We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Riverdale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riverdale Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This bed and breakfast is beautiful!
Easy access from 95.
From the warm greeting Linda (Innkeeper) gave us, to the beautiful room. Our room overlooked the front of the Bed and Breakfast. To the yummy veggie omelets (you could have any item to order) . You can walk to shopping, restaurants and the Great St John's river .

I almost forgot, the bed was wonderful. I want one.
I would stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferN152201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    59
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
54
174
33
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I want to give everyone at Riverdale Inn kudos for an exceptional stay at the Inn. We booked the Inn because of the convenience to our office and were astounded by the cleanliness, hospitality and service that were given to our group. The rooms were spotless. The breakfast was delicious. The private dinner at was absolutely amazing. As my boss said after dinner "… that was the most amazing, delectable and relaxing dinner that we have had..." Everyone enjoyed themselves thanks to our hosts. We will be back for our next meeting in October. Thank you again for everything. You are all marvelous!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I like to stay in a B&B rather than a hotel chain when we have a few days in a city because we get more of the "feel" of the city, along with personal attention. The Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville is a great vintage B&B in a historic neighborhood that just invites you to get out and walk to the many nearby attractions and restaurants in Jacksonville's attractive Riverside area. It's clean, well-managed, with distinctively decorated rooms, great made-to-order breakfasts, a nice little full-bar area, and a friendly, helpful staff. We stayed in Margaret's Window, which is one of the lower-priced rooms, a little on the "small" side, but still charming with lots of windows (like a screened-in porch room) and a nice walk-in shower. We'd definitely stay in Riverdale Inn again and are happy to recommend it to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CSK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Brides!!!!! Do NOT book this inn if you are planning to use this inn to get ready for the wedding or have any of your wedding party stay here. Linda, the owner, is a miserable woman that made my wedding experience horrible.

I booked this inn almost 7 months before my wedding. My wedding was the Cummer Art Museum down the street. I thought this place would be great because it was within walking distance and had the cute B&B look. I went and visited the inn to see the size of the rooms and explained to the employees my intentions on using the rooms for my bridal party to get ready and then where my future husband and I would stay. They were very pleasant and answered all of my questions.

THEN....9 days before my wedding, Linda sent me an email to inform me that additional fees were going to be charged to the rooms I rented for every person over the occupancy number (the occupancy number is 2). So for every person over 2, I would incur an additional fee. Her reasoning...she instituted new policies a few weeks before my wedding because she had a bad experience with one bride in which some linens needed to be replaced. Instead of making the bad bride pay for those expenses, she was going to charge me an additional fee for all additional people in case we caused any damaged to her linens. THIS WAS NEVER MENTIONED TO ME WHEN I BOOKED 7 MONTHS IN ADVANCE. She was sorry I wasn't told at the time of booking but she had a business to run. I understand charging me after the fact if I damage something in her inn....I do not understand being charged a fee for something that hasn't even happened yet!!! That is not standard hotel policy.

Also, when I asked about food options to be brought to the room while my girls and I were getting ready...she indicated that there were food options but that wasn't my role in my wedding. I shouldn't be getting any food because my MOH and the BM needs to do that. She proceeded to tell me what proper etiquette is on this issue. She wouldn't even tell me the options because she insisted that I can't serve the food, the other people need to be concerned with that. COMPLETELY INAPPROPRIATE. She has no business telling me what I can and can't do in the my wedding.

After her rude behavior, we cancelled all of our reservations at this Inn. I refused to give Linda a dime of my money.

Brides...beware of this establishment and how the owner, Linda, treats her customers. Completely unacceptable!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg,
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a lovely B&B in a historic neighborhood near Downtown Jacksonville. If you want a quaint setting away from the traffic this place is great. Walking distance to nice local restaurants. I would recommend this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxGatorGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Roosevelt room! Very huge bed and spacious layout. We loved the vintage style of the whole house and the room. It was a cozy little B&B, a vacation we needed! We loved how it was like a home and we could walk down to breakfast in our pajamas. We enjoyed a very homemade breakfast by one of the innkeepers. They have an honor system at the pub within the Riverdale, which made us feel respected as guests. It was a very clean house and room. The only downside to our stay was the poor wifi connection and no mini fridge within our room (but we got to use the one downstairs). Overall, it was a great cozy experience!

Room Tip: In the Roosevelt room, they have a very spacious bed and spacious tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selma, Alabama, United States
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have stayed here twice and will again. The staff is friendly and the location is great. Do not miss out on the breakfast it is always outstanding! Memorial Park is near by for a great morning walk. There is nearby dining that is really good that you can drive or walk too. If you are in Jacksonville I highly suggest this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
1.3 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#11 of 133 in Jacksonville
1,871 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
1.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Inn

Property: Riverdale Inn
Address: 1521 Riverside Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32204-4134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville, Florida is located near the heart of the city in the historic Five Points area in Riverside. Our inn features 10 luxury rooms with a full service Pub for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Riverdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing