We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverdale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverdale Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Jacksonville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The customer service was so poor that our entire party (we had 3 rooms reserved for Friday night and 4 for Saturday night for a family wedding celebration) left the b and b and found rooms elsewhere.
The owner was rude and unprofessional. I do not recommend this b and b at all.
We are world travelers and I have never experienced anything so negative at a hotel or b and b.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathystjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverdaleinn, Owner at Riverdale Inn, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Unfortunately there was a misunderstanding over the use of the bar by members of the wedding party that were not staying at the inn. Please note the use of the bar is for the overnight guests and not the general public. Only one room was reserved in the main house by the wedding party. As there were seven other rooms to consider, we asked the wedding party to end at midnight. This was taken as an insult and resulted in the cancellation of four rooms for the following night plus this "terrible" review. We believe the request to end the party was reasonable as the comfort of all of our guest are our main objective. We have been Inn Keepers for over twenty five years plus world travelers and showing consideration for others
is a major part of the success as owners of the largest bed and breakfast in Jacksonville Florida. This party was not booked and these folks invited at least ten other people without our knowledge.
Short of calling the police, I think I handled it rather nicely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    52
    12
    3
    4
See reviews for
49
162
33
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed in the Windsor Suite for two nights on our wedding weekend, and it was the perfect choice. Bob even let us take some pre-wedding photos inside, which offered the perfect vintage backdrop. The decor was beautiful, almost victorian, but all the modern touches (spa bathtub, wifi) were included. In the morning, we woke up to the smell of bacon, and we were on the very top floor.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank freemarmots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a wonderful weekend exploring the Riverside and San Marco areas. Everyone at the Inn made us feel welcome. A beautiful place for a romantic weekend, great breakfast and cute bar area for having a nitecap, enjoy the fire pit on the back deck - truly a relaxing weekend so close to home. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We were forced out of our home by a firm re-finishing our parquet floors and we chose Riverdale for its proximity and its reputation. It totally lived up to its reputation. Our accommodations were most comfortable. Our breakfasts were outstanding. And the honor bar for night caps and afternoon cokes served us well. Family and friends have stayed here before with overall praise, and we have encouraged friends coming from out of town in April to stay, which they plan to do. The personal touch is outstanding; food and drink are excellent; and accommodations met all expectations.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pNTE vEDRA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We live in Nocatee (Ponte Vedra) and love to explore Riverside, Avondale, and San Marco area.

Read about the Riverdale Inn on Trip Advisor and thought it would be great to stay close to area and get a feel of the community up close.

Our host at the Inn was Eric and he made us feel right at home. Great Rooms, great hospitality, and Eric makes a scrumptious Omelet in the mornings. His pal Lola watch over everything.

This place is within walking distance to Five Points and the Riverside Arts Market on the river.

A great stay and lots to do.

Room Tip: Go to their website and view rooms online to make your decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vance j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christmas, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Much better than any hotel stays. It was like a home away from home. Very nice room. Very pleasant people. Breakfast was great with choices of omelets, eggs, or pancakes cooked to order. When I go back to Jacksonville this will be my first choice of places to stay.

Room Tip: Do not pick the top floor unless you really like climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

This is simply a great place! A beautifully restored 100 years old wooden Victorian style mansion in the heart of Jacksonville's historic Five Points. Each room is furnished differently and still has this authentic feel to it.The proud owners provide great hospitality and friendly service. In this green neigborhood stores and good restaurants are just around the corner within walking distance as is Memorial Park along the St Johns's river and Riverside park if you want to go for a stroll or run. I am in Jacksonville for business almost every month and this has become my second habitat and hideaway after a long and busy day!

Room Tip: Any room is good. The rooms on the 3rd floor are spacious and very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
1.3 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#11 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
1.5 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverdale Inn

Property: Riverdale Inn
Address: 1521 Riverside Ave, Jacksonville, FL 32204-4134
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverdale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverdale Inn in Jacksonville, Florida is located near the heart of the city in the historic Five Points area in Riverside. Our inn features 10 luxury rooms with a full service Pub for the use of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Riverdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverdale Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing