We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”

Al's Pizza - Riverside
Ranked #382 of 2,013 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Good food. Good service. Cute downtown location. Everything was fine. Nothing to special. Husband and I enjoyed our food

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    28
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We're regulars here, but the bathrooms are nasty”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We eat here weekly because our kids love it. Food is good and it's a decent value. But make sure you use the bathroom before you come because they are consistently REALLY DIRTY.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good food, good service.”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This visit to the downtown eatery was quite different from past times at the Beach Blvd. Al's.
Like night and day, folks. The Beach Blvd. Al's always had surly, snotty wait staff; so much so that I stopped going there many years ago.
I went downtown to meet a group of people and this Al's is a world of different. It is smaller and cozier, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable.
I spilt the appetizer sampler with someone, it is HUGE. A meal in itself. The items were fried to perfection, crispy and hot. Nice chunky marinara and ranch dressing for dipping. Yum! The ravioli was especially good.
Everyone seemed to love their food; pasta, salad, pizza and breads. There were lots of take home leftovers. No one had room for dessert.
I really like this place, enough to venture downtown again I think.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Great service and pizza at Al's. We enjoyed the toasted ravioli and meatball appetizers. The pizza was very, very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good pizza, but better call in service needed”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is a Jax institution for pizza. On our last visit, we called in an order, but still had to wait almost 30 minutes father we arrived for our pick up. Disorganized service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phildigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al's Pizza - Riverside also viewed

Jacksonville, FL
Jacksonville, FL
 

Been to Al's Pizza - Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing