We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, pleasant attraction”

Fort Caroline National Memorial
Ranked #12 of 166 things to do in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
ohio
Level Contributor
230 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Beautiful, pleasant attraction”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We took our grandsons, ages 8 and 10, to do a junior ranger here. They liked running around the fort and enjoyed the exhibits. The rangers were delightful and friendly to the boys. Be sure to take bug spray. We were eaten alive.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yearbook1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    87
    31
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to get some walking in. Pet friendly.”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The fort itself isn't impressive but you can read about the history on the signs which is very interesting. We did the loop by the fort which was fairly easy. (You can take your dog provided you have him or her on a 6 ft leash.) We came back to our truck and drove to the other side to do the other trails by the Spanish Pond. We didn't make it to the end due to the heat. My husband was fine but the 100 degree heat index was just to much for me. There are lots of tree roots so if you don't have good balance or have difficult walking the trail on the fort side is a better choice. We are looking forward at going back when it is cooler out. (We took mosquito spray with us and didn't have any issues with them. ) You also can bring your dog on this trail provided they are on a 6 ft leash.

Helpful?
1 Thank couple-n-pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average - Good view of the river”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Experiencing the hills driving here is interesting as is the bluff itself. Good views of the river. Hilly hiking trail - you forget you're in Florida. The fort is a let down.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fort Caroline National Memorial”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very peaceful place. Watched video on what had happened here, re-construction of what For Caroline looked like, not large. Great trails (bring mosquito spray).

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah
Level Contributor
262 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Interesting Fort”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We always try to visit a fort whenever we travel and Fort Caroline didn't disappoint. While there really isn't much to see, the volunteers did a great job. We are glad to be able to say we have visited.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evil_E207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Caroline National Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Fort Caroline National Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing