We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jacksonville Marriott
Ranked #52 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Upper Peninsula
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not your typical Marriott”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stay at all levels of Marriott properties and this is clearly not at the level they claim. Their staff is outstanding, but their property needs some updating. I smelled the musty smell that other reviewers have mentioned and was surprised that the bathroom door would not close far enough to latch.

Pros: the concierge lounge is very good and staffed with great people, the front desk is friendly and helpful.

Cons: the property needs updating.

I just did not feel like this was a typical downtown Marriott property - the Springhill Suites that we stayed the next night in Savannah was nicer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    115
    59
    26
    18
See reviews for
65
52
15
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

June 27-29...Jacksonville Marriott. Nice room...unusually OUTSTANDING meals and room service! Front Desk Staff very kind and friendly...took two days to receive a fridge...I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and will return for...the food! JRB Platinum

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacksonvilleGM, General Manager at Jacksonville Marriott, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding the food and service. I am glad we exceeded your expectations in these critical areas. I am so sorry about the waiting list for the refrigerator, we had an unusually high demand for them due to the two conferences in house on those dates. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in a double room and lived every minute! It was hard to leave. The kids enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pools. I enjoyed the fitness center which is equipped with treadmills, ellipticals, free weights, and various size workout balls. Water and headphones and towels are available. We ordered room service one day and were pleased with the food quality. If you're used to breakfast included in the hotel rate, this might not be your best bed but Waffle House and Cracker Barrel are both very close by. Full bar and restaurant on the first floor of the hotel. Overall I felt this hotel more than met expectations.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mere2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel and the staff was awesome and very accommodating. There was an odor outside in the halls that was funky but other then that it was nice. They have an indoor and outdoor pool. Also a nice banquet rooms.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Keesha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My sister and I stayed there for a concert, the staff was very helpful and nice, rooms were clean and while there was a error in valet parking the manager Ralph of valet really handle the matter quickly, efficiently, and was very kind. We most certainly would stay there again. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a few nights on a business trip. Staff was beyond helpful and service was tremendous. The only thing I would say was missing was a few extra nights in town! Would recommend. Clean service clean bathrooms. Beds were
Comfortable and there is no general complain I can think of in any of the rooms. All in all would go back to this location

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Murttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Staff is very pleasant and helpful, food was fantastic, beds are extremely comfy. Nightly rate was good at $99/night but they get you in other ways! Great if you're only staying one night but not great for a weekend or longer.
This hotel is a little run down for a Marriot. The wallpaper in the hallways was peeling and the carpet was old and yucky. But it did look like they were renovating in some areas so hopefully they are fixing that.
I was disappointed that there was no mini fridge in our room. I suppose that's my fault for not checking when I booked the room, but I figured that is standard in most hotels since every other place we stay (even lower-end hotels) seems to have one. Luckily we had a cooler.
They charge $12.95 per day for wifi which is absurd!! And the breakfast bar, as delicious as the food is, is ridiculously expensive. We enjoy breakfast in the hotel because it's quick and convenient but not at $30 ($15 each) per day.
Probably won't come back for a long weekend.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurenichole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
2.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Baymeadows
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#46 of 133 in Jacksonville
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#65 of 133 in Jacksonville
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville JTB / Deerwood Park
2.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Jacksonville Deerwood Park
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Jacksonville Butler Boulevard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacksonville Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacksonville Marriott

Property: Jacksonville Marriott
Address: 4670 Salisbury Road, Jacksonville, FL 32256
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#50 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jacksonville Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax with modern amenities and upscale accommodations at Jacksonville Marriott. Our elegant hotel in Jacksonville, Florida is designed for a superbly convenient and enjoyable stay, giving you everything you need including a perfect location near Metropolitan Park and downtown Jacksonville. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Jacksonville Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksonville Marriott Hotel Jacksonville
Marriott Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing