We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need total renovation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville
Ranked #86 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Sometimes we are surprised about the reviews we can find here.
As a Club Carlson Concierge member, I really know about de standards this brand can bring us.

First, the reception desk is too high we can't sign a paper. In addition, all the lower floor smells bad. The reception staff goes to the front door smoke!!! And others go to the bathroom all the time to talk in private mobile!! I was not recognized as a Carlson Club member, they didnt even know what they had to do.

The fitness center is a joke! Only accomplish the brand standard they painted it in red, but, what was that? A very very small room!!! The ar conditioning was freezing. I ask to the staff to set it to a better temperature and he smiled telling it coundnt be. All the towels to pool and fitness make a real hill outside fitness, unbelievable. The restaurant is better than the rest of hotel.

Second, about the room, it needs a total renovation, urgently!! Not only the room, the entire hotel!!! The safebox was not working, cables passing by the room floor, bad pillows, I found a hair on towel, the carpet is dark and I stepped in a popcorn ( :-0 ). The arrangment seems they dont care about brand standards. I heard all they did in the next room! Omg! The bathroom is old!

Finally, this hotel doesnt own to this brand. We cannot compare it with Radisson Faria Lima, Radisson Vila Olimpia, Radisson Belem, Radisson Maceio, Radisson Curitiba, Radisson Orlando, Etc...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EBTBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason S, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

On behalf of our entire staff at Radisson we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel.

If you have a moment and are willing to share any specifics on these items it would help me to remedy these concerns. However, regardless of your response to my request I want to make sure that you feel your comments were heard.

I'm hoping that you'll visit us again. If you'd like, you can reach me at 904-281-9700. It would be a pleasure to personally discuss with you any specifics and / or suggestions you'd like to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stay at this hotel for two nights in late march. We are not familiar with the Jacksonville area as we usually only travel through it and never really had the need to stop. Well this time our Son was playing in a soccer tournament and we required to stay overnight, and the Radisson was just perfect for our needs. I really liked the location as it was close to the highway and also anything you could possibly think you need it was no more than a 5 to 10 minutes drive from it. The lobby is small but nice and check in went with no issues, however when we arrived to our room, it wasn't exactly what we had reserved, so down we went to get a different room, front desk changed our room right away, but to our surprise the new room was just the same as the one we've just had, then once again down we went to have the room change, again they changed it right away, front desk personnel were extremely apologetic and due to our inconvenience we were given coupons for free breakfast. I have to say I was glad to see that an effort was made to rectified the problem right away and that they recognized that we've had been inconvenienced and made up for their error all on their own, for that kudos to the employee that made sure we left as a satisfied customer. The rooms are average in size, the decor was nice and everything was clean and in working order. We had a king size with a sleeper sofa, My understanding is that the beds are the ones that you can adjust to your liking, but no one told us about it so we didn't use that feature. The gym is very small but still I could do a light workout, didn't use the pool (weather didn't cooperate), Breakfast was simple, limited and served buffet style really nothing to rave about, free ample parking and free WiFi, The service and friendliness was pretty much the same all around, and that alone will make us come back to this hotel next time we need an over night in Jacksonville.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JUMACALSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Alex Fawaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is a nice place. We stayed overnight, and it sufficed for what we needed. There is a restaurant, but no complimentary breakfast, which disappointed us. We stayed on my friend's Club Carlson points, so the room was free. We did not go in the pool, but it looked decent.

Room Tip: Breakfast is not included and is somewhat pricey. There is a Waffle House down the street, for a mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Alex Fawaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Loved this hotel the last time we stayed. Believe I reviewed it last time and it received an excellent. This time it dropped a bit. But just a bit. The venue is still excellent, meaning the lobby and the rooms are exceptionally clean and well designed, cozy and sophisticated and elegant. The pool is one of my favorite in Jacksonville Florida so far. Lounge chairs are comfortable with plenty of space. The position of the pool receives plenty of sunshine through out the day. There is a hot tub outside as well. Sunbath and refresh, sunbath and refresh with another jump in the pool. The downfall was breakfast. It just was not that good. Nothing special. We did the buffet for variety & speed. It was under par as compared to the Hampton Inn. The Hampton inn's that I have stayed in have served circles around this buffet. Bland eggs, store bought muffins, runny grits, unseasoned french toast, oven roasted old potatoes with no seasoning and no onions or peppers.... Subpar service and way overpriced in comparison because Hampton' s breakfasts are included. The last thing is the bedding seems to be overused. If I had not eaten here it probably would have scored another excellent.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms over look the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We apologize that you did not enjoy the food. We will address it with our team so it does not happen again. We appreciate your business and value your feedback.

Sincerely,

Alex Fawaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here on a Sunday night while visiting Welcome to Rockville festival. We had previously booked the Econolodge on Cagle Road however the motel was so bad we booked the Raddison from the motel room and checked out a day early. We arrived at the Raddison at midday on Sunday. We knew check in wasn't until 3pm but we're hoping we could leave our bags and head to Rockville. The lady on the front desk was really helpful and let us leave our bags in the front office, however on our way out she called us back and said a room had just become available so we were able to check in and take our bags upstairs. The room was lovely and clean with a massive bed, and nice bathroom. It also had complimentary water, and a nice HD TV. When we returned from the festival that evening we had a drink from the hotel bar next to the pool which was nice, then we ordered breakfast for the following morning. Breakfast was delivered to our room and was nice and well priced. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaBlackCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
We appreciate your business.


Sincerely

Alex Fawaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The room was nicely furnished with executive style furniture. Clean and well maintained. Not far from food and also about a block from Dave and Busters. I would have given it 5 stars but my tub did not drain properly and I HATE showering with standing water on my feet! I reported it, but it was not resolved. Overall a really good hotel and hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Alex Fawaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Check in was fast and easy, the room was gorgeous and very clean, staff was welcoming and caring, no problems at all! The only downside was 15 min from Jacksonville beach but the price and cleanliness was well worth the drive! We will stay there again when in Jax.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayya_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex F, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay.
Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
We appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Alex Fawaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Jacksonville I-95 South, FL
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#72 of 134 in Jacksonville
918 reviews
2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#85 of 134 in Jacksonville
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tricove Inn & Suites
Tricove Inn & Suites
#73 of 134 in Jacksonville
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#49 of 134 in Jacksonville
189 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Butler Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville

Address: 4700 Salisbury Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-6101 (Formerly Icon Jacksonville Hotel)
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range: £68 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing