We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Motel should be shut down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Ranked #102 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Valdosta, Georgia
2 reviews
“This Motel should be shut down.”
Reviewed 12 September 2010

I booked this hotel thru Hotwire.com. My sisters and I stayed, we had to change rooms four times. The motel do not have enough equipment to for each room. Not enough T.V.s, mattess, towels, wash clothes, It was not in the downtown area. It was cheap and that is what we got. I will never stay their again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dap45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8central, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown, responded to this review, 19 November 2010
I want to apologize for the inconvenience you had at our hotel. Our rooms are equipt with Iron/Iron Boards, Coffee Maker, Alarm Clock, Hairdryer, Full Cable TV with premium channel, and Mirowave and Refridgerator(based on availability). Each of our rooms have 3 sets of towels and if a guest needs more we have it at the front desk. We have New Mattress's in all rooms that were installed a year and half ago. It is unusual that you had this experience at our hotel and would like to talk to you about it. You can email me at super8central@gmail.com or call the hotel at (904)396-4090 and ask for Jay. Once again I do apologize for the inconvenience and hope we can sort this matter out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    27
    37
    32
    52
See reviews for
51
35
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morrisburg, On Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2009

From the moment we checked in until we left it was really nice experience. We needed something and we were taken care of right away. Only complaint which is minor is they need an elevator or closer stairs.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MommyTravel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Room - Clean, no issues
Location - Quite poor, no public transport, 45 min walk to central Jacksonville, no nightlife mid-week
Security - Isolated motel, good security
Wifi - in-room, excellent quality
Good service and value overall

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2008

It was confusing finding this hotel because you have to go around another hotel to get there. When we arrived, there was a cop in the parking lot so we were wondering about the area. But we found out that he was only there to use the restroom. The rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast was ok. Waffles or something would make it better. Great rooms for the price. The hotel was close to downtown which was perfect for us. I was happy overall.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bluerhino22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2008

After reading the other reviews, I can't believe we stayed at the same place! We stayed at this hotel form the FSU game last weekend. Thankfully it was only for one night, anymore and we would have slept in the car.

This hotel is filthy. You can smell the mildew the minute you walk in to the lobby. The room wasn't any better, the tub was dirty and the toilet barely flushed. The towels were hard and the bed linens were stained. It is in a scary part of town, right beside a bridge and near a train track. There didn't seem to be any type of security other than the occasional police cruiser that drove around. The parking lot was filled with beer bottles and cigarette butts and wasn't swept while we were there. There were drunk partiers banging on the doors until around 2:00 AM.

Needless to say, we slept on our beach towels. It was awful, but we were trapped. They charge a full night plus penalty if you try and leave. The night's cost was doubled because of the football game.

Don't go here, pay the extra $ for the Hyatt!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RottyKingsFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

I wasn't sure what to expect when we got there, the lobby didn't really look like the pictures on the website, and gave us the impression that maybe we should have picked another place to stay... but we checked in anyway, and were pleasantly surprised when we walked into the room.. it was extremely clean. We're told that it's not the best part of town, but we only stayed overnight because we came for the football game. It was perfect for our needs.

  • Liked — It was very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krimicri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Riverwalk
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
0.9 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#83 of 133 in Jacksonville
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown

Property: Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown
Address: 2228 Phillips Hwy, I-95 & Phillips Hwy Exit 105, Jacksonville, FL 32207-3590 (Formerly Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown is located near the heart of Jacksonville, and only a short drive from it's beaches. Our hotel has all the amenities needed for business travelers as well as visitors spending vacation time here in Jacksonville. Our rooms are spacious and clean and provide the atmosphere you expect when traveling away from home on business or pleasure. Our location provides you with easy access to all areas of the city and is close to all the major highways that run through Jacksonville. (I95, I10, US1)The hotel is conveniently located to all Downtown & Southbank businesses, all Downtown venues including Altel Stadium (which hosts the Jaguars, the Gator Bowl, and stadium concerts), the Baseball Stadium (which hosts Minor League & college baseball), the Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena, the Convention Center, the Performing Arts Center, The Florida Theatre, Metropolitan Park, and the Riverfront Landing with it's shoppes, restuarants and nightlife.We are also close to all the major hospitals in the area including Baptist Medical Center, Nemours, Wolfson & Shands Hospitals and are walking distance from the unique Historic San Marco Area with it's ecelctic style of shoppes, restuarants and area history.Our hotel and staff make your stay a pleasure, providing you with all the essentials you need to make your stay a comfortable one. Our rooms are spacious 2 Double or Kings, with complimentary Deluxe Breakfast, Free High Speed Wireless Internet, full Cable television (including HBO, ESPN & Premium Channels), Microwave/Refrigerator available based on availability, Coffee Maker, Work Stations, and much more! All at a price you can afford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Jacksonville
Super 8 Jacksonville
Jacksonville Super 8
Jacksonville Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing