We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to spend three hours”

Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 172 things to do in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 73-acre park is the only zoo in Florida's northeast.
Cocoa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend three hours”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Spent the morning at the zoo. Best time go get there is at opening the when. All the animals are awake after feeding. Will take you about three hours to cover all the continental loops. May not see a whole lot of animals as this zoo is not large but it does also have a login of plant and garden life to check out,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe32926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,625
    725
    138
    41
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great zoo!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This was a great way to spend an afternoon. We visited with four people, the youngest a teenager, and she was most animated about all that she saw (husband and I went with zoo members). I believe it's one of her favorite days out. For the most part, the animals were very active in a good way. The animals are well cared for: there was only one who looked distressed, but we couldn't figure out why. The reptiles, amphibians, and lorakeet exhibits were very nicely done. Wasn't able to feed the giraffes, but did go to Stingray Bay to play with the stingrays.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank escape2anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Jacksonville Zoo”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

This was the best zoo my husband and I have ever been to! Their reptile exhibit was awesome! They have an anaconda! Its only two dollars to get into stingray bay and only one dollar to feed the giraffes! We went an hour after they opended and the animals were very active! In case anyone hasnt heard though, their black jaguar has passed away. On a happier note, they have started to let the baby jaguar and its mother out for people to see!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandabear103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“really a world class zoo, packed in a one day visit”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I have been to the zoo many times, it has gone from little more than a collection of caged animals, to a truly world class facility.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardLamb1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our family has visited a handful of zoos over the past few years and the Jacksonville Zoo definitely competes with the zoos of some of the larger cities. I found this zoo to be more enjoyable than the Atlanta Zoo and on par with, if not better than Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo.

The areas and enclosures for the animals appear to be expansive with good upkeep. The exhibits are fun and some interactive (like the stingray touch-tanks and giraffe feeding area).

One thing I really liked about this zoo is the size of it and how the exhibits are laid out. Every corner seems to lead to a new path/exhibit. As we toured, we didn't look at the map just to surprise ourselves with what's around the corner. Towards the end, we found the Japanese Gardens, which was a beautiful exhibit that the wife really enjoyed walking through.

A couple suggestions: This is a large zoo, wear good walking shoes. Also, be prepared to sweat if the temps are above 85. If you don't like the heat (like I don't) then either go in the early morning when it first opens (also for smaller crowds) or go during the fall/winter. Also, the restaurant that looks into the jaguar exhibit can get crowded during busy lunch hours. It can also get busy and loud if the jaguars come to the windows in the restaurant, which typically results in a lot of eager on lookers trying to get a better view.

I plan on visiting this zoo again on a more regular basis with the kids - but will avoid going during the summer months.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DutchOvenDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing