We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studio 6 Jacksonville - Baymeadows
Ranked #79 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Won't stay here again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were on our way to Kissimmee Fl and stopped in here to say to some friends that work there. We stayed herre last year on the way home and were told that with the new management that things were going to get better. As far as we are concerned things have got worse not betteer. The rooms really need some TLC Maybe i should have said a lot of not some. The pool had debrie in it and there were all kinds of lamp shades on the pool deck. I guess that is where they wash them. I know it isn't a heated pool and in Jan it is a little cool for a swim but who wants to look at that.
Theere are a lot of live-ins. I know that the homeless rate in Florida is high but don't people understand that these are motels not apartments.
Sorry to give such a negative review but don't go there expecting the comforts of home.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msmobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    8
    3
    4
    17
See reviews for
7
11
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

i woke up covered with bites several on my arms, finger tips, side of my foot, my tummy... very itchy! i have stayed here before and gotten a couple bites here and there and assumed it was a flea bite but this is ridiculous! please inspect the mattresses and make them give you a new room if it shows signs of bed bugs. i didn't check and now i am COVERED in them. also, they have german cockroaches. everytime i get a room here with my boyfriend we see one immediately upon arrival. we saw three last time we checked in. this is cheap and all we can afford for a sexy overnight stay together but i would like to not have my body ravaged with bug bites! ridiculous!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addictedtopretty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jacksonville hotels

Wardensville, WV
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

I stayed at Studio 6 for 35 days. I did have some problems at first. The internet did not work and I was moved to another room. Then the telephone did not work and I was moved again.

This may sound like a negative review. Overall, this is not the case.

The staff did everything they could to correct the problems, even offering to help move my possessions. Once things got settled, the room was clean, the bathtub was huge, and the swimming pool was outstanding. The laundramat is outstanding and cheaper than a public one. I found the bed to be very comfortable with soft sheets, blanket, and bedspread. The location is excellent, and I felt very safe the entire time I was there.
ALso, unlike many long-term stay motels in Jacksonville, it is possible to check in on a Sunday, There is a nice road across from the hotel with broad sidewalks for exercise walking. Grocery stores, ATMs, convenience stores, and restaurants of all kinds are nearby.

Also, there is a monthly rate there, but you have to ask for it up front. It makes the stay there much cheaper than paying a weekly rate.

If I am invited for my summer job in Jacksonville next year, I will return.

Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank WaltonTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I am staying here for a week and the only thing I can complain about is the slow internet. The room I'm staying in is clean and roomy. The property is well kept and the clean. Would I stay here again...yes because of the price, if a good fast internet is needed for your stay, I would recommend some place else.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgladieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2008

When I arrived I expected to find this hotel to be a newly constructed hotel, considering that Motel 6 just launched the "Studio 6 Extended Stay Hotel" at the end of the 1990's. I was wrong. The hotel was an old Motel 6 that had the rooms converted into studio suites (they took the rooms and added a stove, kitchen style sink, microwave, and fridge). They also added a clock radio to the bedside table, since regular Motel 6 rooms do not have clock radios. (Directly across the street from the hotel is an old 1 story motel that was converted into a Motel 6 when this hotel was converted into a Studio 6)

The room was comfortable, clean, and everything worked fine. Outdoor Pool was nice (although it was a cold January weekend in North Florida, so i didn't use it).

Overall my only complaint is that there isn't a 24 hour front desk. Its open from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. Except Sunday, when it is open from Noon to 10.

OVERALL.... I would surely stay there again. Safe part of town, friendly front desk staff, and with I-95 right there it is easy to get north and south quickly. I-295 is 3 minutes south.

  • Liked — The room was large for the price
  • Disliked — Lobby not open 24 hours
  • Stayed January 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank rtfagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2007

I have stayed in many different hotels and motels before and I know it cannot always be perfect and it certainly does not always feel like home.
But what I discovered at Studio 6 is beyond bad.
First of all, it is not clean, not even a little bit. I found fingernails from a former guest on the AC and on the carpet. I did not dare to walk without my shoes. 2 of my 3 towels were stained. The bed linen probably came straight from a prison: it was blue, thin, rough, very old and had a hole.
I felt so uncomfortable like never before in my life.
The bathroom had burn marks everywhere; a clear sign that people stay there who have serious drug problems.

I also purchased the wireless internet access for $4.95 and this was a waste. I lost my connection all the time and it was very slow.

The TV had exactly 27 programs, most of them not very interesting if you want to go beyond CNN and the Weather Channel. The only surprise was HBO but that does not make the stay nicer.

I checked out the next morning and found a much nicer place at Homestead just around the corner.

Believe me: please do not take your money to Studio 6.
And if anyone from the staff reads this: fire your maids.

  • Liked — HBO
  • Disliked — How dirty it was
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelJaxFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

Dad lives in a small condo nearby - the Motel 6 can't be beat for location (at Baymeadows & I-95). It had "fallen on hard times", but apparently is now being renovated a section at a time. Stayed in a "new room" (new carpet, bathroom fixtures, sink, mattresses). Some odor of new sheetrock and paint, but not too bad. VERY clean room and bathroom. Typical "spartan and sparse" room furnishings. TV worked OK. Good value for the cost; plan to return on next trip.

  • Liked — Location & cost/performance
  • Disliked — It's very spartan & stripped
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Schrodinger Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
Comfort Suites Baymeadows
#58 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Jacksonville Baymeadows
0.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Jacksonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Jacksonville/Baymeadows Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Jacksonville Baymeadows
2.4 mi away
Tricove Inn & Suites
Tricove Inn & Suites
#67 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio 6 Jacksonville - Baymeadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio 6 Jacksonville - Baymeadows

Property: Studio 6 Jacksonville - Baymeadows
Address: 8765 Baymeadows Rd, I-95 at Baymeadows Road, Exit #100, Jacksonville, FL 32256-7425
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Studio 6 Jacksonville - Baymeadows 1.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studio 6 Jacksonville - Baymeadows is located near shopping and dining. Visit Regal Cinema, French Quarter and Bowl America. Relax in our outdoor pool, enjoy WIFI in all modern rooms for 4.95 per stay, and utilize our coin laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Studio 6 Jacksonville - Baymeadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio 6 Jacksonville - Baymeadows Hotel Jacksonville
Studio 6 Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing