We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and fun!”
Review of Southern Charm

Southern Charm
Ranked #45 of 2,004 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$23
Cuisines: Barbecue, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cash only. Its worth every penny. Friday and Saturday Evening, Reservations are required for the Dinner Extravaganza....its an experience you won't want to miss!
Douglasville, GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food and fun!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

If you desire a great atmosphere, then this place isn't for you. But if you want great food in a fun atmosphere, for a decent price, then it can't be beat. The owner is the cook and takes great pride in not only making great food but also in keeping his customers happy. He takes the time to personally speak to all of his guests in the restaurant to make sure everything is OK. On top of all this, at the end of the night, you get to take home any food left on the buffet bar!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    25
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Young Harris, Georgia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“For me, it's the blackened shrimp”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Back in Jax to visit family. When we lived in the area, we were often at Art's old place. Now that we were back to visit, we planned a trip to see Art & have some of his spectacular food that is made with love. His food is what I believe meals in heaven will be! You start filling your plates only after the dinner bell has been rung. I began with the cole slaw - what a blend of flavors! Next are boiled shrimp, lightly fried fish, CRABcakes with REAL CRABMEAT!!!!! Cheesy cheese grits, collard greens that are perfect!!, Marsh Island potato casserole - now this is a dish one must taste to really appreciate. Potatoes, cheese, & SCALLOPS! Oh! I almost forgot the thinly sliced fried green tomatoes.
To take care of the thirst there is sweet tea & it is southern sweet tea. After you've filled your plate at the buffet line, & you're sitting there devouring all of this decadence Art or one of the assistants come around with hot fried green tomatoes, lightly battered fried shrimp & then, then Art appears tableside with this iron skillet full of blackened shrimp. I have waited so long to have Art's blackened shrimp. In fact, I rarely eat shrimp as nothing compares to these. Art ladles the hot, blackened goodness over onto the waiting plate. I sit there & take in the aroma - and I apply lip balm before digging in. Self preservation! Oh. Wow. When can we make another road trip back to Jax?!
Now Art has added the perfect finish to this evening of food perfection. A spicy, decadent brownie bar. It was just what was needed after all the richness of the main meal.
Art, thank you for sharing your talent in the kitchen. Next time we're in Jax we'll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3catstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Death by shrimp!”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

If you love Triple D, you will love this place. A real "dive" with homey, comfort food. Chef Art and his crew are wonderful, they make you feel at home and make sure you are well fed. Shrimp, shrimp and more shrimp. All this if you do the Friday and Saturday night buffet. Make sure to make reservations as there is only one sitting per night. We loved the shrimp, fried fish, greens, mashed potatoes with bay scallops and grits. They also serve bbq ribs & crab cakes (not my favorites). Finally, the most awesome cookies for dessert. So good! You are also served unlimited soda or sweet tea. The best part is after dinner, you are given to go boxes and you can take more food home. All this for a great price!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fab61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We found ourselves exiting Costco the Friday before Christmas...yes, we're idiots...and my Dad suggested we call up TA to see what good local food was nearby. It's tough to find local food these days, but as usual TA came through for us.

Just 5 miles away and on our way back to Georgia, we found Checker Bar-b-que. What a treat!

The Friday lunch was served buffet style and included all you can eat fried shrimp and fish, collard greens, cheese grits, a spicy macaroni salad, cole slaw, and cookies. Wow, what a spread.

The owner and chef sat next to us and dined on his own food - always a good sign. The staff and other patrons were super friendly and we will all be back soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LowcountryLoafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
213 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Crazy fun Great Cracker style food”
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

Don't let the exterior fool you. Inside is a crazy good chef who can make just about anything...but sit back and enjoy the food plenty to eat and unlike the last review its fresh local seafood. ...she must be use to eating at the chain restaurants.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1hungrychef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Charm also viewed

 
 

Been to Southern Charm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing