We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Staff; Rooms Need Updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
Ranked #15 of 133 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Location and Staff; Rooms Need Updating”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I chose this location because I like staying in the South Bank/San Marco area, but I had not stayed here before.

My welcome at the front desk was both friendly and professional (cannot remember the name of the front desk manager, but it was the evening of March 14). As I finished checking in I asked her if she knew anything about the restaurant right across the street (see my review of the Wine Cellar). Not only did she tell me what to expect, she quickly pulled out a card for a 15% discount on my meal.

Unfortunately, when I walked into the room I was not as happy. Although it was a non-smoking room, someone had obviously smoked there in the recent past, and the odor had permeated the carpet, etc. It was not my imagination; when I got home I found that my clothes had picked up the smell of smoke. I did not ask to change rooms because the hotel was full; it was the night before the annual River Run and entire busloads of runners were in residence. Even though they were young, they went to bed early so they could do their best the next morning.

Then I went into the bathroom to check out the whirlpool bath, which was not there; that was the main reason I was staying at the Hampton Inn this time instead of at the Homewood Suites (nearby, and where I usually stay). The bathroom looked dated and kind of tired, although I appreciated the fact that the complimentary toiletries were Neutrogena.

Then I discovered that the whirlpool was in the bedroom, next to the bed, which seemed kind of tacky. The bedroom itself was like the bathroom--tired and in need of updating. The desk and desk chair were squeezed at the foot of the bed. Since I'm less than average size, I wondered how a larger person would be able to even use the desk. The window overlooked the street, which was fun the next morning when I watched the runners come past the hotel, some in costumes.

Throughout my stay I was pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and helpfulness of all of the members of the staff that I encountered. That's what made this a "Very Good" instead of a "Good" review.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caromex13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcrooks, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Caromex13,

We are so happy that you were able to stay within the Hilton family and stay with us while in Jacksonville! We are making continuous efforts to make sure our hotel is pristine and up to date. You will be happy to know that we will be getting new carpet installed in the next month as well as updating various features in the rooms as well as adding further amenities and services to the hotel. We hope that on your next trip to Jacksonville, we can be of service.

Warm regards,
Robyn Crooks
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
(904)-396-7770
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    245
    106
    53
    27
See reviews for
261
159
47
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Bay, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Paid extra to stay downtown to see riverwalk and freindship fountain. Riverwalk was closed and fountain did not appear to be working properly. So I would not recommend staying here for the sites. The hotel was very nice, clean and the staff was super freindly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcrooks, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
William,

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your honest feedback! I am so sorry that some of the downtown Jacksonville attractions were not available for your view. I do know that the city is working to get the renovations complete very soon on the new and improved River Walk. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you experienced a clean and crisp hotel room as well as had a great impression and encounter with the staff. We hope that you return to Jacksonville once the River Walk is complete and stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Robyn Crooks
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown
(904)-396-7770
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jumping Branch, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I would recommend this motel to anyone wanting a comfortable place to stay with a good full breakfast each morning and very helpful staff to take care of my needs including good suggestions for places to eat. I was very pleased with all aspects of this motel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcrooks, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
David,

We are so happy that you had such a comfortable stay with us! We are so pleased that you shared your experience and are overjoyed that you found the breakfast to be excellent and plentiful! You are correct! We have many of Jacksonville’s top restaurants within walking distance. Looking forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Jacksonville!

Warm regards,

Robyn Crooks
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown
(904)-396-7770
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The room was clean, but a bit rough around the edges: frayed carpets and lumpy comforter. For the most part the staff was friendly, although the front desk staff could use some training in customer service and professionalism, but not bad. The king sized bed with the whirlpool tub next to it made the place feel cheap. When they said whirlpool tub, I assumed it was in the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcrooks, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience that you had at our hotel recently. We are so sorry that you had to experience a room that was not up to standards. We take feedback such as yours very seriously and we will review your feedback with our staff especially the front desk agents. Thank you for commenting on how friendly the staff was during your visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me on your next trip to Jacksonville so my team and I can ensure nothing less than a perfect stay.

Warm regards,

Robyn Crooks
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown
(904)-396-7770
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had to kill a large one that was scurrying by the TV. The next morning, when I mentioned it to the person behind the desk, they didn't seem to care. They mentioned something about sending an exterminator to the room. I'm not sure that was the best response for the situation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcrooks, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Jim,

We apologize that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We promise you that this is not a typical experience and we are so very sorry that that service you have come to expect from Hampton was not provided! Friendly service, clean rooms, comfortable surroundings every time. If you’re not satisfied, we don’t expect you to pay. That’s our commitment and your guarantee. That’s 100% Hampton. Thank you for providing feedback about the guest experience so that we can ensure that another guest does not have this same encounter.
Warm regards,

Robyn Crooks
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown
(904)-396-7770
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My son and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights earlier this month. The hotel staff are genuinely friendly, warm and helpful. The breakfast is convenient and we enjoyed being able to make our own waffles. It is easy to access the major roads from here to get around although roadworks even made navigating with a GPS a little tricky. Great experience overall and more than likely will stay here again on future trips. Hampton beds are always very comfortable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 242darrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the Gate River Run. It was clean and convenient for the race. There is a free breakfast offered, but we did not eat there. The only negative comment is that there was no one stationed at the front desk when we arrived and when we left. Overall, it's a nice hotel and we would return again when in Jacksonville.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcrooks, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Tom,

We are so happy that you selected us for your stay while participating in the Gate River Run! You are correct that we are close and convenient for the race. In fact, the run goes right by the hotel! I am shocked that the appearance was that we did not have anyone stationed at the Front Desk during the time of arrival and departure during your stay. We investigated this matter and found that our associate was assisting another guest. Please note that we have remedied this issue so that it does not happen to other guests in the future. We appreciate you letting us know that there was a lack of communication from the overnight staff as they step away from the desk momentarily. We hope that we may host you again on your next 2014 Gate River Run. Thank you again for your feedback!

Warm regards,
Robyn Crooks
Director of Sales
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown
(904)-396-7770
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Jacksonville Riverfront
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Jacksonville - Riverfront
0.7 mi away
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
Omni Jacksonville Hotel
#12 of 133 in Jacksonville
1,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Jacksonville Downtown/Southbank
0.2 mi away
Lexington Hotel & Conference Center - Jacksonville Riverwalk
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Jacksonville South / I-95 at JTB
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95

Property: Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95
Address: 1331 Prudential Dr, Jacksonville, FL 32207-8129
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
#20 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
#27 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect port for business, shopping, and dining - where Florida begins...Welcome to the Hampton Inn Jacksonville-Downtown-I-95. Experience the city of Jacksonville, Fl where the St. John's River meets the Atlantic. A few steps outside the Hampton Inn(R) Jacksonville-Downtown-I-95 hotel, you can stroll along Jacksonville's Riverwalk and witness the fantastic views of Downtown Jacksonville or take the Skyway Monorail a block away and get a one of a kind view of Jacksonville, the Gateway to Florida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown I-95 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Jacksonville Downtown i-95 Hotel Jacksonville
Jacksonville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing