We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good Candlewood Suites in Jacksonville”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Candlewood Suites East Merril Road
Ranked #70 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, GA
Level Contributor
205 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Pretty good Candlewood Suites in Jacksonville”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I stayed here with my family last week and it was a nice hotel overall, but I've stayed at nicer Candlewood Suites in other areas that have better hospitality, and a better in house DVD / movie collections. Otherwise everything was great. The hotel is right off I295 on the East Side of Jacksonville and fairly close to the Beach and about 10 to 15 minutes from the Zoo. There is a Publix right next to the hotel too and there are restaurants relatively close. Pricing is pretty good and they have a large pantry you can charge items to your room if you get hungry or thirsty at any hour. I've stayed at nicer hotels in Jacksonville, but there is nothing bad or that would keep me away from here if I needed to stay here again. Also if you are scared of larger bridges there is a fairly larger suspension bridge just north of the hotel on I295 you might have to go across to get to the hotel unless you plan to go around it to one of the other many bridges in Jacksonville going across the river. You can go to google street view to see it if you need too. Please vote this review helpful if it helped you in any way. Thanks!

Room Tip: Rooms have a DVD player so bring your DVD's if you want to because the hotel's collection is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wofiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodSuitesJax, General Manager at Candlewood Suites East Merril Road, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Thank for taking time to share your experience at our hotel. Our hotel service team really appreciate your in depth review of our services. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward for the opportunity to provide great hospitality service during your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    16
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
19
23
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Wonderful experience. We were travelling from Kissimmee to Jacksonville to go on a cruise and booked here originally because they offered a cruise package. It was very difficult to get a phone number to talk to this location but once we did we found out not to bother with the cruise package because our stay was over Sunday night and they do not serve breakfast on Mon. morning (part of the package), that we could leave our car there for free while we cruised without buying the cruise package, and that the shuttle (taxi actually) was the same price with or without the package. So just get a regular room people. The room had a full size fridge, dishwasher, microwave, coffee maker, toaster and two burners. We had been at a resort with kitchen previously and brought along enough of our leftovers to make up breakfast in that kitchen. We were really pleased with this room and would definitely stay at a Candlewood Suite hotel again. The room was clean. There was a flat screen TV and a DVD player with a selection of DVDs in the lobby to borrow. Free laundry on the main floor. Outdoor pool. Our nephews were in the pool almost immediately but we found there was almost no shade mid afternoon on and it was very hot sitting there to supervise them. I'd suggest a few more tables with umbrellas would be good. (There was just one which just didn't provide enough shade.) The location is close to a strip mall with a Publix and there are restaurants around (saw Golden Corral and subway in walking distance. We were going to call a taxi for pick up in the morning to the pier but took a drive out that way and saw the $8 day cruise parking lot at the port gate. There were 7 of us with a car and a mini van so we left our car at the hotel and our niece drove us to the parking lot with our luggage and then went back and got everyone else with their luggage and we just parked the mini van there while on the cruise. Cheaper than probably two taxis for 7 people. All in all, a great place to stay. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor and our niece and her family were on the 1st floor. Both were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodSuitesJax, Manager at Candlewood Suites East Merril Road, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
All members our team really appreciated that you spared time for writing a detailed feed back/comments on your stay at our hotel. We have carefully reviewed it and will make your next stay even better!
Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

What a fantastic hotel. Great,comfortable bed, free guest laundry, fully equipped kitchen. Close walk to shops and free parking.

Water pressure was good and room was clean. This hotel gets our highest rating for our month in the USA.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EvanKatesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodSuitesJax, Front Office Manager at Candlewood Suites East Merril Road, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for choosing our location here in East Jacksonville,FL. It was a pleasure having you and were glad we made your visit great,please come visit us again thank you once again;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Clean, good sized room, welcoming and helpful reception. There is a mini-mart off the lobby. The hotel is well located to the beaches and the major thoroughfares. There is a fitness center which we did not try out. Close to Hana Park which is a good way to spend a day on the beach. Numerous restaurants are in the immediate area. Would stay here again and will look for this chain when we travel elsewhere. One can get Holiday Inn Priority points here.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor if possible, the floors are a little thin should you get a noisy upstair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank faulkner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodSuitesJax, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites East Merril Road, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for choosing Candlewood Suites here in East Jax,FL. we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and facilities at this location we look forward to serving you once again.
Thank you and have a fantastic day/evening
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

No need to hesitate staying here, great location minutes from beach and popular areas like Towne center. Great staff, clean updated rooms, free wifi, free laundry, free coffee and the cubbard with necessities and food you may need. Candlewood suites are my first choice for value and price while traveling and this location was no disappointment in any way enough that I became a IHG rewards member that provides points during stays to be used for numerous purchases.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodSuitesJax, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites East Merril Road, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel,we were pleased to have you as our guest and we look forward to serving you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WNY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were camping and experienced a cold snap and decided to head for the comforts of a hotel. Most hotels were booked so we ended up here. I was unfamiliar with the brand, but decided to give it a try. We were not disappointed. The kitchen was excellent and we were able to eat in as we wanted. The free laundry was wonderful. Staff was very helpful and the exercise facility was great. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilItalyWNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandlewoodSuitesJax, Manager at Candlewood Suites East Merril Road, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Our guest service and house keeping team members appreciate your reviews. We are extremely pleased to know that your stay at hotel was very comfortable. We look forward to see at our hotel in near future. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultrie, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I travel to work in Jacksonville often,sometimes for weeks at a time,and always stay at this hotel.Although right off the highway it is in a quiet cul-de-sac and only a short walk from a nice Golden Corral restaurant and Publix supermarket.My room is always clean and fresh when I get in from work.There is a nice kitchenette where I can cook a little something if I don't feel like walking to the Golden Corral.The laundry is clean and a small convience store in the lobby is nice if I want a snack at night.The staff is great,friendly and helpful.They always try to give me my same room when I come back.My wife visits on some weekends and says she knows that the staff here will take good care of me.I recommend this hotel to family and friends traveling to JAX on vacation too.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeR565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Jacksonville I-295 East
WoodSpring Suites Jacksonville I...
#84 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Jacksonville I-295/East Beltway
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville East Regency Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island
7.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#42 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites East Merril Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites East Merril Road

Property: Candlewood Suites East Merril Road
Address: 2700 Jane St, Jacksonville, FL 32225-4812
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites East Merril Road 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Candlewood Suites Jacksonville, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet. Candlewood Suites Jacksonville is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream. Candlewood Suites Jacksonville provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites East Merril Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites East Merril Road Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing