We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for just one night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport
Ranked #83 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Harrisville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for just one night”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel is close to the airport and many places to eat. So the location is great. The hotel is so-so. We stayed for one night and that was plenty. We were assigned a room and the first thing we noticed was a musty, wet dog smell. My son took off his shoes and stepped in a puddle on the rug. He wiped his foot and we discovered it was urine,,,, we will assume pet. We asked to change rooms . This one smelled a little better. The room was in great need of updating. The bed was awful, very hard and flat pillows. I opened the bureau and found filth and hair in it. I would never put my clothes in it. I would not stay at this hotel again. There are many other hotels in the area I would stay at .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fcl394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    37
    30
    26
    38
See reviews for
50
31
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is my 2nd trip to this hotel ... stayed last year on way down south ... was comfortable and felt safe. Many restaurants to choose from to eat. Right off I-95 for easy on and off access. Friendly and concerned staff. Thanks ... see ya in a year

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta,Georgia,USA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while visiting relatives. We had a king handicapped room, These rooms have very large bathrooms, smaller desks, flat screen tv, comfortable bed, refrigerator, microwave, clean, The property is right next to I-95 and very close to the airport, but you rarely hear any planes and no traffic noise. These rooms must be soundproofed. We never heard anyone above us or next door either and they were occupied. There is a single serve coffee maker, complete with coffee and fixins. The property is very neat and has lots of tropical plants and trees. You can also get coffee and a newspaper in the lobby. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. This room had been renovated since our last stay.

Room Tip: We have stayed here 3 times and in different areas, all are the same as described except the handica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We appreciate you noticing the super things we are doing and working on at the Inn. I will share you positive comments with my staff and I hope we will see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Team at RRI#81 Jacksonville (Airport), FL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The facility was NO problem, the additional $400 charge on our credit card WAS A HUGE PROBLEM/SCAM!! The fact that we received no prior notice of this additional charge would lead one to assume that this facility DID NOT wish for us to know about the charge while counting on the hope that we would not check our credit card statement and just absorb the charge. After numerous calls to the facility, I was informed that this charge was added because "....the TV was damaged" We are an elderly couple who NEVER turn on, let alone damage, a motel TV! When I contacted the Red Roof corporate office to relate this unfortunate incident, I was finally connected to the Director Of Guest Relations who appeared to be less than concerned about our unfortunate situation with one of his locations. This conversation was several months ago with zero follow-up on his part. I subsequently disputed the $400 charge with Visa who immediately credited back the charge. MORAL: ALWAYS check your credit card statements!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aripinupstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
I am writing to thank you for your open and honest feedback and to offer you my sincerest apologies for the issues you and your family encountered during your stayed with us. Please rest assured that I will be following up with my entire team to ensure that situations such as those mentioned do not occur in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you give us another chance on your next travel needs.

Sincerely,
Mery Lugo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

When evaluating places where I stay, I always adjust my expectations according to the property and the purpose of the trip. I booked the Red Roof Inn Jacksonville Airport as a stopover while my cat and I were traveling from the Washington, D.C. region to Miami. Its convenient location off Interstate 95, its pet-friendliness and a cheap price were the main factors in my decision.

The hotel itself is tucked away at the end of an access road. The location is close to the interstate, but I wasn't bothered by noise. I stayed in room No. 103, which is next to the office. I was able to park just outside the door, which made loading and unloading extremely convenient.

The room was generally clean and well-equipped, with a flat-panel television that included two HBO channels, an in-room safe and free wifi, which worked sporadically. However, at this price, which was less than $60, I wasn't complaining.

The bed was more comfortable than I expected and the shower had copious amounts of hot water. The sheets themselves had obviously been washed many times and were leaning toward being threadbare, but they were also soft.

Some of the surfaces in the room were a bit dusty, but I don't fault housekeeping too much in a place like this, where the pressure to turn over the rooms must be high. Generally, I was pleased with the cleanliness.

The employees at check-in and check-out were also friendly.

It's a convenient spot if you need to rest your head while traveling the I-95 corridor.

Room Tip: First-floor rooms make loading and unloading the car easier. Request rooms on the opposite end of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenhavenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest survey. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Jacksonville –Airport Red Roof Inn.
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.
Sincerely,
Mery Lugo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I spent one night here in late April 2013. I was disappointed to find that it would cost $9 to get a cab to the airport. I did not see this mentioned on the Expedia website nor on http://www.redroof.com/. Travelodge Inn (nearby) has a shuttle and they are upfront that they charge $2 each way. I would have preferred that Red Roof Inn be equally upfront. The airport is only 2 miles away and might be a pleasant walk, but I had a bad leg.

When I arrived early evening, I tried to run a bath to soak my swollen calf, which I had injured on my bike from San Diego. The water was not hot enough. With the hot water full on (no cold) it was barely OK for a shower. I called the lady at the front desk and she expressed surprise as the hotel wing out back (where I was - room 125) had few people. I tried the bath later that night and the next morning- not much better. In fairness, people wanting only a shower (which probably means 99% of the visitors) would probably be OK with the water temperature.

There were no amenities in the room, such as coffee maker, refrigerator or microwave. (I think one can get these if one pays more - I paid $50 total). Coffee is available in the lobby. There was a safe for which one had to pay $1.50 per night. I did not use the outside pool.

The room faced the back woods which was pleasant. It was also clean and quiet.

The next day I walked the 200 yds or so to the other side of the highway to await the bus, which runs about hourly. It normally costs $4.50 but is free for seniors (60+) so I paid nothing. Crossing the highway is a little tricky as there is no pedestrian crossing. But if one waits a watches the traffic patterns, it is fine.

There is a Dennys on the N side and a Subway on the south. Also several good convenience stores, with decaf and regular coffee. With one's own mug, any size qualifies as a refill and costs about $1.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimSeattle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Valued Guest:
I am writing to thank you for your open and honest feedback and to offer you my sincerest apologies for the issues you and your family encountered during your stayed with us. Please rest assured that I will be following up with my entire team to ensure that situations such as those mentioned do not occur in the future. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you give us another chance on your next travel needs.

Sincerely,
Mery Lugo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammond, Louisiana
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

While traveling from Savannah to New Orleans we noticed a billboard advertising Red Roof Inn just off the Interstate and decided to check it out. The rate was quite low and the room itself was more than adequate. The room had been recently renovated and has a nice flat screen TV. We found the bedding to be quite comfortable. The room was clean but really didn't have a lot of amenities, which is to be expected in a "budget" motel. One major complaint that I have with all the Red Roof Inns is that they charge a $1.50 for a safe which we never need. I told the checkin clerk that we were not going to use the safe in advance and was told that I had to tell them at checkout. Unfortunately, upon checking out I forgot to tell them so the $1.50 was added to my bill. I submitted a review to Red Roof and was given a phone call right away, withing minutes of my review submission and was told the $1.50 would be credited to my account. I don't know if it has or not but at least the effort was made so they do respond to comments. I would recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas W, General Manager at Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. It is truly appreciated. We always enjoy hearing about our guests and their experiences. We look forward to seeing you next time and thank you for your loyalty!

Sincerely,

Mery Lugo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Jacksonville Airport
0.4 mi away
Jacksonville Plaza Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Jacksonville Airport
Days Inn Jacksonville Airport
#51 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Airport
Quality Inn Airport
#70 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Airport
Comfort Suites Airport
#39 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Jacksonville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport

Property: Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport
Address: 1063 Airport Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32218-6885
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Red Roof Inn, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn - Jacksonville Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Jacksonville
Jacksonville Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing