We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, pricy extras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Ranked #11 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, pricy extras”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

My two night stay for a recent business trip was perfectly nice. My room was large, pleasantly decorated, with a comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. The hotel has an excellent fitness room and beautiful rooftop pool, with lots of nice touches like complimentary headsets for the fitness room. All the staff were friendly, courteous and responsive. As seems to be often the case, the more expensive the hotel, the more expensive the extras are - breakfast and parking were expensive, and there's no free in-room internet. It's also a very large hotel with a somewhat confusing layout - I got lost looking for the Einstein bagel shop which is at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Va_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMgr9, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, 31 July 2009
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed our fitness center and beautiful view from our rooftop pool.
We appreciate your comments regarding internet and breakfast prices, these will be shared with our management team for consideration.
On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your stay and warmly welcome you back on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,271
    857
    421
    167
    86
See reviews for
445
524
93
1,397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southeast
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

The Hyatt on Jacksonville's Riversfront was a nice hotel. The rooms were as pictured on their website. The staff are absolutely wonderful. The hotel has a few restaurants downstairs (lobby level) as well as within walking distance to The Landing (less than 5 mins walking!) Since the hotel was the host hotel for the conference, meals were provided. The meals were tasty for the most part but breakfast could have been improved. However, the courtesy of the staff and the comfort of the rooms were great. Although it was what I considered to be a little 'expensive', I think anyone would enjoy the view of the river and the locale of the business district.(The hotel is in the downtown area). Some of the cons would include paying for the Internet service (even in the business center), the store downstairs is expensive, and rooms could become 'stuffy' at times (even with air conditioner).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frugaldiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMgr9, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, 31 July 2009
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront. We are pleased that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, and our professional staff.
Our management team is constantly looking for ways to improve the overall guest experience, so we thank you for your suggestions regarding prices in different areas of the hotel.
We sincerely hope that you will be our guest again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2009

With not feeling welcome in this 4 star hotel, The room was average but smaller than expected. They tried to charge the owner of the company I was with $350 for saying we smoked cigarettes in the room which was certainly not true. One towel and really bad view I was not satisfied...Not to mention the revolving door that was broke and kept repeating "the door is ajar." The man rapping Vanilla Ice in the lobby was awesome....

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReverandJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMgr9, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
The management of the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville would like to thank you for your valuable feedback.
Our hotel hotel takes guest feedback seriously and will address the concerns that you shared.
Should you desire to communicate your concerns in greater depth, please contact qualityjaxrj@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Park, FL
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2009

My husband and I stayed at the hYatt for a weekend retreat. The room was lovely, and clean. It was definitely worth paying extra top have a riverview. Our room faced the blue bridge which lights up at night, made for a beautiful view. The rooftop pool is great, and the hotel has an outstanding fitness center. There were restaurants within walking distance. All fo the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. A great stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM5764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattMgr9, Manager at Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront, responded to this review, 22 July 2009
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront.
We appreciate your comments regarding the river view, pool/fitness center and the staff that you encountered.
We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I stayed at this Hyatt for two days while on business. While this is a great location, this hotel is rather pricey for what you get. Most hotels now offer free internet service as well as breakfast. There is a charge for internet in your room and everything is extra. All of this adds up. I will stay across the river next time at the Hampton Inn, where at least you are not paying for all the extras. With over 950+ rooms, it takes you forever to actually get to your room or an elevator, especially in the morning..

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationlady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sayreville,new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2009

I traveled to jacksonville for a weekend and chose the hyatt because of its good rep. When my boyfriend and I arrived the hotel seemed clean and well kept, it looked like a pretty nice place.
The first room we booked winded up being a bit small, so the next was a suite, this winded up being a bit expensive but totally worth it. The room was great, clean and very cozy. The pool area was nice and maintained well (the pool was on the roof) the gym was average and the food at the restaurants was great but a bit pricy. For the same price we stood in bed and ordered room service.
Overall the hotel was nice (the atlanta Falcons stood there the same weekend so it had to be top notch). If your willing to spend some money this is top pick compaired to the other hotles in Jacksonville.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBorges526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2009

One of the worst Hyatt Hotels I have ever stayed at. Was there for an education conference and while there was plenty of room, the amenities were horrendous. The chairs for the meetings were the most uncomfortable I have seen. The hot tub was broken and we were told there was no plan to fix it. I was charged $ 30 per night for an upgrade while someone in the same party was charged only $ 20. Our gold club membership was not credited. We were charged for each room (4 Rooms) when we only had two rentals. They could not understand that we only had two vehicles. The area around the hotel is very dangerous and the Jacksonville Landing has definately seen better days. Many shops have closed, was there for a concert and it looked like a drunken junior high school party. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagletraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#12 of 133 in Jacksonville
1,933 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
7.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Jacksonville Deerwood Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
0.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront

Property: Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
Address: 225 E Coastline Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32202-5458
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Jacksonville
#23 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#25 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#35 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront 4*
Number of rooms: 963
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the essence of the lifestyle and landscape of the real Florida at our Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront hotel. Set along the St. Johns River within the heart of the city’s business, entertainment and sports districts, our outstanding downtown Jacksonville hotel is adjacent to the Jacksonville Landing, a hotspot for dining & entertainment, and within minutes of famous white sand beaches, championship golf courses, EverBank Field, water sports, museums and arts venues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront Hotel Jacksonville
Hyatt Jacksonville Riverfront

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing