We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel has been my home for xxx months!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows
Ranked #79 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This hotel has been my home for xxx months!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

I'm not usually a long comment person and I don't think this one will be any different. I ran into a bit of bad luck and have had to stay here for several months (and counting) so far. Today for the first time I had a problem with the AC in my room. I called the office at around 9am and by 12pm Scott had come by and replaced the unit. In my experience this level of service is unheard of at an extended stay hotel and to be honest, it is better then the service I have received at ANY apartment I have had. Not to mention I had some boxes near the AC unit and Scott neatly moved everything so he would have room to work...leaving everything organized and in place. Also, Linda at the front desk is always friendly and quite willing to help me whenever I have a request. I mention Linda and Scott not because they are better then the rest of the staff, but because I am terrible at names and can't remember the rest of the names of the people here who have all been friendly and helpful! To be honest, I have had the chance to move to an apartment lately and chose to stay here instead.

Thank you to EVERYONE here! I look forward to seeing the improvements, which BTW are being done in such a way to not inconvenience the residents.

Ed

Room Tip: just remember this is an extended stay hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank asimovtrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesjax, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Ed,
Thank you so much for your kind words. It can be a challenge to make a low budget extended stay feel like home and we try very hard to do just that. I will share your review with our staff and let them know how welcome they have all made you feel. If you should need anything at all while you are here, please do not hesitate to ask and we will do all that we can for you.
Again, Thank you very much and we are happy to have you as part of our family.

Best Regards,
Shelley & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    29
    11
    7
    32
See reviews for
19
21
23
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wardensville, WV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed five weeks at this facility while I worked a summer job in the Jacksonville area. This location had a monthly rate, which made it cheaper for me in the long run. I had to pass a competency test to keep my position the first week I was in Jacksonville, and management here was kind enough to charge me the monthly rate for the week instead of the usual weekly rate. Fortunately, I passed my test and stayed. When my job went over a month, they allowed me to pay for the four extra days at the monthly rate, which I greatly appreciated.

I am writing this review from the viewpoint of an "extended stay" resident. I found my room clean, and I did not see any signs of bugs or other problems like were listed in earlier reviews. The room had a nice refrigerator and a surface oven, as well as a microwave. I would suggest a toaster oven to round out the food situation. The room does not have a bathtub, but the shower is nice and has seating arrangements for those who need one. The bed had a new mattress on it and was very comfortable with a nice blanket and bedspread. The towels were much more substantial than at other long-term residency places I stayed at in Jacksonville. A securing deposit was not required. There is an elevator that goes to all three floors, so that made moving in and out easier. The sundries were limited to a small piece of soap and a small bottle of shampoo, as well as a small bottle of dishwashing detergent, which were not replaced after they were used the first time. The bed was made and the room was cleaned routinely on Wednesday. There was some trouble with telephone service after a severe thunderstorm, but what was really nice about this place was that long distance calls inside the United States was free. There is a bank next door with an ATM, and there is an ATM machine in the lobby. There is 24 hour front desk service, and some of the people that work there also live in the facility to assist guests. I never saw any misconduct during my stay and felt entirely safe there. There is a laundromat on site which was cheaper that two area laundromats. The people that worked there were very nice and attentive to any needs that I had. The air conditioning was excellent, but it is one of those models that turns on and off constantly, so I would suggest a box fan during the night if that bothers you. The hot water in the shower was somewhat hotter in the evening than in the morning, but was acceptable for my needs. The water pressure was fine. There is a convenience store within walking distance, and a Winn Dixie grocery store a block away, and a 24 hour CVS drug store within walking distance. There are many restaurants in the area.

Of importance: I stayed at three previous extended stay locations in Jacksonville in past years, and I noticed police cars patrolling all of them. I never saw the police at this location once....which indicates to me that the location is safe and well maintained and monitored.

If you bring a blanket from home and put it on your bed, make sure that you take it off the day the maid comes by to clean the room. Facility policy will not allow her to make up the bed if any of your possessions are on the bed. (You probably would not need a blanket, I just like to sleep with an extra one from personal habit.)

I noticed there were some multi-room apartments available. Pets were also allowed.

I do not know if the "one night stay" rooms are nicer, but I was pleased with my room concerning my needs. A Ritz Carlton it is not, but then, that is not what I needed.

I noticed most of the guests were blue collar working families. It had more of a feeling of an apartment complex than a extended stay hotel. I did not have a single negative experience with the people who lived there. I did not see any of the rowdiness described in previous reviews.

There is a drink machine and food vending machine on site. It is in the landraomat, which requires a room card to get in for security reasons.

The WiFi required a security code obtained at the front desk, and it worked well for me the entire time I was there.

Should my work cession be in Jacksonville again next year, I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WaltonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesjax, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear Tiger Walton,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property regarding your recent stay.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I had checked out several extended stays before deciding on Suburban, Suburban was fairly reasonable and in a good area, I thought, my time there was spend dealing with road construction some beginning before 8 am, loud neighbors, and pressure washing at all hours creating a parking problem. I had ants and it looked as if the kitchen hadn't been cleaned. Housekeeping never came even though my room was on the list for Tuesdays. It was well lit and felt fairly safe but I would have worked on the overall cleanliness.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesjax, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding housekeeping, noise and the pressure washing on your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with Housekeeping and Maintenance to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Jacksonville.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was in town for a graduation and only looking for a clean bedroom with Wifi at a low price. Sure there are amenities that this hotel doesn't have but I didn't need them and wasn't willing to pay extra just to have a hotel that had them. This was my second stay at this hotel and each has met my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank drdon100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesjax, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. It means a lot to all of us here at Suburban. Please contact us personally should your travels bring you back to Jacksonville so that we may offer you our very special VIP discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

Filthy! Room smelled like a cadaver. Nightly riots with "other guests". People getting beat up, drug deals going down, roach infested rooms, smoking in elevators. Small pre-school age children left alone to play in locked cars, stench of cigarettes everywhere, beer cans all over the place, keys do not work. Housekeeping is horrible. Same filthy mop used from bathroom to kitchen and from room to room. Carpets filthy. Front office filthy. Owners and management notified, however nothing changed.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Izzadora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesjax, Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Izzadora D:

I apologize for the trouble that you had during your stay, but I almost feel like you reviewed the wrong property. While we are a low budget extended stay, most of the things that you said are not accurate. Most of our guests are living on the property and they all get along great with each other. If you witnessed toddlers in a car alone, I'm positive that the parent was retrieving something out of the room and preparing to go somewhere. There have been no reports of any riots, beer cans or drug deals going on this property as we do have security and they keep an accurate log.
However, Please accept my apology for the trouble that you have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

The Suburban is a good value for a business or personal stay in relationship to the room cost. The bed was comfortable, the room finish, while not the Ritz was acceptable, the hot water was hot, the kitchen was serviceable, the refrig, microwave and stove worked and the bathroom was clean with modestly nice towels. TV worked, lighting was decent and the table and chairs adequate for a meal for up to two. The non smoking room was a non smoking room. With the air fan on the room was quiet for sleeping, no outside distractions.
There were several long term residents that appeared to be struggling financially but all were well mannered and friendly. Never felt apprehensive about the surroundings
Staff was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesjax, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Robert M.
Thank you so much for this nice review. We in fact do have many guests here that like to call our place "home: until they are able to get back on their feet. We strive to make our nightly or short term guests comfortable and it is nice to know that we are on the right track with our goals.
All of us here at Suburban appreciate your kind words and we welcome you back anytime you are in town on business. Please give us a call personally and we will make sure to give you the best VIP treatment that we can.

Thank you again
Management & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I have stayed all over the world and have seen worse hotels but not many. Front deck assigned me a room that wasn't cleaned and was a smoking room. Reserved a non smoking 2 bed room. Went to front desk and no apology was offered....not I'm sorry, nothing - the only comment was do have to have 2 beds? Took a single bed room...got to the room and it was the size of a closet, dirty, and the bed was broken. Returned to the office and said I wanted a refund. Clerk just looked aggravated and cancel my reservation. Again no attempt to make amends or try to satisfy the customer. Found a new hotel for a few $ more- Microtel. I had another 2 nights booked for Richmond and cancelled because of my experience here. The ownership needs to review their training of staff and housekeeping.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComeflywithmeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sesjax, General Manager at Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Comeflywithmefl,

I am truly sorry that we were unable to accommodate you during your travels. Please know that the problems with the only room type we had available have been fixed. I am happy that you were able to find other arrangements and the desk clerk has been spoken to about the proper way to handle such a situation. I am disappointed that you cancelled your other reservations (I'm guessing it was a Suburban) as not all Suburban's are the same and you should really give it a try first.
Again, I do apologize and I hope that you have enjoyed your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
3.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#81 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tricove Inn & Suites
Tricove Inn & Suites
#70 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
3.8 mi away
Days Inn Jacksonville South/Near Memorial Hospital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Jacksonville - Southpoint
0.9 mi away
Ramada Jacksonville/Baymeadows Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows

Property: Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows
Address: 8285 Phillips Hwy, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Choice Hotels so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Hotel of Jacksonville / Baymeadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Jacksonville
Jacksonville Extended Stay
Extended Stay Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing