We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Night Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverdale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverdale Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Silver Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Night Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

My daughter and I stayed in the Carriage House. It had the two twin beds- off the main house. It was very clean quiet and comfortable. The breakfast was also very nice. A true B & B !! We will stay there again. The staff were very friendly and kind.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    54
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
50
165
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

I've stayed in many B&Bs over the years throughout the US and while the location of the Riverdale Inn is fantastic and the exterior of the Inn is beautiful, I, unfortunately, have to say that I was not very impressed overall. While the breakfast was certainly adequate, I have to agree with others that it was rather basic. Also, we stayed multiple nights and each morning the breakfast options were the same. Furthermore, while the Inn describes itself as a "Victorian Inn," we found that much of the decor did not reflect this style. For example, there are contemporary "bistro" pictures hanging throughout the downstairs and some of the rooms even feature lazy-boy-style recliners in them. We also felt that for the price paid our room should have been better maintained. Our room had a large window-style heater/air cooler in it that did not function, nor did it appear as though it had been functioning for quite some time. Why the owners of the Inn don't remove this, I'm not sure. Also, our bathroom had large "patches" on the walls. At first I thought that perhaps they had been done recently and the owners simply hadn't had the chance to paint over them yet, but upon inspection my partner said that these patches had been done some time ago and as such should have been painted over to match the rest of the walls. It seemed odd that an Inn that charges anywhere from $150-$200 a night would leave large patches on the walls unpainted. It is for these reasons that I can't give this Inn a 5 star rating. I personally felt, based upon my experiences at other B&Bs, that there is a lot of attention to detail that is lacking. Again, this Inn has a great location and is lovely on the exterior, but overall I do not feel that the prices they charge reflect the quality that they provide. I wanted to love this Inn, but sadly did not.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel44569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I've stayed at Riverdale Inn on several occasions. My grandparents live in the Riverside area of Jacksonville and there are not any hotel chains in the nearby area. On this most recent trip I stayed just one night and had reserved a room in the Carriage House (the least expensive one). Upon my arrival the innkeepers graciously upgraded me to a room in the main house which was more convenient for me (and probably for them, too.) The bed was comfortable and bathroom was fine. Yummy soaps! Everyone is friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is basic but good.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherP911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

My husband and I celebrated our 12th wedding anniversary with a weekend getaway to the Jacksonville area. This B&B was the perfect little place for us to call home for a few days. The room was cute and the hospitality was superb. The inn is walking distance to the landing, a museum, a weekend arts market, and a quaint little restaurant district. In addition to a filling breakfast, we had the opportunity to enjoy high tea at the inn. As newbies to this English inspired lunch we didn't quite know what to expect. It turned out to be outstanding. We even hunted down a recipe from the inn keeper. This is a great little place and I would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomNilette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Comfy, Quiet, Convenient.
I stay in Jax often, and this is the best spot.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tudor1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

What a wonderful bed and breakfast with homemade goodies every morning plus the willingness to make poached eggs on request. High tea was wonderful on our second afternoon with an assortment of sandwiches and sweets. Location is only a few blocks from the Cummer Museum with Italian and English Gardens and a trolley is nearby to take you to the Landing and water boat taxi. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning. Marty and Mary Kay

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty_L_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hernando
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Carolyn, Lisa and Eric are all amazing caretakers! Breakfast and High Tea were the best! Accommodations are very clean and bed very comfortable! We had the Oak Room on the back side was very quiet! Front rooms can be noisy from the street traffic if you are not use to that. Waking distance to the Cummer Museum and we rode the trolley to the downtown Landing for all the shopping and restaurants. We also did the boat ride across the river to the City Walk Brewery. We ate at Orsay Restaurant for the best meal! We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside away from the traffic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0pspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#12 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
1.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Inn

Property: Riverdale Inn
Address: 1521 Riverside Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32204-4134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville, Florida is located near the heart of the city in the historic Five Points area in Riverside. Our inn features 10 luxury rooms with a full service Pub for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing