We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is great”

Sid and Linda's Seafood Market & Restaurant
Ranked #103 of 2,000 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“This place is great”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

The bassa is full of flavor and the grilled scallops are to die for. The savanna bisque has the most crab I have ever seen in a soup

Helpful?
Thank Scotty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“Never a dissapointment!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

With all the great items on the menu, don't forget the soup!! The food is awesome, and the friendly servers always make you feel welcome! Sid and Linda's is a Friday night habit!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yougocaroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worthy of a Triple-D Visit”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

When Sid and Linda ran Safe Harbor, we would eat at their corner restaurant at least every other week, maybe more. We loved being able to eat right on the dock. Now, they have moved to the corner of Atlantic Blvd and Kernan and it is father away for us. However, that has not hurt their business and it can be packed. But don't let that scare you away because we never have had to really wait for a table.

Thankfully, the menu, freshness and preparation all are exactly the same. One might describe the food as a cross between Cajun and Pacific Islander with good-ol' fried seafood baskets thrown into the mix. If you like shrimp done in a low-country boil style, go no where else. It is on the appetizer list just hiding there. For about $11, you will get over 20 plump Mayports steamed perfectly and slightly spicy. The two of us add on a fish tacos each and call it a meal. By the way, the tacos are my favorite in Jacksonville and deceptively simple with five main ingredients: the shell, the fish, a little cheese, a little coleslaw and some datil pepper sauce. At $3 apiece, they are a steal.

Don't write the TV show, we want to keep this place for the locals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TervurenTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, GA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ginger Garlic Blackened Shrimp - wow!”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We visited the Jacksonville area over Labor Day weekend (Amelia Island and Huguenot were beautiful!) and I searched for local seafood restaurants on TripAdvisor. Sid and Linda's sounded promising, so we checked it out - TripAdvisor rarely steers us wrong! We LOVED the place. It isn't impressive from the outside, but inside it is warm and friendly, lots of locals and DELICIOUS fresh seafood, cooked perfectly.

One of the house specials is the garlic ginger shrimp with green beans - very tasty. I ordered mine blackened. We also had crab dip as an appetizer - my non-seafood-fan daughter loved it. My husband tried a sampler plate and said everything was delicious. Prices were extremely reasonable, too.

It was fun to meet the proprieters personally, Linda dropped by our table to check on us, and Sid waved from behind the grill. We went early on the Saturday before Labor Day - arrived just in time, because the small restaurant area filled up quickly and there was a long wait for folks who came later in the evening.

Don't miss it next time you are in the area and in the mood for a casual dinner. Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Southern_Daytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Surprised but impressed!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This place is half seafood market/half restaurant (six booths and some tables). Doesn't look like much from the outside (it's in a strip mall). But it was highly recommended, so we went for lunch on Sunday and arrived around noon. We were seated and the server was very pleasant and offered to bring samples of the soups to try - she brought three samples - for each of us! The clam chowder was awesome. There was also a soft shell crab soup and gumbo, which I didn't try. We ordered an appetizer of conch fritters that were fluffy and fresh and rather tasty. We also got combo baskets (fried shrimp & clam strips) (fried shrimp & blackened scallops) and a mixed grill seafood salad. The baskets were very fairly priced and you could do a combo with two things for the same price as one item. I tried shrimp, clams and scallops and everything was perfectly cooked. The blackened scallops were huge quite amazing. I'd go back just for that. The clam strips were true New England style and a rare treat in Florida!
The service was very good, and friendly (a rarity these days!) and the place was packed when we left. Would highly recommend and would go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luxlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sid and Linda's Seafood Market & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sid and Linda's Seafood Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing