We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice staff, clean rooms, but still average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Ranked #12 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Let me first say that downtown Jacksonville is really nothing special. There's not much to do unless you're here for an event, as we were. Fair warning.

On to the Hyatt. We had a pleasant stay overall, so here is the pro/con list:

Pros: Great, central location. Walking distance to riverside shopping, food area with lots of live music at night. Close to Everbank stadium where big events and shows play. (We were here for US soccer match). Very nice staff (lots of yes ma'm/ no ma'm and southern hospitality). Hotel lobby is beautiful with plenty of relaxing space, bar space and a big restaurant. They even have a smaller sports bar separate from the main area, which was nice because it keep the noise down. Clean room. Starbucks coffee in room. Good a/c. Free wifi if you join the free Hyatt club. The river view is very pretty and we saw lots of dolphins!

Cons: above mentioned riverside food and shopping area is a bit rundown and the restaurant we ate at was terrible. There didn't seem to be good restaurant options nearby. While the room was clean, it was very outdated and our mattress was uncomfortable. The toilet worked SO well that when we flushed it, it sounded like a jet engine. We were almost scared. :)

Truthfully, this hotel is fine for a short trip. The staff was accommodating and pleasant. We just felt the class of people here is not high calibre. Very casual crowd. Nice, but flip flops and beer kinda folks. (Use that opinion however you'd like)

Room Tip: River view is the best. Other rooms look at the bridge, which is not terrible either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank so3008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,287 - 2,293 of 3,015 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here one night. The view from our window of the river was very nice and it was close to several eaterys which was great because food and room service were way too expensive for the value. The vending machines had the convenience of taking quarters or credit cards but not actual bills. The mattresses were the firmest (hard) we had slept on in a while. The bottled water in the room is $4 a bottle. We didn't want to purchase wi-fi for one night so had to go down the elevator to the lobby to use their "free" wi-fi. We chose late checkout which gives you an extra hour to leave and the maid came twice to see if we were still there. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Seva L,
Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We appreciate you taking time to give us feedback regarding your stay. If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail, please feel free to reach out to me directly.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt for a conference and left my iPhone charger in the room. The hotel couldn't find it before I left, so they told me to check back. I happened to be coming back to Jacksonville a month later and after a few different phone calls, I spoke to Jorge in security. A month after I left it there, he had it for me! When I returned to Jacksonville and called, he took my phone number, looked around the hotel and called me before I left town again telling me he had it for me! He really went above and beyond! Thank you! The service at this hotel overall is very good! The people are very friendly!

Thanks
-Nicole S.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. It was great to hear Jorge went above and beyond to assist you with finding your iPhone charger. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here May 9-11. Rooms are very clean with a great view of the St. John's river. Great selection for breakfast and great location. Staff was very hospitable. Will most definitely stay here again. Can

Room Tip: As for a room with a view of the landing and the St. John's river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilmama08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay! We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here the day after our wedding and had a wonderful experience! We were married at the beginning of May. We made it over in time to enjoy the rooftop pool and amazing view of the river. The pool and hot tub were very clean as were the patio chairs and tables. The bar on the rooftop enhanced the experience as well.

When we got to our room, we had a nice note from the food and beverage director and received a complimentary dinner from the hotel restaurant. The room was very clean. We loved being able to open the sliding door to have a better view of the riverfront and enjoyed the breeze. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

The hotel is also in walking distance to the Jacksonville landing with lots of restaurants. The walk on the riverfront is also very nice. Unfortunately we could only stay one night before he had to report back to Chicago for the Navy. We had an excellent experience and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the riverfront! It is a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Congratulations on your recent nuptials! We are so pleased you decided to spend your mini honeymoon with us! We appreciate all of the warm comments regarding our hotel. If you are ever back in Jax, we hope you will stay with us again. Cheers to a long and happy life together.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel had a very competitive package for the Jazz festival. Absolutely beautiful accommodations, very convenient location (we did not move our car for 3 days) walking distance to all three stages, restaurants, bars, art market, etc. the breakfast buffet was WONDERFUL!!!! Lox, made to order omelets, fresh fruit (melons ripened perfectly), etc., etc. Lovely decor, excellent service. My very "particular" traveling companion even asked that the less than perfect lampshades be replaced and the hotel changed them! Equipment in the gym as good or better than my gym at home - open 24 hours! rooftop pool looked great - did not have time to use.

Room Tip: we asked for river view - got end unit with both city AND river views! awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for enjoying the sounds of Jazz while staying at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We appreciate you taking time to share your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially our jazz festival package. If you are ever back in Jacksonville, we hope you will stay with us again.

Kind Regards,
Kristine Hall
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this location for a conference. They were actually several different conferences going on at the same time but the facility was large enough that you couldn't tell. The staff was outstanding and very friendly. Rooms were very nice and very clean. We ate in the little sports bar inside the hotel several nights and the waiter we had was great. He was very knowledgable about the area and gave us some great ideas for places to see. We had 2 -15 year old boys with us and they had a great time as well. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelindaS373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMGR1, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments regarding Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. It’s always great to receive positive feedback regarding our associates. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#10 of 134 in Jacksonville
2,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
7.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Jacksonville Deerwood Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
7.5 mi away
Aloft Jacksonville Tapestry Park
Aloft Jacksonville Tapestry Park
#11 of 134 in Jacksonville
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Address: 225 E Coastline Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202-5458
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#23 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#33 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range: £107 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 963
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the lifestyle and landscape of the real Florida at our Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront hotel. Set along the St. Johns River within the heart of the city’s business, entertainment and sports districts, our outstanding downtown Jacksonville hotel is adjacent to the Jacksonville Landing, a hotspot for dining & entertainment, and within minutes of famous white sand beaches, championship golf courses, EverBank Field, water sports, museums and arts venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel Jacksonville
Hyatt Jacksonville Riverfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing