We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville
Ranked #87 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This hotel has spoiled me for other hotels. The staff was not only friendly, they were smart and provided great help without even being asked. room was perfect. Comfortable.bed, free Wi-Fi, and even a fridge and microwave. I will never stay anywhere else when I am in Jacksonville.

Room Tip: My corner room had two walls of windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    130
    80
    41
    38
See reviews for
124
76
42
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
241 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

I am sorry we were only able to spend one night at this wonderful hotel! Next time I am in Jacksonville I will stay at this Radisson. At check in we were greeted by a very helpful & friendly lady who was the most helpful front desk attendant I have ever encountered. We felt like appreciated and welcomed guests. The lobby was very nicely updated. Our room was a beautiful calm oasis -everything felt fresh & up to date. The bed was comfortable and outfitted with comfy pillows and duvet. The bathroom was nicely updated as well. We were not able to make use of the restaurant or pool but did take a look and they both looked nice. We enjoyed our stay at this Radisson and would stay again next time in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Arriving late on Sunday evening turned out to be a great choice. We had to leave our original hotel as there were mulitple issues. Upon arriving, we were met by the two kindest front desk reception team members you could ask for. They promptly got us assigned to a room and gave no hassle. Throughout our entire stay, we were greeted by name, appreciated and all requests and issues were PROMPTLY addressed.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTHUR_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

31 one of our group stayed at this hotel for 4 days. Not one complaint except one that said their sink stopped up and someone came and fixed the problem. The Breakfast's were great and the X-mas decorations as well as the staff were awesome! Rooms clean and very comfortable. Beds have matresses that are adjustable. The Lounge and bar were very friendly. We all noticed the American Flag that hung in front of the Hotel was tattered and torn. We all complained and the very next day a brand new flag went up!! Thank you Radisson!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martini001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This hotel needs alot of work! The room was very very dusty and dirty. The bed was great the tv was still roke the phone was broke the toliet was broke. The staff was great but didnt have any solutions to the problems. I got the room off priceline for 40 a night so it wasnt that bad on my wallet. It shouldnt have the Radisson name on it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apa028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Our Response:

Dear apa028,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. All comments received are shared with the staff in an effort to provide exemplary service on a consistant basis. I assure you, your experience is not the norm here at the Radisson. We continually strive to exceed every guest’s expectation. I would like to apologize for the inconviences you experienced during your recent visit. I would like to ask that you please contact me directly to make any future reservations. I would be happy to assist and ensure you a more comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

I was in Jacksonville last week for business and booked one night on Hotwire.com for $65. I enjoyed the hotel and needed to extend my stay at the last minute, so I booked another night at the same price. I was assigned a different room and had an unpleasant experience. Because of this, I am going to break my review into two categories: Good night and Bad night

Good night:
- Check in was really easy, the front desk folks were pleasant
- From the outside of the hotel, it looks older, but the lobby looks like it got an upgrade a few years ago
- My room was spacious and had a nice. "home-y" feel

Bad Night:
- My room was DIRTY. The headboard on the bed had oil/grease marks all over it, the sink did not drain and had someone elses hair and toothpaste all over it. I literally did not take a shower because I was afraid that the hotel staff did not clean the shower
- The "sleep number" bed did not work either night. I think that the batteries were dead in both beds.

Overall impression: My first nights stay was GREAT. I left thinking that I'd found a little gem in Jacksonville. My second night stay was absolutely repulsive. I got the very last hotel room when I checked in, and my guess is that the house keeping staff was not prepared for such a large crowd. Would I stay here again?? Probably not. I have not been that impressed with the hotels on Butler Blvd (check out my review of the Hampton Inn).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
Dear Mrs. Johnston,



Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. The reviews we receive are shared amongst the management and staff to let us know what we are doing right, as well as improvement is needed. If we had known your intention to extend your stay, you would have remained in the same guestroom. That however does not make your experience of the second night any better and for that I apologize. I have shared your experience with the housekeeping manager for further review. Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me. I would be happy to assist and ensure you a more comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for one night to quality for the Radisson 50,000 point promotion. I live in Jacksonville, so it was a bit odd to stay in a hotel in the city.

We enjoyed it though. The lobby was nice. Check in was a breeze. The sleep number king size bed had us sleep well. Great location near the St. Johns Town Center and I-95.

The bad:

-Said there was free wifi and gave me the login and password, but could not connect with my iPhone or iPad. Since we were just staying one night, I didn't call the front desk to complain.

-The AC was loud when it turned off throughout the night

-Walls are thin. Could hear the neighbors from inside the bathroom, but luckily they weren't that loud the whole night.

-Shower water pressure could have been stronger.

We paid $78 including taxes which wasn't bad to get 50,000 point which is like 5 nights at a category 1 Radisson or one night at their top hotel anywhere in the world.

If I had to stay here for a night or two while visiting the city, I would recommend it if you're a Radisson member or the price is good compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhsu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#55 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jacksonville Marriott
Jacksonville Marriott
#44 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#40 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Salisbury Rd. - Southpoint
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#88 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville

Property: Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville
Address: 4700 Salisbury Rd., Jacksonville, FL 32256-6101 (Formerly Icon Jacksonville Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksonville Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing