We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful zoo & gardens”

Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens
Ranked #2 of 168 things to do in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 73-acre park is the only zoo in Florida's northeast.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful zoo & gardens”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We recently went to the zoo & it was a glorious day. We took the train & purchased tickets for the stingray exhibit. When you run you hands over these velvety creatures you are amazed by their speed and sweetness. We watched a jaguar & her 4 month old frolic & play for almost an hour. What a fun and wonderful place to go & relax.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patty-cake27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,572
    710
    134
    40
    24
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a few hours”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My girlfriend and I went to the Jax Zoo on a drizzly Friday afternoon, and we had an excellent time. Spent the extra money for the "value" pass, which got us unlimited train rides, along with access to the Stingray Bay and 4d movie/ride experience. Feeding the stingrays was def a thrill!

This zoo isn't too large or too small, and can easily be explored in several hours. The walkways were easy to traverse, and very well kept. While all of the exhibits were interesting, South America was phenomenal. Definitely a must see.

Tiger exhibit coming soon!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice zoo!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I visited for the first time in November 2013. While the Jacksonville Zoo might come up short when compared to a zoo like San Diego, it's a very nice and well thought out attraction. It has a nice "flow" between different types of animals, and the animal habitats are large and well-maintained. There's ample room for photographers to get shots of the animals, and the whole setup lends itself well to both casual strolling or finding a specific animal. They have what I'd guess to be a few thousand animals, putting them on par with Lowry Park and Miami, but fewer than Busch Gardens. They have some in-zoo attractions (which require an additional fee) like a train, carousel, 4D theater, and stingray petting. You can purchase these separately, or get a wristband along with your ticket for a single additional fee. The animals are well-cared for. My one disappointment was not being able to see any of the jaguars, but they seemed to be hiding. I was there for 1/2 day, and did not cover everything (by choice - for example, I had no desire to stroll through the aviary). All in all, it's a very good zoo, and well worth the price of admission!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have been to many Zoos over the US, and this Zoo definitely needs some work. The train is an extra fee to ride. The park over all seems to be clean of trash. However, the literature signs need to replaced with new ones. The glass on the exhibits need to be cleaned. One exhibit we came across had a large turtle which lives in the water and the exhibit was way too small for the turtle. Over all the park was clean, they just need to do some cosmetic work on the park.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend three hours”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Spent the morning at the zoo. Best time go get there is at opening the when. All the animals are awake after feeding. Will take you about three hours to cover all the continental loops. May not see a whole lot of animals as this zoo is not large but it does also have a login of plant and garden life to check out,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe32926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Jacksonville Zoo & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing