We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Great Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South
Ranked #77 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel and Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

My boyfriend and I live in Georgia. We went to Jacksonville the weekend of New Years. We had a great experience staying at the hotel. Rooms were clean, bed was super comfortable and the pillows were just the best. The hotel was close to the beach and to downtown, also there is a Dave & Buster's right around the corner. The staff of the hotel was extremely nice and friendly. The breakfast was very good also. The only thing that I would have liked is if there were an inside pool. The outside pool looked like it was very nice . ( We could not swim because it was kind of cold and windy ).
If we go back to Jacksonville again, we are more likely to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bilyana846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    128
    123
    68
    65
See reviews for
174
103
43
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX USA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

For a night's sleep in a quiet place this Hampton is Ok. There are not restaurants nearby and a navigation system helps when getting back on I-95. Breakfast is basic Hampton vituals. Price is Ok but for a few $ more you can do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TXDavid937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogersville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Like another reviewer, we frequently stay at Hampton Inns. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, the breakfast buffet was standard, nice enough workout room. The bed linens are nice. The beds are showing wear. To get the hot water to kick in, had to let it run each morning for about 5 minutes, which is what turned on the converter. I found this out when I called the front desk. Hmmm. Their rates are $20 to $30 lower than other Hamptons in Jacksonville and this may be the reason. Overnight, probably not an issue at all but if I was going to stay again for several days, I'll check to see if updates have been made or choose another location. (Speaking of ... the location IS very good - which is why we chose this one.)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mendinfences868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

As a HHonors Gold, I frequently stay in Hamptons, and this one had the same quality rooms and linens and toiletries, but the cleanliness left something to be desired. Maybe it's because I was travelling with my mom who smokes and I was in a smoking room that maybe isn't used much, but there were cobwebs in the corners, dirt and cobwebs hanging off the corner of the desk, dark blue lint all over the white curtain, and carpeting that was dirty and damp. In the bath, the fixtures were seemingly clean, but the hot and cold were reversed, and they knew it because the red/blue markers were switched. Finally, just a little thing, but the tissue box under the plastic cover wasn't opened. The sheets and linens were clean, though, and there was a minifridge and microwave. Plus, it was $20 cheaper than other HIs in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Clean room. Check!
Easy Check in. Check!
Feels safe. Check!
Decent breakfast. Bonus!

Wireless internet. Not so much...

When you stay at the Hampton Inn, you are selecting to stay in a clean and safe hotel at a good price. That's exactly what you get with this HI. No frills-- just the basics. But very affordable!!

The one major downside for me was the the wireless internet was completely out. I was on site for business and it was a major issue. I had a lot of work to do at the hotel and I was not able to complete it. I did not feel that the hotel staff went above and beyond to fix the problem.

Would I stay here again? Ahh, probably not. While the price was great (around $75 a night) I could have pricelined a hotel in Jax on the water for about $65 a night--- and with the $10 I saved bought a Starbucks coffee and a bagel for breakfast.

Room Tip: The 4th floor smells like a smokers lounge! Avoid it at all costs. My co-worker stayed on the 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Although this hotel has smoking and non-smoking rooms, all the hallways smell of smoke.

This is an older, dingy Hampton in need of a makeover. Although it's one of the cheapest hotels in town, it does not live up to typical Hampton standards.

Although the floor plan and guest rooms are a typical layout for Hampton, the hotel overall is showing its age and lack of upkeep. Not that it mattered, but the carpet in our room was badly stained.

When I went to plug-in my cell-phone charger behind the nightstand the floor was utterly disgusting.

The two front desk clerks were pleasant, but they were not in tune to the fact that not everyone is from the immediate area. For example when I asked why the best advertised rate was not available, I was told "because it's Georgia Florida." No other details. Just that exactly...."because it's Georgia Florida." As if I was an idiot for not knowing that I was there six days before Jacksonville was going to host a regular season college football game between two teams that are not even from Jacksonville.......Is the whole world supposed to follow college football?

The smoke was the only thing that really bothered me....the fact that the hotel is old and dingy with a presupposing front desk clerk was excused by the fact that it was the cheapest hotel in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, PA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at this Hampton Inn while traveling south, so it was just a one night stay. We got a super rate so we really can't complain. It was not the newest or nicest Hampton Inn I've stayed at, but the staff was all friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, on the first floor and convenient to our car. The breakfast area could have been a little cleaner but nothing that would make me not want to eat there. Definitely a good value for the price and we were back on the highway in just a few minutes so the location is really convenient if you are traveling on I95.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TACBAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#53 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#39 of 132 in Jacksonville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Salisbury Rd. - Southpoint
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#88 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville
Red Lion Hotel Jacksonville
#87 of 132 in Jacksonville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South
Address: 4690 Salisbury Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-6130 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 132 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Jacksonville South offers the perfect combination of convenient location and superior accommodations. The hotel's location off of I-95 and Butler Blvd., provides easy access to the Mayo Clinic, UNF, St. John's Town Center, downtown and the beautiful Jacksonville Beaches. We provide complimentary shuttle service to Mayo Clinic and St. Vincent's Southside. Our South Jacksonville, FL hotel is 100% non-smoking and offers you free WI-FI internet access, complimentary breakfast buffet, on-site fitness center, business center with print services, guest laundry, outdoor pool and complimentary parking. We also offer meeting services with our onsite sales teams who will take care of all your meeting needs from audio/visual to catering your special event. From our perfectly appointed guest rooms to our professional service staff no matter what brings you to our area, the Country Inn & Suites Jacksonville South is ready and waiting to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Jacksonville - i-95 South Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing