We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prices, Good place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Ranked #105 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewed 11 May 2012

If looking in this area, you cant beat the prices for a comfortable nite's stay...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8central, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

We are glad you had a great stay with us at our Super 8 and we look forward of seeing you on your next visit in Jacksonville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

Comfortable enough, but the room stank of mouldy carpets. Might opt to pay the extra $10 for another place next time. But the service was fantastic. The guy there was very friendly. Oh, no internet in rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deviinthedetail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8central, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

We apologize for the unpleasant odor you experienced, however we do have our carpets cleaned professionaly every four months. When a problem like this arises it is best to bring it to our attention immediately so we can better accomodate you. We hope you will give us a second chance to prove ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

As always J took good care of us during our stay. April 13-16. Our Masonic. Conference was great , but J made it all better. We will always stay there.
Al

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpdog32301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8central, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Mr. Simmons, It is always a pleasure to have you and your group here at our Super 8. If there is anything I can do for your group in July, please let me know. I look forward to see you in a couple of months, and as always, the pool will be ready for your group when you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just wanted to say I recently stayed here and I have to say I was super happy with my stay. If I am ever traveling around that area again I am probably going to book here again. I loved it because of the price, but everyone was super nice to me and my fiance' and if they knocked on the room they wanted to know if we needed towels etc. The whole staff had smiles on there faces and that always a plus. Super nice people and I very much apprecaite it. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8central, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. I do work with my staff to ensure our guest receive excellent customer service. We look forward to see you and your fiance' on your next visit to Jacksonville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Good location for an overnight stop or for checking out central Jacksonville. Really nice staff who were very helpful when i wanted to change the booking.
Clean, fresh smelling rooms with all advertised amenities and comfortable beds.
Only downside for me was the poor internet connection. It's free and easy to connect to but very slow.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose77423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8central, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for choosing our Super 8 in Jacksonville. We try our best to make sure our guest have a good experience with there stay with us. We have resolved the issue with the wireless internet and I do want to apologize for that inconvenience. We look forward of serving you on your next trip to Jacksonville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Check-in was fast and the clerk even checked my room to be sure there was internet access. (It was - however - poor and I actually connected with the hotel across the street!!). Otherwise the room was clean and the mini-fridge worked well as did the heat (yes, heat!). There is the usual coffee maker, ironing board/iron, & hair dryer available. The breakfast was typical 8 fare - fine with me. Considering the price, I was very happy with the room. DRIVERS BE CAREFUL: - depending on the I-95 SOUTH off ramp you may pass the entrance to the motel. Make a right turn at the next street and go around the block to the entrance/office.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
Thank MJGoldfarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8central, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us on your trip to Jacksonville. Your input means a lot to us and I do want to let you know that we have resulted to Wifi problem so you should have no issues with the wireless internet on your next stay with us. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Jacksonville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

The room smelled like urine and there was mold on the carpet by the air conditioner as well as in the bathroom. They gave us keys to 2 different rooms - definitly a security risk. If it had not been so late and we had not been so tired we would have kept driving. The staff was nice but the hotel was aweful!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1maybei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8central, General Manager at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thank you for staying us and I do apologize for the inconvenience you had at our hotel. Because of our humidity in the summer time we make the effort to keep our capets and air conditons clean. We hope you will give us another chance here at our Super 8 next time in Jacksonville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.9 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#85 of 134 in Jacksonville
115 reviews
1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
4.8 mi away
Tricove Inn & Suites
Tricove Inn & Suites
#74 of 134 in Jacksonville
80 reviews
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Jacksonville South / Near Memorial Hospital
Days Inn Jacksonville South / Ne...
#113 of 134 in Jacksonville
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown

Address: 2228 Philips Hwy, I-95 & Phillips Hwy Exit 105, Jacksonville, FL 32207-3590 (Formerly Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range: £46 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown is located near the heart of Jacksonville, and only a short drive from it's beaches. Our hotel has all the amenities needed for business travelers as well as visitors spending vacation time here in Jacksonville. Our rooms are spacious and clean and provide the atmosphere you expect when traveling away from home on business or pleasure. Our location provides you with easy access to all areas of the city and is close to all the major highways that run through Jacksonville. (I95, I10, US1)The hotel is conveniently located to all Downtown & Southbank businesses, all Downtown venues including Altel Stadium (which hosts the Jaguars, the Gator Bowl, and stadium concerts), the Baseball Stadium (which hosts Minor League & college baseball), the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena, the Convention Center, the Performing Arts Center, The Florida Theatre, Metropolitan Park, and the Riverfront Landing with it's shoppes, restuarants and nightlife.We are also close to all the major hospitals in the area including Baptist Medical Center, Nemours, Wolfson & Shands Hospitals and are walking distance from the unique Historic San Marco Area with it's ecelctic style of shoppes, restuarants and area history.Our hotel and staff make your stay a pleasure, providing you with all the essentials you need to make your stay a comfortable one. Our rooms are spacious 2 Double or Kings, with complimentary Deluxe Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet, full Cable television (including HBO, ESPN & Premium Channels), Microwave/Refrigerator available based on availability, Coffee Maker, Work Stations, and much more! All at a price you can afford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Jacksonville
Super 8 Jacksonville
Jacksonville Super 8
Jacksonville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing