. My room had just a teeny window at one end (the rest was a blank wall), and it looked out on another wing of the hotel (the one with views) and not much else, so that part was definitely a disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etalius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Etalius,

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront during your conference. We appreciate your feedback. If you are ever back in Jacksonville, we hope you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

My room was quiet and comfortable. The hotel is nice and has a nice setting by the river. The lobby offered lemonade in the afternoon which was a nice touch. So I don't get the nickel and dime mentality. The last hotel I was in earlier in the week had free bottled water in the room. And watch out for those room service charges, outrageous!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Ty B,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again.

Best Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#10 of 133 in Jacksonville
2,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
7.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Jacksonville Deerwood Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
0.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Address: 225 E Coastline Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202-5458
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#23 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#35 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range: £84 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 963
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the lifestyle and landscape of the real Florida at our Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront hotel. Set along the St. Johns River within the heart of the city’s business, entertainment and sports districts, our outstanding downtown Jacksonville hotel is adjacent to the Jacksonville Landing, a hotspot for dining & entertainment, and within minutes of famous white sand beaches, championship golf courses, EverBank Field, water sports, museums and arts venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel Jacksonville
Hyatt Jacksonville Riverfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing