We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cinco de Mayo.......GREAT TIME!!”

Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #150 of 2,037 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cinco de Mayo.......GREAT TIME!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is the ONLY place to party in Jacksonville on Cinco de Mayo! The entertainment, margarita's and food was great!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sportsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    34
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Johns, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“My Family away from Family”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Always warm and inviting, Don Juan's employees welcome us with a smile. Great food, libations and always willing to accommodate. We celebrated Mother's Day here and had just gotten engaged. There was a Mariachi singer who entertained us and the Manager treated us to a celebratory drink. Always clean, I have tried many entrees, from their tacos, fajitas, tamales and enchiladas; Never have I left disappointed. Family owned, the owner is always there to come to our table, make us feel welcome and make sure every thing is as it should be. If you are looking for good Mexican food with excellent service and a great atmosphere, this is it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Don Juan's has stolen my heart...”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

How could I have lived in Jacksonville for so long, and not heard of this fine restaurant??? I keep asking myself. This is, by far, the best Mexican Restaurant in town. Perhaps, because it's at the extreme southern part of the city, I've never been by it, or heard of it. The other night we were looking for a good Mexican restaurant to go to. I really didn't want to go to the old standbys - La Nopolera, or Campeche Bay, or even the new place at Town Center. (My last experience there was rather bland and expensive. I don't even remember its name.) My wife asked one of her co-workers and they recommended Don Juan's in Mandarin. It's south on SR13, just a few blocks north of Julington Creek. When we got there, the parking lot was crammed full. But, there was little wait. They have plenty of tables, and a full bar. We were shown to our booth after about 5 minutes. The restaurant has typical Mexican decor. All of the booths and tables look very fresh and clean. Our waiter, Chris, was very pleasant and helpful. We were on a special diet that night, and were looking for Romain lettuce, steak, and guacamole. Their Chopped Salad fit the bill nicely! They brought us chips and salsa, but we could only eat the salsa due to the diet. The salsa was very good, and pretty hot! I sure wish I could have eaten a basket full of chips. But, that darned diet! We also got a side of guacamole to go with the salads. When they arrived after only a few minutes, the salad was big, and the fajita steak was very hot and tender. It was nothing like the steak that you'd get in a steak fajita at La Nopolera. It was flavorful and tender! The Romain was fresh and crisp. The guacamole was delicious! We really enjoyed our salads. After dinner, the owner, Efrain, came by to ask how our dinner was. I told him that it was excellent, and asked about the steak. Efrain told us that they use skirt steak, a more expensive cut than you would find at other Mexican restaurants. It made a lot of difference. We really, really enjoyed our meal and talking with Efrain. I wish I had known about this fine restaurant long ago. It's by far, the best Mexican restaurant in Northeast Florida. It was so good, I brought friends back the next night. They loved it, too! If you like Mexican, definitely give this place a try! I highly, highly recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffb1650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food AND Great Service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Consistently outstanding food and service.
Well run with the best Mexican food. Owners are always there and the service and food reflect it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Imctsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veracruz, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Went to Don Juan's for date night. The service was on point. Food came to the table quickly, about as hot as it gets, drinks were never empty without being over served, and the owner/manager came to the table to ensure our satisfaction.

The food tasted fresh, without "mystery" ingredients. Its just what you'd expect from an upscale Mexican restaurant, without being pretentious, and overpriced.

The establishment was clean, and appropriate. The atmosphere was average, but what you'd expect without being tacky. You can tell the owners take pride in delivering a solid experience. It's great to have an alternative for eating Mexican food that you know won't give you "taco bell stomach" later...

Helpful?
1 Thank waterproofpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Don Juan's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing