We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Hotel Courtyard at Mayo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches
Ranked #43 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Edgewater, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Hotel Courtyard at Mayo”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Robin had to undergo 2 major surgeries at Mayo requiring many stays at the Courtyard Oct to date - the staff and Mgr, David Mason make every stay like "coming home" The compassion and service are tops.

Room Tip: Robin is disabled so we choose a handicap room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. I will share your review with the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    68
    43
    14
    15
See reviews for
70
54
32
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2014

"Look. I travel for a living and am at a Marriott 4 nights a week or so and this was one of the best meals I have ever had in 15 years of being a Platinum Marriott member. Not just the meal but everybody that I interacted with at this hotel had a different but uniquely positive vibe. Every other Marriott should take note. Kim rocked. Platinum number 887415180."

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich_Nagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your meal so much. Kim does rock and I have shared your comments with her. I appreciate you taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I received a reminder of my stay with this Marriott seven days prior to our arrival date. I chose this hotel because I was taking my mother to the Mayo Clinic, and it was convenient to be able to walk directly across the path to Mayo. In the reminder e-mail, the Hotel never mentioned that during our stay, we would have to hear jack-hammering during the days. So every morning we would get up early, go to Mayo, come back during our breaks only to hear loud noise and smell dust. (although they did put up plastic) My mother, already not feeling well, tired from early appointments and needing rest for the next appointment and I emotionally drained, did not appreciate paying for such lack of concern for our stay here. If I had been informed in the e-mail, that was sent out the week before our arrival, that we would have to listen to this, I can assure you, I would have made other lodging arrangements. I am very disappointed in Marriott for having such lack of concern for their customers, especially since they are aware that the people saying at this particular facility are all here for one reason; and that is to be seen at the Mayo Clinic. If an e-mail was being sent out anyway, the Hotel should have notified each customer of the inconvenience of the remodeling or made monetary concessions for those who had to be in such close proximity to Mayo.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSS129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
I am very sorry for noisy and inconveniences the jack hammering has caused you and your mother. I wanted to let you know that the hotel is not remodeling the lobby, we have had pipe under the lobby floor break. We were not able to notify you because we were not expecting the pipe to break. We were expecting the break to be a small repair that would have been fixed over the weekend. So this would not have affected your stay. Once the floor was opened we found that it was a much larger issue that was going to required much more time and demolition. When we realized this we closed of a section of the lobby so that the restaurant and front desk areas were not impacted. This allowed us to be able to serve Breakfast and Dinner to our guests. We also moved the lobby computers and created a working/ relaxation space for our guest in one of the meeting rooms. In addition we have only allowed the plumbers to jack hammer from 11am to 4 pm daily. It has taken us two days to complete the jack hammering and it is now complete. We will repair the pipe and put the lobby back into order. We do understand the needs of our guest who are going to Mayo Clinic. But when an emergency repair happens we have to fix the issue. We did notify everyone as they checked in that we would be jack hammering during the hours of 11 am to 4 pm. We would have gladly helped you obtain other accommodations had you voiced your concern at that time or we would have helped you move to the other hotel on Mayo campus had you let us know this was affecting you and your mother so adversely. I am truly sorry that you have had to endure this repair but I can assure you that if it was something we had planned for we would have notified every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dothan, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for two reasons. First being proximity to Mayo but second it had the Courtyard name. The proximity was perfect but we paid a little more and case I didn't feel that we received much value for our stay. The room was average at best. The toilet float didn't work, I actually had to remove the lid to reset it. Then when I brushed my teeth the sink drain was stopped up holding water. Just not what I would expect from a Marriott family hotel. Should we have to make another overnight stay in the area I do not believe we would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ahparker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. I am very sorry that you had plumbing issues while at the hotel. We have a preventive maintenance program in place at the hotel to prevent these issues but this does not always prevent every issue. I am also sorry that you do not feel we are a good value for the money. Our hotel has a lot of amenities that the other hotels in the area do not offer. We have a restaurant that serves 3 meal a day during the week, swe have van transportation to Mayo Clinic, we have an indoor spa for our guests relaxation. I hope that if you are in the area again you do give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

It would be hard to find a better location if you're visiting the Mayo Clinic. However, the great location doesn't make up for the condition of this hotel. My husband is a Platinum member at Marriott and we've seen the range of accommodations. This was near the bottom. The floor was not well vacuumed -- we picked up wrappers, pieces of paper, and fibers. The desk had been used as a table -- and not cleaned afterwards. The bed seemed to have a moisture barrier mattress pad -- the crackling contributed to a poor night's sleep. The mattress was far too firm for comfort, the room badly soundproofed, and the furniture was below standard.

We had reserved for 2 nights, and left after one. Next trip to the Mayo, we'll probably choose to drive a bit further and have a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to fill out a review on the hotel. I am very sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. I want to apologize for the condition of the room when you checked in. We take pride in the cleanliness of our hotel and we did not provide you with a room that lived up to our own expectations. I am not sure about the moisture barrier that you are talking about. We do not use anything like that in the hotel and our mattress pads are the Marriott standard. The mattresses are a Serta pillow top mattress and were installed in 2013. I am very sorry that you left after only one night. I wish you had let us know your dissatisfaction and we would have done everything we can to correct the situation so you would have a good night’s sleep. I hope that you will try us again when coming to Jacksonville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Fl
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel was set up right across from the Davis Building where most of my consultations were. The hotel and Staff were amazing, it was very clean, and everyone was very helpful. I ended up having to be there all week because of this or that. One day i wasn't feeling well and the house keeping staff noticed right away and arranged for me to have room service brought for lunch and cleaned the room without bothering me. She even came at the end of her shift to see how I was feeling. Everyone there went above and beyond what they had to during my stay. The food in the Bistro was put togeather for what the doctors at mayo may want you to eat. However they also have other choices as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serggo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for the great review. I will share your comments with the housekeeping staff. They enjoy being recognized for their great service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

On the plus side for Mayo Clinic patients is this Mariott's location which is right across the street. The check in lady was gracious and friendly and the other staff we encountered was courteous. I would like to especially acknowledge one of the cleaning staff's kind gestures. My wife, the patient, did not feel well the morning after we arrived so we asked that our room not be cleaned, however, we needed to empty the trash and get clean towels. The two ladys who were assigned to our floor could not have been more compassionate and took the trash, gave us clean towels , and extra coffee for the coffee maker. So, 5 stars for the cleaning staff.
We needed water to keep my wife hydrated and went to the combination coffee/cocktail/food bar/bistro where we saw water in the counter refrigerator. The lady at that place said. 'I'm closed, you'll need to go to the Market Store which is located on the opposite side of the cafe seating area. At the market store we paid $2.57 for a bottle of water that at an airport rarely costs more than $1.50 or at the grocery store, maybe $.79. I paid $2.17 for a 2 oz pack of peanuts that I fed to the little squirrel outside.
While the interior is clean the choice of interior design colors and materials make it look far more dated than their 3 or so year old renovation. I'm sorry but their interior designer has for me put this Courtyard at the top of the most ugly list. That's a shame considering its outstanding location.
The rooms are quiet, but the lack of any between room or floor sound dampening material allowed us to hear what others were listening to on TV and other personal noises.
As others have mentioned the location is near some very nice reasonably priced restaurants. At one barbecue restaurant, Shane's Rib Shack two of us had delicious take out meals for a total of less than $20.00. I'm mentioning this because it's an easy drive to have your choice of dining. I can't comment on the food at the Mariott because we chose not to pay for breakfast (we had been at a nearby hotel for several days prior to moving here where breakfast including water was free and delicious) or their prices for food after our water/peanut purchases .
We are loyal Mariott Rewards members and seek out Courtyard by Mariott because their service and quality are generally exceptional.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardGM14, General Manager at Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to fill out a review on the hotel. I am very glad that you were able to experience the great service that our hotel staff can provide. We pride ourselves on going above and beyond for our guests. I am very sorry that you feel the Bistro and Market are overpriced. We conduct surveys or our competitor hotels and local markets to make sure we are priced properly. I will be the first to admit that we are not the lowest priced in the market but we certainly are not the highest price. Some hotels we have surveyed charge over $3.00 and up for a bottle of water. Courtyard by Marriott appreciates your loyalty and we hope that when you are in Jacksonville again you will choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jacksonville
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Mayo Clinic
The Inn at Mayo Clinic
#62 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - SE Med Center Area
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Beach Boulevard/Mayo Clinic Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra Beach-Mayo Clinic Area
Hampton Inn Jacksonville/Ponte V...
#2 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonville Beach
Holiday Inn Express - Jacksonvil...
#4 of 9 in Jacksonville Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville / Ponte Vedra
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville /...
#2 of 4 in Ponte Vedra Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches

Property: Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches
Address: 14390 Mayo Blvd, Jacksonville, FL 32224-6864
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Jacksonville Mayo Clinic campus, the Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches offers easy access to the Jacksonville Beaches, University of North Florida (UNF), Naval Station Mayport, PGA Offices, and The Players Championship. Take advantage of complimentary clinic shuttle service and stay connected with free Wi-Fi offered throughout our Jacksonville hotel. Use our interactive GoBoard(R), unique among hotels near Mayo Clinic Jacksonville, FL, to easily access directions, find popular restaurants, view local weather & airport conditions, and stay current with the latest in news and entertainment. Choose from a variety menu selections served for breakfast and dinner at The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) or grab a quick snack and other necessities at The Market, open 24 hours. Traveling for business? Enjoy our on-site business center, including free printing, faxing, and copying services. Regardless of your reason for staying, the Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches is ideal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Jacksonville Mayo Clinic/Beaches Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Courtyard
Jacksonville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing