We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East
Ranked #53 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Jamestown, Kentucky
1 review
“Hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This was very clean nice and up dated. Enjoyed staying at this hotel. The bed was wonderful, Not much noise and the clerks were very helpful. The location was very close to the beach and to the Mayo Clinic.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetiejean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    66
    18
    10
    7
See reviews for
69
25
8
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2013

From the friendly voice of Emily on the phone call (once I found this on Google Maps) to make the reservation, to the wonderful man named CC that serves breakfast, and Lets not forget Heather on the desk today helping with towels and directions!! This will probably be my "home away from home" for the next few years while my child is in college! I expect to be making several trips to this area. The room is lovely but the staff really make this place outstanding!! The Hotel IS tucked away and I can see how you might not be able to find the road into it but it is well worth finding, This is so far the friendliest staff I have ever had anywhere and I have traveled a lot!! Thank You!! We will be back!! J

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank You Joann for your great review. We are pleased to hear your stay was nothing but awesome! I will be sure to let all they staff members you mentioned know your kind words. We can't wait to have you back in sunny Jacksonville.

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We had a change in plans and needed a room for one night. We weren't concerned about proximity to the beach, just wanted a nice clean room in a safe neighborhood. We drove through the neighborhood behind the hotel. It was quiet so we stayed.

The staff was terrific. The hotel looks really nice and the bed was comfortable. While the room wasn't exactly 100% spotless, we didn't recoil in fear or disgust.

The room was spacious, the hotel was quiet. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank You for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We are pleased to here you got to enjoy yourself. I will make sure to let the staff know your kind words and hope to see you back in sunny Jacksonville.

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our Carnival Cruise on the Fascination. Great location! Just minutes from Jaxport. Nothing close except Wendy's next door.. We drove about 15 minutes back down interstate and found a lot of chain restaurants like Chilis and Red Lobster. The check in time was quick but they made you wait until exactly 4:00 before you could go to your room. Our room was clean but it's older but good for money. It was 68.00 per night plus taxes. Pool was nice but small. Great for a one night stay. Breakfast was ok. They had a pancake machine and eggs with frozen type biscuits. They had yogurt and bagels but they were stale. It's good enough to get your belly full before cruise. No one asked us if we liked our stay or thanked us for staying. We just handed them the key and that was it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkmgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
Dear rkmgreen,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad that you found our hotel to be conveniently located.

I am sorry to learn taht we were not able to give you an exemplary service upon check in. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience this has caused you and for any shortcomings you had in your room.

Guest comfort are of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. With this in mind, your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future improvements. Once again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Not right on the beach, but 3-4 miles away. Too far too walk, bike yes! The hotel was clean, staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the front desk attendant, Arianna. She was so helpful with tourist ideas, eating and dining ideas and overall made our stay so nice. Tanks so much to her.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eah1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather L, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at our location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to have you back! Anytime you are in Jacksonville hopefully we can be your preferred hotel.

Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Although the website for this hotel says it is new, it is a misleading statement. The hotel is new to HI Express but it is not a new hotel --- in fact, the outline of the old signage is evident around the HI sign. The property is a bit worn but it is clean. It is actually located behind a car dealer so you must turn onto a road next to the business and drive down to the hotel entrance. Sounds do travel between rooms as noted in other reviews. The location is close to restaurants but it is difficult to get into or out of the property if you don't know the long "short cut" through the residential area behind it -- directions we were given by the front desk when we asked if there was a better way to exit the property. There is no way you could make a fast exit or a left-hand turn during a busy time of day. The breakfast was typical of HI Express buffets. It was well stocked, the hot food was hot, and the area was kept clean. The price was good for a hotel to rest from a travel day but wasn't a hotel I'd choose for several days' stay. We were leaving on a cruise the next da, and the port was an easy drive. We probably won't stay in this hotel if we cruise out of Jacksonville in the future.

.

Room Tip: We had no major problems in a room that was at the end of the first floor hallway by a locked exit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandiDothan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear SandiDothan,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am glad that you noticed the cleanliness of our property. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the hotel's location. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

First let me start with the positives: great location, good employees, very clean, nice rooms. However, all of that was severely overshadowed by the amount of noise disturbances that we incurred! Firstly, the walls of this hotel are extremely thin. Unfortunately, we had some horribly noisy neighbors that made this ever worse. We stayed for four nights total. The first night our next door neighbors were having a very vocal fight. Since we were traveling with children and it was quite late, we declined to call the front desk. The next night these same neighbors had their TV blasting. Third night, the people above us were banging on the floors. Not sure what they were doing: sounded like a cross between rearranging furniture or restaging some war battle. We called the front office this time and they seemed to handle it. Fourth night was the best: a combination of all three issues. I finally went to the front office directly. TV didn't stop next door and neither did the banging. We called again from the room and this time the banging stopped but nothing was quieted from our neighbors; therefore, we had the pleasure of hearing another epic fight and I now know that the gentleman in the room enjoys listening to "Somewhere over the Rainbow" at 4:30AM. We were told that they would see what they could do for us because of all the disruption. In the morning, bill came and nothing was done.
The purpose of a hotel is for convenience and a good night's sleep; while we had one, we surely did not get the other. I hate to review this hotel poorly as it has so much going for it, but the noise was out of control and the resolution was subpar.

Room Tip: Top floor, corner rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Dana K,

Thank you for your candid of our property. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are truly sorry for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville East Regency Square
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Jacksonville I-295/East Beltway
2.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites East Merril Road
Candlewood Suites East Merril Ro...
#72 of 133 in Jacksonville
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island
6.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville - Mayport / Beach
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - SE Med Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East
Address: 53 Jefferson Rd, Hwy 9A & Atlantic Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32225-6743 (Formerly St. Johns Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville East, just off Interstate 295 and Atlantic Boulevard. Whether visiting us for business or pleasure, we are the hotel for you! Centrally located between downtown Jacksonville and Jacksonville Beach, you are never far from work or play. Our guests can come and enjoy a home away from home in our spacious rooms or host a meeting in our 564 square foot meeting space. Each guest room includes our Holiday Inn Express plush bedding, a seating area, work space, microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. Certain rooms have Jacuzzi tubs and sleeper sofas. Guests may also enjoy complimentary WIFI throughout the hotel, access to our multi-computer on site business center and our signature Express Start hot breakfast. We also boast an outdoor pool, a 24 hour fitness center, as well as an agreement with LA Fitness where our Guests receive complimentary access to all its state of the art equipment. The Holiday Inn Express is just miles away from Jacksonville Beach, the St. Johns Town Center, Everbank Field and downtown Jacksonville. With continuous outdoor festivals, live music concerts, sporting events, theater productions and scenic views, Jacksonville is not only the largest city in the United States, it is always exciting! Jacksonville Beach offers beautiful views of our coastal city, movies under the moon light in the summers, and a wealth of night life and dinning. The St. Johns Town Center gives travelers the best shopping and restaurant options Jacksonville has to offer. Everbank Field is home to the Jacksonville Jaguars and is just a quick and easy 7 mile drive from the hotel, so drop in and catch a game! Getting into downtown Jacksonville is also very accessible to our location. You can have dinner on the beautiful St. Johns River at the Landing, enjoy the Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) or stop by the Museum of Science and History (MOSH). Visit the historic districts of Riverside, San Marco and Avondale, rebuilt after the Great Fire of 1902. This eclectic area offers travelers the opportunity to see Jacksonville's local artists at work during the Riverside Arts Market every weekend. You can also enjoy the many local restaurants in the area to experience the unique atmosphere and flavors found here in Jacksonville, this Bold New City of the South! Our professional and friendly staff is always here to welcome you to the hotel and Jacksonville! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing