We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South
Ranked #76 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
A TripAdvisor Member
“Out of the way”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is in the middle of nowhere and you definitely need a car while staying here. Only one restaurant within walking distance and it's not very good. The shuttle didn't seem to be working and the staff didn't offer any help on what buses to catch where. Everyone was courteous, just not real helpful. Ron, on the morning shift, was very helpful, going out of his way to connect me with a shuttle to the airport and even offering to lend me his own umbrella.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    140
    128
    71
    71
See reviews for
192
107
43
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The beds were uncomfortable, the bathroom was dirty, the bathtub was peeling, the staff was unfriendly. I am always friendly when approaching someone with problems, it didn't work with this staff. When I asked for extra pillows and a quilt to try to make the bed more comfortable, the guy at the desk seemed "inconvenienced" and they were delivered bare, without the cases. When I mentioned the dirty bathroom, he just looked at me, no apology. I would recommend you stay at a different hotel in the Jacksonville area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank GinaTiberi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples, fl
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

It may be difficult to find, and leaving for dinner can be a real pain but once you get over the location issues its a fine hotel that appears to be well managed. Staff is very friendly and well trained. Rooms are spotless and smell fresh. Breakfast in the morning was a step above what most Hampton Inn offer. Defiantly worth the effort to find.

They are doing some renovations right now but nothing that impacted our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigboofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Traveling I-95 frequently, we always look for a hotel with a convenient location, clean rooms, and a quiet place to spend the night. We found it at this hotel. It was nothing special, but we weren't looking for all the extra ammendities. We will consider this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 3seals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Visit JAX often due to a son in college there and stay all over to check out different hilton properties. Rank this one as average. Pretty standard Hampton with good rates. As usual, great staff, nice breakfast, etc. A little cleaner than some of the hamptons in JAX so for a lower rate it's a good choice. If you're looking for convenience or walking distance to restaurants and other stuff this isn't your hotel. Kind of tucked away on a weird dead end in an office park. Safe, cool and no problems, just not as close to stuff as say that Homewood at town center mall or the embassy on baymeadows and some other properties down there.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nunuthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I've stayed in this Hampton Inn probably at least twenty times in the past five years or so. I have issues with cleanliness at a lot of hotels and I can honestly say that this has consistently been one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed at. The nice, friendly lady that I assume is head of housekeeping has been there since I first stayed there and I think she does a great job of making sure things are clean.

It seems like all of the staff has turned over and the hotel isn't as "friendly" as it once was. That was one of the draws for me, it always felt like "coming home." From the manager at the time on down...everyone was super friendly.

As far as the hotel location...it is convenient to I-95 and Butler Blvd on the south side of Jacksonville. As far as food selections....you have to drive to get most anywhere unless you want to eat in another hotel or Dave and Busters. Starbucks is around five minutes away (depending on the red lights) and other fast food options are in that area.

The hotel is a little older...not a newer building...the A/Cs are completely annoying. I am a light sleeper and throughout the night as it cuts on and off it wakes me up every time. This hotel hasn't converted to a thermostat system yet and the A/Cs won't run the fan only which would have minimized the night time noise.

All things considered I will stay at this Hampton Inn in the future without hesitation (mainly due to the cleanliness and value), but depending on prices...it may not be my first choice. It used to be the only hotel I considered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

This was a 3 night stay on points. Overall a typical HI. However this time I have to question the quality of the pillows and bed. Neither were very comfortable. Breakfast area was a little small and it was always too busy.
Frankly I would look at other options if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ringsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jacksonville South
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
Wyndham Garden Jacksonville
#64 of 133 in Jacksonville
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
Candlewood Suites Jacksonville
#47 of 133 in Jacksonville
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Jacksonville
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Jacksonville - Salisbury Rd. - Southpoint
Extended Stay America - Jacksonv...
#85 of 133 in Jacksonville
42 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Jacksonville Butler Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South
Address: 4690 Salisbury Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32256-6130 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Inn & Suites Jacksonville South offers the perfect combination of convenient location and superior accommodations. The hotel's location off of I-95 and Butler Blvd., provides easy access to the Mayo Clinic, UNF, St. John's Town Center, downtown and the beautiful Jacksonville Beaches. We provide complimentary shuttle service to Mayo Clinic and St. Vincent's Southside. Our South Jacksonville, FL hotel is 100% non-smoking and offers you free WI-FI internet access, complimentary breakfast buffet, on-site fitness center, business center with print services, guest laundry, outdoor pool and complimentary parking. We also offer meeting services with our onsite sales teams who will take care of all your meeting needs from audio/visual to catering your special event. From our perfectly appointed guest rooms to our professional service staff no matter what brings you to our area, the Country Inn & Suites Jacksonville South is ready and waiting to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Jacksonville I-95 South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Jacksonville - i-95 South Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing